Trade school programs in Utah
108 trade school programs in 18 fields of skilled trades, with costs, results and funding that can make them free
19 schools offer these programs, and Utah has approved every one for workforce funding. Compare the 18 fields below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.
Trade school programs teach hands-on work with tools, machines and building systems. That runs from building work like carpentry, plumbing and electrical, through repairing cars, diesel trucks, heating and cooling systems and factory machinery, to welding, sheet metal, masonry, auto body repair, CNC machining, manufacturing and electronics work, solar and wind installation, water treatment, workplace safety, running heavy equipment and cranes, and inspecting homes. Most are certificates; some are two-year degrees or apprenticeships.
All job training programs in Utah, every line of work
Accredited trade schools in Utah, each school with its accreditor
Trade school programs by state, to compare Utah with other states
Compare trade school programs in Utah: cost, pay and results
Welding classes
11 programs at 11 schools
- Most cost
- $2,655 to $5,339
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $35,600
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- Finished
- 37%
Auto mechanic classes
11 programs at 11 schools
- Most cost
- $2,361 to $7,552
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $23,800
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- Finished
- 31%
Diesel mechanic training
11 programs at 11 schools
- Most cost
- $3,528 to $7,610
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $29,300
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- Finished
- 70%
CNC machinist training
9 programs at 8 schools
- Most cost
- $2,143 to $4,937
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- Finished
- Not enough data
Industrial maintenance technician training
9 programs at 9 schools
- Most cost
- $2,775 to $3,636
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $40,000
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- Finished
- 37%
AutoCAD and drafting courses (computer-aided design)
9 programs at 8 schools
- Most cost
- $2,770 to $5,583
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- Finished
- Not enough data
Construction training programs
9 programs at 9 schools
- Most cost
- $3,204 to $9,456
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not enough data
Electrician training
8 programs at 8 schools
- Most cost
- $2,169 to $3,316
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- Finished
- 41%
Plumbing school
7 programs at 6 schools
- Most cost
- $2,572 to $3,290
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- Finished
- Not enough data
HVAC training (heating and cooling)
6 programs at 6 schools
- Most cost
- $2,442 to $4,339
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- Finished
- Not enough data
Carpentry classes
3 programs at 3 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- Finished
- Not enough data
Heavy equipment operator training
3 programs at 3 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- Finished
- Not enough data
Manufacturing technician training
3 programs at 3 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- Finished
- Not enough data
Electronics technician training
3 programs at 3 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- Finished
- Not enough data
Auto body repair classes
3 programs at 3 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- Finished
- Not enough data
Lineman school (power line work)
1 program at one school
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Home inspector training
1 program at one school
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Solar and wind technician training
1 program at one school
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Each figure is the middle program of that field. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools in Utah may offer more. How these figures are made
Other job training in Utah, by line of work
- IT certification programs68
- Medical certification programs59
- Business and office training42
- Allied health programs39
- Nursing and patient care programs33
- First responder training27
- Transportation and logistics training23
- Beauty school16
- Culinary and hospitality programs12
- Child care and social services training7
- All job training in Utah434
Programs approved in Utah in each line of work.
Where the Utah trade school numbers come from
Which Utah programs are counted?
Programs Utah approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act) in the fields listed above. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).5 They come from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Utah offers.
What the figures for each field mean
Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).
How reliable are the Utah figures?
We leave out the share working 6 months later for Utah: its rates sit far below every other state's.
Sources for the funding facts about trade school programs in Utah
Show the 5 sourcesHide the sources
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List