Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Plumbing school in Nebraska

5 plumbing programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

4 schools offer these plumbing programs, and Nebraska has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Plumbers install and repair pipes, fixtures and piping systems. Most learn the trade in a four- or five-year apprenticeship, and most states and some cities require plumbers to be licensed.1

In Nebraska, all 5 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent.

By kind, the 5 programs here are plumbing certificate or diploma (3 programs), plumbing (associate degree, 1 program) and short course or single level (1 program).

See the 5 programs

How much does plumbing school cost in Nebraska?

$3,750 to $4,480 is what most plumbing programs in Nebraska cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 5 programs with a price. All of them: $729 to $8,520

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not enough data
2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Working 6 months later
Not enough data
2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Length
18 to 34 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Nebraska may also offer plumbing school. How these figures are made

Is there free plumbing school in Nebraska?

All 5 plumbing programs in Nebraska approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

5 programs

  • Plumbing certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Plumbing Technology - Diploma

    Southeast Community College

    Lincoln

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Southeast Community College, LincolnPlumbing certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$43,900
    Price if you pay yourself$4,260
    Program website, Plumbing Technology - Diploma at Southeast Community College
    More details about Plumbing Technology - Diploma at Southeast Community College
    Finished
    77%
    Working at 6 months
    88%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,977
    Length
    32 weeks, 23 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,054
    Students counted
    31
    Earned a year, estimated
    $43,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,260
    Program website, Plumbing Technology - Diploma at Southeast Community College
  • Plumbing certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Plumbing Technology - Diploma

    Northeast Community College

    Norfolk

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northeast Community College, NorfolkPlumbing certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$18,000
    Price if you pay yourself$4,480
    School website, Plumbing Technology - Diploma at Northeast Community College
    More details about Plumbing Technology - Diploma at Northeast Community College
    Finished
    64%
    Working at 6 months
    92%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,494
    Length
    34 weeks, 26 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,394
    Students counted
    27
    Earned a year, estimated
    $18,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,480
    School website, Plumbing Technology - Diploma at Northeast Community College
  • Plumbing (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Plumbing, Heating, and Air Conditioning Technology - Associate of Applied Science

    Southeast Community College

    Lincoln

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Southeast Community College, LincolnPlumbing (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$8,520
    Program website, Plumbing, Heating, and Air Conditioning Technology - Associate of Applied Science at Southeast Community College
    More details about Plumbing, Heating, and Air Conditioning Technology - Associate of Applied Science at Southeast Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,945
    Students counted
    14
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,520
    Program website, Plumbing, Heating, and Air Conditioning Technology - Associate of Applied Science at Southeast Community College
  • Plumbing certificate or diplomaIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Professional Plumbing Basics - Certificate of Completion

    Mid-Plains Community College

    North Platte

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Mid-Plains Community College, North PlattePlumbing certificate or diploma · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$729
    More details about Professional Plumbing Basics - Certificate of Completion at Mid-Plains Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    6 weeks, 10 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $729
  • Short course or single levelHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Plumber Level I - Certificate of Completion; NCCER Level I Certification

    Western Nebraska Community College

    Scottsbluff

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Western Nebraska Community College, ScottsbluffShort course or single level · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,750
    Program website, Plumber Level I - Certificate of Completion; NCCER Level I Certification at Western Nebraska Community College
    More details about Plumber Level I - Certificate of Completion; NCCER Level I Certification at Western Nebraska Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    18 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $450
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,750
    Program website, Plumber Level I - Certificate of Completion; NCCER Level I Certification at Western Nebraska Community College

How to pay for plumbing school in Nebraska

WIOA funding can pay for plumbing school in Nebraska

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Paid plumbing apprenticeships

An apprenticeship is a job: you're paid to learn, with a raise as your skills grow, and most include classroom teaching. You apply to the employer or the program sponsor. Ask what you'll pay for the classroom part and what you'll earn on the job.6

Financial aid and grants for plumbing school

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78

GI Bill for plumbing school

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Plumbing school in Nebraska

lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
16th of 21
plumbing programs here, against the typical state's 5
5 vs 5

State comparisons use the same figures as the plumbing school by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Plumbing apprenticeships in Nebraska

Most plumbers train in a four- or five-year apprenticeship. Each year usually brings about 2,000 hours of paid work on the job plus classes in safety, local plumbing codes and blueprint reading. Unions, trade associations and businesses run the programs; some people start as helpers or with a pre-apprenticeship course. To work on your own, states and cities often ask for two to five years of experience and a passed exam.1

You apply to the employer or the program sponsor, not through a school.6 The Department of Labor's Apprenticeship Finder lists openings by place and job. None of the plumbing programs on this page is an apprenticeship.

Plumbing school in Lincoln, Norfolk, North Platte and other Nebraska cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 1 in smaller cities and towns.

Other training in Nebraska

How plumbing school compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in Nebraska

Where the Nebraska plumbing program numbers come from

Which Nebraska plumbing programs are on this list?

These are the plumbing programs Nebraska approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Nebraska offers.

How the prices and results of Nebraska plumbing programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about plumbing school in Nebraska

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Plumbers, Pipefitters, and Steamfitters
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Labor, Apprenticeship.gov: Discover Apprenticeship: Earn While You Learn Today (fact sheet)
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  8. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  9. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  10. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List