AutoCAD and drafting courses in Nebraska
14 CAD and drafting programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
4 schools offer these drafting programs, and Nebraska has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did. One school runs 7 of these 14 programs, so the typical figures lean heavily on its prices and results.
Drafters use computer-aided design (CAD) software to turn the designs of engineers and architects into technical drawings. Most complete an associate degree in drafting at a community college or technical school, about two years full time, while some earn a certificate or diploma that usually takes less time; certification isn't required.1
In Nebraska, all 14 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent.
By kind, the 14 programs here are drafting and design certificate or diploma (6 programs), drafting and design (associate degree, 4 programs), architectural drafting (associate degree, 3 programs) and architectural drafting certificate (1 program).
See the 14 programsHow much do CAD and drafting courses cost in Nebraska?
- Two-year degrees (7 programs)
- $8,192 to $9,017most of them, usually 64 to 69 weeks long
- Other drafting programs (7 programs)
- $2,089 to $3,198most of them, usually 16 to 26 weeks long
What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 48%
- Working 6 months later
- 81%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $43,700
- Length
- 17 to 64 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Nebraska may also offer CAD and drafting courses. How these figures are made
All 14 CAD and drafting programs in Nebraska approved for WIOA funding
Filters
14 programs
Design & Drafting Technology, Computer Aided Design Drafting - Associate of Applied Science
Southeast Community College
Lincoln
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$42,000Price if you pay yourself$9,017Program website, Design & Drafting Technology, Computer Aided Design Drafting - Associate of Applied Science at Southeast Community CollegeMore details about Design & Drafting Technology, Computer Aided Design Drafting - Associate of Applied Science at Southeast Community College
- Finished
- 41%
- Working at 6 months
- 87%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,510
- Length
- 64 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,160
- Students counted
- 150
- Earned a year, estimated
- $42,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,017
Architectural Design Technician - Associate of Applied Science
Metropolitan Community College
Omaha
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$45,300Price if you pay yourself$7,008School website, Architectural Design Technician - Associate of Applied Science at Metropolitan Community CollegeMore details about Architectural Design Technician - Associate of Applied Science at Metropolitan Community College
- Finished
- 56%
- Working at 6 months
- 79%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,319
- Length
- 86 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $525
- Students counted
- 69
- Earned a year, estimated
- $45,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,008
Drafting - Architectural - Associate of Applied Science
Northeast Community College
Norfolk
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$34,400Price if you pay yourself$8,576School website, Drafting - Architectural - Associate of Applied Science at Northeast Community CollegeMore details about Drafting - Architectural - Associate of Applied Science at Northeast Community College
- Finished
- 78%
- Working at 6 months
- 90%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,599
- Length
- 64 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,528
- Students counted
- 45
- Earned a year, estimated
- $34,400
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,576
Drafting Structural - Associate of Applied Science
Northeast Community College
Norfolk
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$32,600Price if you pay yourself$8,320School website, Drafting Structural - Associate of Applied Science at Northeast Community CollegeMore details about Drafting Structural - Associate of Applied Science at Northeast Community College
- Finished
- 33%
- Working at 6 months
- 83%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,139
- Length
- 64 weeks, 26 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,788
- Students counted
- 27
- Earned a year, estimated
- $32,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,320
Design Technology (PLM/CAD) - AAS
Iowa Western Community College
Council Bluffs, IA
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Classes are outside Nebraska; Nebraska approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimated$48,800Price if you pay yourself$15,120Program website, Design Technology (PLM/CAD) - AAS at Iowa Western Community CollegeMore details about Design Technology (PLM/CAD) - AAS at Iowa Western Community College
- Finished
- 38%
- Working at 6 months
- 36%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,205
- Length
- 74 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $435
- Students counted
- 21
- Earned a year, estimated
- $48,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $15,120
Drafting - Mechanical - Associate of Applied Science
Northeast Community College
Norfolk
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$52,300Price if you pay yourself$8,064School website, Drafting - Mechanical - Associate of Applied Science at Northeast Community CollegeMore details about Drafting - Mechanical - Associate of Applied Science at Northeast Community College
- Finished
- 88%
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,067
- Length
- 64 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,662
- Students counted
- 18
- Earned a year, estimated
- $52,300
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,064
Design & Drafting Technology - Architectural Design - Associate of Applied Science
Southeast Community College
Lincoln
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$9,017Program website, Design & Drafting Technology - Architectural Design - Associate of Applied Science at Southeast Community CollegeMore details about Design & Drafting Technology - Architectural Design - Associate of Applied Science at Southeast Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 64 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,160
- Students counted
- 12
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,017
Drafting - Certificate
Northeast Community College
Norfolk
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,048Program website, Drafting - Certificate at Northeast Community CollegeMore details about Drafting - Certificate at Northeast Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 17 weeks, 21 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $697
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,048
Drafting - Mechanical - Certificate
Northeast Community College
Norfolk
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,048School website, Drafting - Mechanical - Certificate at Northeast Community CollegeMore details about Drafting - Mechanical - Certificate at Northeast Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 17 weeks, 21 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $679
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,048
Design & Drafting Technology - Intro to Design Software - Certificate
Southeast Community College
Lincoln
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,130Program website, Design & Drafting Technology - Intro to Design Software - Certificate at Southeast Community CollegeMore details about Design & Drafting Technology - Intro to Design Software - Certificate at Southeast Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $700
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,130
Design & Drafting Technology - Residential Design - Certificate
Southeast Community College
Lincoln
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,485Program website, Design & Drafting Technology - Residential Design - Certificate at Southeast Community CollegeMore details about Design & Drafting Technology - Residential Design - Certificate at Southeast Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 18 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $810
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,485
Design & Drafting Technology - Designing Software - Certificate
Southeast Community College
Lincoln
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,556Program website, Design & Drafting Technology - Designing Software - Certificate at Southeast Community CollegeMore details about Design & Drafting Technology - Designing Software - Certificate at Southeast Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $700
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,556
Drafting - Mechanical - Diploma
Northeast Community College
Norfolk
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,840School website, Drafting - Mechanical - Diploma at Northeast Community CollegeMore details about Drafting - Mechanical - Diploma at Northeast Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 34 weeks, 19 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,284
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,840
Drafting - Diploma
Northeast Community College
Norfolk
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,096School website, Drafting - Diploma at Northeast Community CollegeMore details about Drafting - Diploma at Northeast Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 34 weeks, 19 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,394
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,096
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for CAD and drafting courses in Nebraska
WIOA funding can pay for CAD and drafting courses in Nebraska
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for CAD and drafting courses
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for CAD and drafting courses
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: AutoCAD and drafting courses in Nebraska
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 19th of 30
- other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
- 9 of 12
- CAD and drafting programs here, against the typical state's 7
- 14 vs 7
State comparisons use the same figures as the CAD and drafting courses by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
AutoCAD and drafting courses in Norfolk, Lincoln, Omaha and other Nebraska cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above.
Other training in Nebraska
How CAD and drafting courses compare with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in Nebraska
- CDL training16 programs
- CNA classes11 programs
- Medical assistant training9 programs
- Phlebotomy training7 programs
- Welding classes28 programs
- HVAC training16 programs
- Medical billing and coding training12 programs
- LPN programs7 programs
- EMT classes18 programs
- Electrician training14 programs
- Dental assistant programs10 programs
- Auto mechanic classes19 programs
- Pharmacy technician training12 programs
- Plumbing school5 programs
- CNC machinist training7 programs
- Carpentry classes3 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training1 program
- Diesel mechanic training11 programs
- Cybersecurity training9 programs
- IT training51 programs
- EKG technician programs3 programs
- Massage therapy school1 program
- Paralegal programs4 programs
- Fire academy2 programs
- Surgical tech programs6 programs
- Radiology tech programs2 programs
- Culinary school8 programs
- PTA programs4 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training5 programs
- Human resources training2 programs
- Medication aide training9 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training8 programs
- Early childhood education programs17 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school3 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training2 programs
- Hospitality management programs2 programs
- Addiction counselor training5 programs
- Coding and software development courses10 programs
- Lineman school4 programs
- Sterile processing technician training4 programs
- Sonography school2 programs
- Data analytics courses6 programs
- Administrative assistant training16 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs2 programs
- Medical lab technician programs5 programs
- Digital marketing courses3 programs
- Web and graphic design courses8 programs
- Health information technology programs7 programs
- Vet tech programs4 programs
- Patient care technician training2 programs
- OTA programs1 program
- Interpreter and translator training2 programs
- Forklift certification2 programs
- Personal trainer certification1 program
- Healthcare administration programs3 programs
- Customer service training1 program
- Flight school1 program
- RBT certification training4 programs
- Mental health technician training5 programs
- Human services programs7 programs
- Manufacturing technician training3 programs
- Electronics technician training6 programs
- Business administration programs18 programs
- Criminal justice programs6 programs
- Teacher assistant certification2 programs
- Auto body repair classes9 programs
- Sleep technician training1 program
- Solar and wind technician training2 programs
- Masonry training3 programs
- Insurance license courses2 programs
- Construction training programs15 programs
- Dental hygiene programs2 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes22 programs
- RN programs11 programs
- Project management certification7 programs
Where the Nebraska drafting program numbers come from
Which Nebraska drafting programs are on this list?
These are the drafting programs Nebraska approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Nebraska offers.
How the prices and results of Nebraska drafting programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about CAD and drafting courses in Nebraska
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Drafters
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List