Medical billing and coding training in Nebraska
8 medical billing and coding programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
3 schools offer these medical billing and coding programs, and Nebraska has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Medical records specialists keep patient files and may classify patients' medical information into the numerical coding system the healthcare industry uses. Most start with a postsecondary certificate, some need an associate's degree, and certification may be required or preferred.1 In Nebraska, every program asks for a diploma or other schooling first, and 8 are taught partly or fully online.
See the 8 programsHow much does medical billing and coding training cost in Nebraska?
$1,829 to $3,625
is what most programs cost if you pay yourself
All 8 programs with a price: $1,539 to $4,000
- Finished the program
- 77%
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Length
- 19 to 30 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Nebraska may also offer medical billing and coding training. How these figures are made
All 8 medical billing and coding programs in Nebraska approved for funding
Filters
8 programs
Medical Billing Specialist - Certificate of Completion
MedCerts, LLC, Online, based in Livonia, MI
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,000Program website, Medical Billing Specialist - Certificate of Completion at MedCerts, LLCMore details about Medical Billing Specialist - Certificate of Completion at MedCerts, LLC
- Finished
- 76%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 14 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 1,944
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,000
Professional Coder - Certificate of Completion
MedCerts, LLC, Online, based in Livonia, MI
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,500Program website, Professional Coder - Certificate of Completion at MedCerts, LLCMore details about Professional Coder - Certificate of Completion at MedCerts, LLC
- Finished
- 76%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 22 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 1,365
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,500
Medical Coding and Billing Professional - Certificate of Completion
MedCerts, LLC, Online, based in Livonia, MI
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,000Program website, Medical Coding and Billing Professional - Certificate of Completion at MedCerts, LLCMore details about Medical Coding and Billing Professional - Certificate of Completion at MedCerts, LLC
- Finished
- 98%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 28 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 756
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,000
Electronic Health Records and Reimbursement Specialist - Certificate of Completion
MedCerts, LLC, Online, based in Livonia, MI
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,000Program website, Electronic Health Records and Reimbursement Specialist - Certificate of Completion at MedCerts, LLCMore details about Electronic Health Records and Reimbursement Specialist - Certificate of Completion at MedCerts, LLC
- Finished
- 84%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 19 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 438
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,000
Medical Billing & Coding - Diploma
Mid-Plains Community College, North Platte
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$35,000Price if you pay yourself$1,926More details about Medical Billing & Coding - Diploma at Mid-Plains Community College
- Finished
- 69%
- Working at 6 months
- 77%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,750
- Length
- 32 weeks, 18 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,600
- Students counted
- 22
- a year, estimated
- $35,000
- price
- $1,926
Medical Billing Specialist - Certificate of Completion
Weston Distance Learning (dba US Career Institute), Online, based in Fort Collins, CO
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,539Program website, Medical Billing Specialist - Certificate of Completion at Weston Distance Learning (dba US Career Institute)More details about Medical Billing Specialist - Certificate of Completion at Weston Distance Learning (dba US Career Institute)
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 18 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,929
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,539
Medical Coding Specialist - Certified Professional Coder (CPC-A)
Weston Distance Learning (dba US Career Institute), Online, based in Fort Collins, CO
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,539Program website, Medical Coding Specialist - Certified Professional Coder (CPC-A) at Weston Distance Learning (dba US Career Institute)More details about Medical Coding Specialist - Certified Professional Coder (CPC-A) at Weston Distance Learning (dba US Career Institute)
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,425
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,539
Medical Coding and Billing Specialist - Certified Billing and Coding Specialist
Weston Distance Learning (dba US Career Institute), Online, based in Fort Collins, CO
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,269Program website, Medical Coding and Billing Specialist - Certified Billing and Coding Specialist at Weston Distance Learning (dba US Career Institute)More details about Medical Coding and Billing Specialist - Certified Billing and Coding Specialist at Weston Distance Learning (dba US Career Institute)
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 37 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,115
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,269
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for medical billing and coding training in Nebraska
Workforce funding can pay for medical billing and coding training in Nebraska
Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4
Financial aid and grants for medical billing and coding training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56
GI Bill for medical billing and coding training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Where the Nebraska medical billing and coding program numbers come from
Which Nebraska medical billing and coding programs are on this list?
These are the medical billing and coding programs Nebraska approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Nebraska offers.
How Nebraska medical billing and coding program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some medical billing and coding programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Sources for the facts about medical billing and coding training in Nebraska
Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Records Specialists
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs