Trade school programs in Ohio
776 trade school programs in 23 fields of skilled trades, with costs, results and funding that can make them free
156 schools offer these programs, and Ohio has approved every one for workforce funding. Compare the 23 fields below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.
Trade school programs teach hands-on work with tools, machines and building systems. That runs from building work like carpentry, plumbing and electrical, through repairing cars, diesel trucks, heating and cooling systems and factory machinery, to welding, sheet metal, masonry, auto body repair, CNC machining, manufacturing and electronics work, solar and wind installation, water treatment, workplace safety, running heavy equipment and cranes, and inspecting homes. Most are certificates; some are two-year degrees or apprenticeships.
All job training programs in Ohio, every line of work
Accredited trade schools in Ohio, each school with its accreditor
Trade school programs by state, to compare Ohio with other states
Compare trade school programs in Ohio: cost, pay and results
Welding classes
138 programs at 75 schools
- Most cost
- $2,313 to $9,269
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Industrial maintenance technician training
95 programs at 46 schools
- Most cost
- $3,879 to $11,348
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
HVAC training (heating and cooling)
89 programs at 53 schools
- Most cost
- $2,948 to $10,725
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- 82%
- Finished
- 79%
CNC machinist training
70 programs at 42 schools
- Most cost
- $2,072 to $6,398
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Auto mechanic classes
58 programs at 29 schools
- Most cost
- $2,685 to $9,650
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Manufacturing technician training
53 programs at 25 schools
- Most cost
- $2,491 to $7,470
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Electrician training
48 programs at 31 schools
- Most cost
- $3,150 to $10,726
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Construction training programs
43 programs at 31 schools
- Most cost
- $3,478 to $8,131
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Electronics technician training
37 programs at 28 schools
- Most cost
- $2,200 to $9,635
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
AutoCAD and drafting courses (computer-aided design)
21 programs at 13 schools
- Most cost
- $2,007 to $5,457
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Plumbing school
20 programs at 11 schools
- Most cost
- $2,765 to $7,352
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Heavy equipment operator training
20 programs at 11 schools
- Most cost
- $5,632 to $13,004
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $31,000
- Working 6 months later
- 81%
- Finished
- 92%
Carpentry classes
17 programs at 13 schools
- Most cost
- $3,490 to $10,299
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Lineman school (power line work)
17 programs at 15 schools
- Most cost
- $3,350 to $12,666
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Diesel mechanic training
11 programs at 9 schools
- Most cost
- $6,861 to $27,954
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
OSHA safety training (workplace safety)
9 programs at 4 schools
- Most cost
- $1,395 to $3,075
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Home inspector training
8 programs at 4 schools
- Most cost
- $750 to $3,511
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Sheet metal training
5 programs at 2 schools
- Most cost
- $3,787 to $10,904
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Crane operator training
4 programs at 3 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Water treatment operator training (water and wastewater)
4 programs at 2 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Auto body repair classes
3 programs at 3 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Solar and wind technician training
3 programs at 3 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Masonry training
3 programs at 3 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Each figure is the middle program of that field. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools in Ohio may offer more. How these figures are made
Other job training in Ohio, by line of work
- IT certification programs609
- Business and office training543
- Medical certification programs518
- Nursing and patient care programs345
- Allied health programs276
- First responder training232
- Transportation and logistics training166
- Child care and social services training103
- Beauty school83
- Culinary and hospitality programs55
- All job training in Ohio3,706
Programs approved in Ohio in each line of work.
Where the Ohio trade school numbers come from
Which Ohio programs are counted?
Programs Ohio approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act) in the fields listed above. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).5 They come from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Ohio offers.
What the figures for each field mean
Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).
Sources for the funding facts about trade school programs in Ohio
Show the 5 sourcesHide the sources
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List