Medical assistant training in Rhode Island
4 medical assistant programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
4 schools offer these medical assistant programs, and Rhode Island has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Medical assistants do office and clinical work, from scheduling appointments to taking patients' vital signs. Most train in a certificate program. Certification isn't required in most states, but employers often prefer it.1 In Rhode Island, every program asks for a diploma or other schooling first.
See the 4 programsHow much does a medical assistant program cost in Rhode Island?
$6,890 to $20,636
is what the 4 programs with a price cost if you pay yourself
- Finished the program
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported for most programs
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Rhode Island may also offer medical assistant training. How these figures are made
All 4 medical assistant programs in Rhode Island approved for funding
Filters
4 programs
Medical Assistant
Lincoln Technical Institute, Lincoln
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$24,700Price if you pay yourself$20,636Program website, Medical Assistant at Lincoln Technical InstituteMore details about Medical Assistant at Lincoln Technical Institute
- Finished
- 3%
- Working at 6 months
- 83%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,178
- Length
- 37 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,562
- Students counted
- 417
- a year, estimated
- $24,700
- price
- $20,636
Medical Assistant Training Program
Rhode Island College Professional Studies & Continuing Ed, Providence
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$31,800Price if you pay yourself$7,500Program website, Medical Assistant Training Program at Rhode Island College Professional Studies & Continuing EdMore details about Medical Assistant Training Program at Rhode Island College Professional Studies & Continuing Ed
- Finished
- 83%
- Working at 6 months
- 83%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,947
- Length
- 20 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 114
- a year, estimated
- $31,800
- price
- $7,500
Medical Assistant
Motoring Technical Training Institute (MTTI), Seekonk, MA
High school diploma or equivalent
Classes are outside Rhode Island; Rhode Island approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimated$33,000Price if you pay yourself$16,700Program website, Medical Assistant at Motoring Technical Training Institute (MTTI)More details about Medical Assistant at Motoring Technical Training Institute (MTTI)
- Finished
- 68%
- Working at 6 months
- 89%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,240
- Length
- 30 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $100
- Students counted
- 83
- a year, estimated
- $33,000
- price
- $16,700
Certified Clinical Medical Assistant
911Programs, Warwick
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$28,900Price if you pay yourself$6,890Program website, Certified Clinical Medical Assistant at 911ProgramsMore details about Certified Clinical Medical Assistant at 911Programs
- Finished
- 74%
- Working at 6 months
- 71%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,231
- Length
- 32 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,913
- Students counted
- 70
- a year, estimated
- $28,900
- price
- $6,890
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for medical assistant training in Rhode Island
Workforce funding can pay for medical assistant training in Rhode Island
Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4
Financial aid and grants for medical assistant training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56
GI Bill for medical assistant training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Where the Rhode Island medical assistant program numbers come from
Which Rhode Island medical assistant programs are on this list?
These are the medical assistant programs Rhode Island approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Rhode Island offers.
How Rhode Island medical assistant program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some medical assistant programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Sources for the facts about medical assistant training in Rhode Island
Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Assistants
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs