Accounting and bookkeeping classes in Rhode Island
4 accounting and bookkeeping programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
3 schools offer these accounting and bookkeeping programs, and Rhode Island has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Bookkeeping and accounting clerks record and check financial data so an organization keeps complete, accurate books. Some employers want college classes or a degree in accounting, others hire people with a high school diploma and train them on the job; certification is not usually required.1 In Rhode Island, 2 of the 4 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 2 are taught partly or fully online.
See the 4 programsHow much do accounting and bookkeeping classes cost in Rhode Island?
$800 to $7,500
is what the 4 programs with a price cost if you pay yourself
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Length
- Not enough data
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Rhode Island may also offer accounting and bookkeeping classes. How these figures are made
Accounting and bookkeeping classes in Providence, Philadelphia and other Rhode Island cities
Choosing an area filters the list below.
All 4 accounting and bookkeeping programs in Rhode Island approved for WIOA funding
Filters
4 programs
Bookkeeping and Accounting
Rhode Island College Professional Studies & Continuing Ed
Providence
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$40,200Price if you pay yourself$7,500Program website, Bookkeeping and Accounting at Rhode Island College Professional Studies & Continuing EdMore details about Bookkeeping and Accounting at Rhode Island College Professional Studies & Continuing Ed
- Finished
- 89%
- Working at 6 months
- 72%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,042
- Length
- 19 weeks, 18 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 64
- a year, estimated
- $40,200
- price
- $7,500
Accounting Specialist with QuickBooks Online Certification Program
ONLC Training Centers
Wilmington, DE
No diploma needed
Classes are outside Rhode Island; Rhode Island approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$800School website, Accounting Specialist with QuickBooks Online Certification Program at ONLC Training CentersMore details about Accounting Specialist with QuickBooks Online Certification Program at ONLC Training Centers
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 14 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $50
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $800
Accounting Specialist with QuickBooks Desktop Certification Program
ONLC Training Centers
Wilmington, DE
No diploma needed
Classes are outside Rhode Island; Rhode Island approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,400School website, Accounting Specialist with QuickBooks Desktop Certification Program at ONLC Training CentersMore details about Accounting Specialist with QuickBooks Desktop Certification Program at ONLC Training Centers
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 28 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $100
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,400
QuickBooks
Tailor-Made Training LLC
Greenville
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,200Program website, QuickBooks at Tailor-Made Training LLCMore details about QuickBooks at Tailor-Made Training LLC
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 6 weeks, 10 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,200
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for accounting and bookkeeping classes in Rhode Island
WIOA funding can pay for accounting and bookkeeping classes in Rhode Island
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Financial aid and grants for accounting and bookkeeping classes
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for accounting and bookkeeping classes
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Where the Rhode Island accounting and bookkeeping program numbers come from
Which Rhode Island accounting and bookkeeping programs are on this list?
These are the accounting and bookkeeping programs Rhode Island approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Rhode Island offers.
How the prices and results of Rhode Island accounting and bookkeeping programs are measured
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Results describe students who left the program in recent years, and the yearly earnings figure is the reported quarter times four, an estimate. They describe past students, so they are no guarantee. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported". Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Other training in Rhode Island
- CDL training3 programs
- CNA classes7 programs
- Medical assistant training4 programs
- Phlebotomy training2 programs
- Medical billing and coding training1 program
- EMT classes5 programs
- Electrician training2 programs
- Dental assistant programs1 program
- Auto mechanic classes1 program
- Plumbing school1 program
- CNC machinist training1 program
- Cybersecurity training2 programs
- IT training2 programs
- Cosmetology school2 programs
- Barber school1 program
- Esthetician school2 programs
- Nail tech school1 program
- Project management certification2 programs
Sources for the facts about accounting and bookkeeping classes in Rhode Island
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Bookkeeping, Accounting, and Auditing Clerks
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List