Retraining Report
Find training

EMT classes in Rhode Island

5 EMT and paramedic programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

2 schools offer these EMT and paramedic programs, and Rhode Island has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

EMTs and paramedics assess injuries and illnesses, give emergency medical care and may take patients to hospital. A basic EMT course usually takes less than a year and the intermediate level up to two, and every state requires a license.1 In Rhode Island, every program asks for a diploma or other schooling first, and 1 is taught partly or fully online.

See the 5 programs

How much do EMT classes cost in Rhode Island?

$1,075 to $9,033

from the lowest-priced program to the highest, if you pay yourself

Finished the program
Not reported
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
Length
16 to 20 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Rhode Island may also offer EMT classes. How these figures are made

Are there free EMT classes in Rhode Island?

All 5 EMT and paramedic programs in Rhode Island approved for funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

5 programs

  • EMTIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    EMT Basic

    American Safety Programs and Training, Providence

    High school diploma or equivalent

    American Safety Programs and Training, Providence · EMT · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$32,400
    Price if you pay yourself$1,075
    Program website, EMT Basic at American Safety Programs and Training
    More details about EMT Basic at American Safety Programs and Training
    Finished
    86%
    Working at 6 months
    62%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,103
    Length
    16 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    286
    a year, estimated
    $32,400
    price
    $1,075
  • EMTIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    EMT-Basic

    911Programs, Warwick

    High school diploma or equivalent

    911Programs, Warwick · EMT · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$30,400
    Price if you pay yourself$1,261
    School website, EMT-Basic at 911Programs
    More details about EMT-Basic at 911Programs
    Finished
    69%
    Working at 6 months
    35%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,611
    Length
    12 weeks, 19 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $484
    Students counted
    138
    a year, estimated
    $30,400
    price
    $1,261
  • Advanced EMTIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Advanced EMT - Cardiac

    American Safety Programs and Training, Providence

    High school diploma or equivalent

    American Safety Programs and Training, Providence · Advanced EMT · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,895
    Program website, Advanced EMT - Cardiac at American Safety Programs and Training
    More details about Advanced EMT - Cardiac at American Safety Programs and Training
    Finished
    92%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    24 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    40
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $2,895
  • ParamedicIn personEducation and courses

    Paramedic

    American Safety Programs and Training, Providence

    Education and courses

    American Safety Programs and Training, Providence · Paramedic · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$9,033
    Program website, Paramedic at American Safety Programs and Training
    More details about Paramedic at American Safety Programs and Training
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    20 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $5
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $9,033
  • ParamedicHybridEducation and courses

    Paramedic Online

    American Safety Programs and Training, Providence

    Education and courses

    American Safety Programs and Training, Providence · Paramedic · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$9,033
    Program website, Paramedic Online at American Safety Programs and Training
    More details about Paramedic Online at American Safety Programs and Training
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    20 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $630
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $9,033

How to pay for EMT classes in Rhode Island

Workforce funding can pay for EMT classes in Rhode Island

Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4

Financial aid and grants for EMT classes

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56

GI Bill for EMT classes

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the Rhode Island EMT and paramedic program numbers come from

Which Rhode Island EMT and paramedic programs are on this list?

These are the EMT and paramedic programs Rhode Island approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Rhode Island offers.

How Rhode Island EMT and paramedic program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some EMT and paramedic programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

Sources for the facts about EMT classes in Rhode Island

Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: EMTs and Paramedics
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  7. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs