Retraining Report
Find training

Cybersecurity training in Rhode Island

2 cybersecurity programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

2 schools offer these cybersecurity programs, and Rhode Island has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Information security analysts protect an organization's computer networks and systems. Most have a bachelor's degree in a computer field and work experience, though some start with a high school diploma plus industry training and certifications, and many employers prefer certified candidates.1 In Rhode Island, every program asks for a diploma or other schooling first, and both are taught partly or fully online.

See the 2 programs

How much does cybersecurity training cost in Rhode Island?

$695 to $2,200

from the lowest-priced program to the highest, if you pay yourself

These two programs

Finished the program
94%
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
Length
1 to 8 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Rhode Island may also offer cybersecurity training. How these figures are made

Is there free cybersecurity training in Rhode Island?

All 2 cybersecurity programs in Rhode Island approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

2 programs

  • Security certification exam prepOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    NIST Cybersecurity Professional Foundation Program

    Bryant University, Executive Education & Career Accelerator

    Based in Smithfield, RI

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Bryant University, Executive Education & Career Accelerator, based in Smithfield, RI · Security certification exam prep · Online · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$695

    4 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, NIST Cybersecurity Professional Foundation Program at Bryant University, Executive Education & Career Accelerator
    More details about NIST Cybersecurity Professional Foundation Program at Bryant University, Executive Education & Career Accelerator
    Finished
    94%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    8 weeks, 4 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    18
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $695
    trained with WIOA funding
    4
  • Security certification exam prepHybridEducation and courses

    Security Specialist with CompTIA Security+ Certification Program

    ONLC Training Centers

    Wilmington, DE

    Education and courses

    ONLC Training Centers, Wilmington, DE · Security certification exam prep · Hybrid · Education and courses

    Classes are outside Rhode Island; Rhode Island approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,200
    Program website, Security Specialist with CompTIA Security+ Certification Program at ONLC Training Centers
    More details about Security Specialist with CompTIA Security+ Certification Program at ONLC Training Centers
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    1 week, 35 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $50
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $2,200

How to pay for cybersecurity training in Rhode Island

WIOA funding can pay for cybersecurity training in Rhode Island

Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5

Financial aid and grants for cybersecurity training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for cybersecurity training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the Rhode Island cybersecurity program numbers come from

Which Rhode Island cybersecurity programs are on this list?

These are the cybersecurity programs Rhode Island approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Rhode Island offers.

How the prices and results of Rhode Island cybersecurity programs are measured

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Results describe students who left the program in recent years, and the yearly earnings figure is the reported quarter times four, an estimate. They describe past students, so they are no guarantee. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported". Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Other training in Rhode Island

Sources for the facts about cybersecurity training in Rhode Island

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Information Security Analysts
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List