Medical certification programs in Rhode Island
12 medical certification programs in 5 fields of medical office and lab work, with costs, results and funding that can make them free
6 schools offer these programs, and Rhode Island has approved every one for workforce funding. Compare the 5 fields below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.
These programs lead to the support jobs that keep clinics, labs and pharmacies running: medical assistants, phlebotomists who draw blood, EKG technicians and pharmacy technicians, and office work in medical billing, coding and healthcare administration. Most are certificate programs, and many prepare for a certification exam.
All job training programs in Rhode Island, every line of work
Medical certification programs by state, to compare Rhode Island with other states
Compare medical certification programs in Rhode Island: cost, pay and results
Medical assistant training
4 programs at 4 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Phlebotomy training
3 programs at 2 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
EKG technician programs (heart tests)
2 programs at 2 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not enough data
Medical administrative assistant training
2 programs at 2 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Medical billing and coding training
1 program at one school
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Each figure is the middle program of that field. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools in Rhode Island may offer more. How these figures are made
Other job training in Rhode Island, by line of work
- Business and office training10
- IT certification programs9
- Trade school programs8
- Nursing and patient care programs8
- Beauty school6
- Allied health programs2
- All job training in Rhode Island65
Programs approved in Rhode Island in each line of work.
Where the Rhode Island medical certification numbers come from
Which Rhode Island programs are counted?
Programs Rhode Island approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act) in the fields listed above. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).5 They come from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Rhode Island offers.
What the figures for each field mean
Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).
Sources for the funding facts about medical certification programs in Rhode Island
Show the 5 sourcesHide the sources
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List