Retraining Report
Find training

Medical assistant training in Cincinnati

11 medical assistant programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

9 schools offer these medical assistant programs with classes in the Cincinnati area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Medical assistants do office and clinical work, from scheduling appointments to taking patients' vital signs. Most train in a certificate program. Certification isn't required in most states, but employers often prefer it.1 In Cincinnati, 4 of the 11 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 1 is taught partly or fully online.

See the 11 programs

All 74 medical assistant programs in Ohio, including online programs

How much does a medical assistant program cost in Cincinnati?

$3,440 to $15,295

is what most programs cost if you pay yourself

All 10 programs with a price: $2,016 to $22,380

Finished the program
69%
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
Length
Not reported for most programs

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). How these figures are made

Is there free medical assistant training in Cincinnati?

All 11 medical assistant programs in Cincinnati approved for funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

11 programs

  • Clinical medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (CCMA)

    Great Oaks Career Campuses, Sharonville

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Great Oaks Career Campuses, Sharonville · Clinical medical assistant · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$25,700
    Price if you pay yourself$2,892
    Program website, Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (CCMA) at Great Oaks Career Campuses
    More details about Certified Clinical Medical Assistant (CCMA) at Great Oaks Career Campuses
    Finished
    68%
    Working at 6 months
    91%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,435
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    63
    a year, estimated
    $25,700
    price
    $2,892
  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assistant

    Imagine Training Hub, Cincinnati

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Imagine Training Hub, Cincinnati · Medical assistant · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,016
    Program website, Medical Assistant at Imagine Training Hub
    More details about Medical Assistant at Imagine Training Hub
    Finished
    92%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $100
    Students counted
    44
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $2,016
  • Medical assistantIn personEducation and courses

    Medical Assisting Clinical Certificate

    The Christ College of Nursing and Health Sciences, Cincinnati

    Education and courses

    The Christ College of Nursing and Health Sciences, Cincinnati · Medical assistant · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,085
    Program website, Medical Assisting Clinical Certificate at The Christ College of Nursing and Health Sciences
    More details about Medical Assisting Clinical Certificate at The Christ College of Nursing and Health Sciences
    Finished
    69%
    Working at 6 months
    36%
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,000
    Students counted
    16
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $5,085
  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assisting

    Butler Technology and Career Development Schools, Middletown

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Butler Technology and Career Development Schools, Middletown · Medical assistant · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$27,900
    Price if you pay yourself$2,653
    Program website, Medical Assisting at Butler Technology and Career Development Schools
    More details about Medical Assisting at Butler Technology and Career Development Schools
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    83%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,983
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $743
    Students counted
    15
    a year, estimated
    $27,900
    price
    $2,653
  • Medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Medical Assisting

    Brighton Centers Center for Employment Training, Newport

    No diploma needed

    Brighton Centers Center for Employment Training, Newport · Medical assistant · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$29,100
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assisting at Brighton Centers Center for Employment Training
    More details about Medical Assisting at Brighton Centers Center for Employment Training
    Finished
    53%
    Working at 6 months
    80%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,281
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    13
    a year, estimated
    $29,100
    price
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assisting - Technical Certificate (tc)

    Ivy Tech Community College, Lawrenceburg

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Ivy Tech Community College, Lawrenceburg · Medical assistant · Hybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$7,367
    Program website, Medical Assisting - Technical Certificate (tc) at Ivy Tech Community College
    More details about Medical Assisting - Technical Certificate (tc) at Ivy Tech Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    104 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $663
    Students counted
    10
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $7,367
  • Medical assistantIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Assisting

    University of Cincinnati, Batavia

    High school diploma or equivalent

    University of Cincinnati, Batavia · Medical assistant · In person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$8,992
    Program website, Medical Assisting at University of Cincinnati
    More details about Medical Assisting at University of Cincinnati
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $8,992
  • Medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Diploma Medical Assisting

    ATA College Tri-County, Springdale

    No diploma needed

    ATA College Tri-County, Springdale · Medical assistant · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$13,960
    Program website, Diploma Medical Assisting at ATA College Tri-County
    More details about Diploma Medical Assisting at ATA College Tri-County
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $2,199
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $13,960
  • Clinical medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Medical/Clinical Assistant

    Ross Medical Education Center, Erlanger

    No diploma needed

    Ross Medical Education Center, Erlanger · Clinical medical assistant · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$15,740
    Program website, Medical/Clinical Assistant at Ross Medical Education Center
    More details about Medical/Clinical Assistant at Ross Medical Education Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    1 week, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $15,740
  • Medical assistant (associate degree)In personEducation and courses

    Associate of Applied Science Medical Assisting

    The Christ College of Nursing and Health Sciences, Cincinnati

    Education and courses

    The Christ College of Nursing and Health Sciences, Cincinnati · Medical assistant (associate degree) · In person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$17,880
    Program website, Associate of Applied Science Medical Assisting at The Christ College of Nursing and Health Sciences
    More details about Associate of Applied Science Medical Assisting at The Christ College of Nursing and Health Sciences
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,000
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $17,880
  • Medical assistant (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Associate Degree Medical Professional: Medical Assisting

    ATA College Tri-County, Springdale

    No diploma needed

    ATA College Tri-County, Springdale · Medical assistant (associate degree) · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$22,380
    Program website, Associate Degree Medical Professional: Medical Assisting at ATA College Tri-County
    More details about Associate Degree Medical Professional: Medical Assisting at ATA College Tri-County
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $4,013
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $22,380

How to pay for medical assistant training in Cincinnati

Workforce funding can pay for medical assistant training in Cincinnati

Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4

Financial aid and grants for medical assistant training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56

GI Bill for medical assistant training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the Cincinnati medical assistant program numbers come from

Which Cincinnati medical assistant programs are on this list?

These are the medical assistant programs with classes in the Cincinnati area that are approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Ohio page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.

How Cincinnati medical assistant program prices are reported

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.

What the graduate results of these programs measure

The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.

Why do some medical assistant programs say "Not reported"?

Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.

Why the kind of school is left off each program

The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.

Sources for the facts about medical assistant training in Cincinnati

Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Assistants
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  5. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  7. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs