CDL training in Cincinnati
11 CDL training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
8 schools offer these truck driving programs with classes in the Cincinnati area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Truck drivers need a commercial driver's license, which generally takes a knowledge test and a driving test. Most drivers have a high school diploma and prepare at a professional truck driving school.1 In Cincinnati, 11 of the 11 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 1 is taught partly or fully online.
See the 11 programsAll 102 CDL training programs in Ohio, including online programs
How much does CDL training cost in Cincinnati?
$4,963 to $5,985
is what most programs cost if you pay yourself
All 10 programs with a price: $3,940 to $6,154
- Finished the program
- 90%
- Working 6 months later
- 84%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $47,600
- Length
- Not reported for most programs
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). How these figures are made
All 11 CDL training programs in Cincinnati approved for funding
Filters
11 programs
5 Week CDL Truck Driver Training Program
Napier Truck Driver Training, Inc., Hamilton
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,154Program website, 5 Week CDL Truck Driver Training Program at Napier Truck Driver Training, Inc.More details about 5 Week CDL Truck Driver Training Program at Napier Truck Driver Training, Inc.
- Finished
- 92%
- Working at 6 months
- 90%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 863
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $6,154
10 Weekend Class A CDL Truck Driver Training Program
Napier Truck Driver Training, Inc., Hamilton
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,154Program website, 10 Weekend Class A CDL Truck Driver Training Program at Napier Truck Driver Training, Inc.More details about 10 Weekend Class A CDL Truck Driver Training Program at Napier Truck Driver Training, Inc.
- Finished
- 90%
- Working at 6 months
- 94%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 152
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $6,154
CDL A Commericial Driver's License
Butler Technology and Career Development Schools, Batavia
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$45,400Price if you pay yourself$5,940Program website, CDL A Commericial Driver's License at Butler Technology and Career Development SchoolsMore details about CDL A Commericial Driver's License at Butler Technology and Career Development Schools
- Finished
- 86%
- Working at 6 months
- 88%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,344
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $375
- Students counted
- 121
- a year, estimated
- $45,400
- price
- $5,940
Class A Cdl License Truck Driver Training
Ivy Tech Community College, Lawrenceburg
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$48,300Price if you pay yourself$4,953Program website, Class A Cdl License Truck Driver Training at Ivy Tech Community CollegeMore details about Class A Cdl License Truck Driver Training at Ivy Tech Community College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 54%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,071
- Length
- 4 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 109
- a year, estimated
- $48,300
- price
- $4,953
Truck Driving Program - CDL A
Southern State Community College, OH, Sharonville
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$47,000Price if you pay yourself$5,750Program website, Truck Driving Program - CDL A at Southern State Community College, OHMore details about Truck Driving Program - CDL A at Southern State Community College, OH
- Finished
- 89%
- Working at 6 months
- 84%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,752
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 99
- a year, estimated
- $47,000
- price
- $5,750
Truck and Bus Driver/Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor
Gateway Community and Technical College, Fort Wright
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$59,300Price if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, Truck and Bus Driver/Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Gateway Community and Technical CollegeMore details about Truck and Bus Driver/Commercial Vehicle Operator and Instructor at Gateway Community and Technical College
- Finished
- 93%
- Working at 6 months
- 64%
- Earned in a quarter
- $14,823
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 80
- a year, estimated
- $59,300
- price
- Not reported
CDL Training Program
direct venture corp, Evendale
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,000More details about CDL Training Program at direct venture corp
- Finished
- 87%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 74
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $5,000
Class A Cdl License Training Course
160 Driving Academy, Lawrenceburg
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,995Program website, Class A Cdl License Training Course at 160 Driving AcademyMore details about Class A Cdl License Training Course at 160 Driving Academy
- Finished
- 87%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 54
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,995
Class A Commerical Drivers License (CDL)
Brown & Clermont Adult Career Campuses, Batavia
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$47,600Price if you pay yourself$6,000Program website, Class A Commerical Drivers License (CDL) at Brown & Clermont Adult Career CampusesMore details about Class A Commerical Drivers License (CDL) at Brown & Clermont Adult Career Campuses
- Finished
- 90%
- Working at 6 months
- 83%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,908
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 23
- a year, estimated
- $47,600
- price
- $6,000
Commercial Driver's License Class B with Passenger
Butler Technology and Career Development Schools, Batavia
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,940Program website, Commercial Driver's License Class B with Passenger at Butler Technology and Career Development SchoolsMore details about Commercial Driver's License Class B with Passenger at Butler Technology and Career Development Schools
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $375
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,940
Class A Cdl License Training Course (yard Only / Refresher))
160 Driving Academy, Lawrenceburg
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,995Program website, Class A Cdl License Training Course (yard Only / Refresher)) at 160 Driving AcademyMore details about Class A Cdl License Training Course (yard Only / Refresher)) at 160 Driving Academy
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 3 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,995
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for CDL training in Cincinnati
Workforce funding can pay for CDL training in Cincinnati
Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4
Financial aid and grants for CDL training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56
Company-paid CDL training
Some trucking companies run their own schools and may pay the tuition if you drive for them for a set time, such as a year.7
GI Bill for CDL training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Where the Cincinnati truck driving program numbers come from
Which Cincinnati truck driving programs are on this list?
These are the truck driving programs with classes in the Cincinnati area that are approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Ohio page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.
How Cincinnati truck driving program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some truck driving programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Sources for the facts about CDL training in Cincinnati
Show the 8 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Heavy and Tractor-trailer Truck Drivers
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee: Task 21-1 discussion notes (2021)
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs