Medical assistant training in Columbus, Ohio
14 medical assistant programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
11 schools offer these medical assistant programs with classes in the Columbus area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Medical assistants do office and clinical work, from scheduling appointments to taking patients' vital signs. Most train in a certificate program. Certification isn't required in most states, but employers often prefer it.1 In Columbus, 1 of the 14 programs takes students without a high school diploma.
See the 14 programsAll 121 medical assistant programs in Ohio, including online programs
How much does a medical assistant program cost in Columbus?
$6,284 to $11,851 is what most medical assistant programs in Columbus cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 14 programs with a price. All of them: $1,250 to $20,373
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 64%
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Length
- Not reported
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Columbus may also offer medical assistant training. How these figures are made
All 14 medical assistant programs in Columbus approved for WIOA funding
Filters
14 programs
Medical Assisting -- Certificate
Columbus State Comm. College
Columbus
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$84,000Price if you pay yourself$6,933Program website, Medical Assisting -- Certificate at Columbus State Comm. CollegeMore details about Medical Assisting -- Certificate at Columbus State Comm. College
- Finished
- 20%
- Working at 6 months
- 78%
- Earned in a quarter
- $20,989
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $5,000
- Students counted
- 3,428
- a year, estimated
- $84,000
- price
- $6,933
Medical Assisting
Fortis College - Cincinnati/Columbus
Westerville
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$8,000Price if you pay yourself$16,439Program website, Medical Assisting at Fortis College - Cincinnati/ColumbusMore details about Medical Assisting at Fortis College - Cincinnati/Columbus
- Finished
- 97%
- Working at 6 months
- 48%
- Earned in a quarter
- $1,991
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $1,158
- Students counted
- 45
- a year, estimated
- $8,000
- price
- $16,439
Medical Assisting with Basic X-Ray Operation
Fortis College - Cincinnati/Columbus
Westerville
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$20,373Program website, Medical Assisting with Basic X-Ray Operation at Fortis College - Cincinnati/ColumbusMore details about Medical Assisting with Basic X-Ray Operation at Fortis College - Cincinnati/Columbus
- Finished
- 53%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $1,320
- Students counted
- 26
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $20,373
Medical Assisting Technology
Tri-County Career Center-Adult Center
Nelsonville
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$17,800Price if you pay yourself$7,3417 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Medical Assisting Technology at Tri-County Career Center-Adult CenterMore details about Medical Assisting Technology at Tri-County Career Center-Adult Center
- Finished
- 64%
- Working at 6 months
- 92%
- Earned in a quarter
- $4,450
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $881
- Students counted
- 14
- a year, estimated
- $17,800
- price
- $7,341
- trained with WIOA funding
- 7
HI-1000 Medical Front Office Assistant and Administration
Goodwill Columbus
Columbus
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$37,300Price if you pay yourself$6,245Program website, HI-1000 Medical Front Office Assistant and Administration at Goodwill ColumbusMore details about HI-1000 Medical Front Office Assistant and Administration at Goodwill Columbus
- Finished
- 91%
- Working at 6 months
- 71%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,319
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 12
- a year, estimated
- $37,300
- price
- $6,245
Clinical Medical Assisting
Ohio School of Phlebotomy
Columbus
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,250School website, Clinical Medical Assisting at Ohio School of PhlebotomyMore details about Clinical Medical Assisting at Ohio School of Phlebotomy
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $1,050
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,250
HI-1200 Medical Front Office Administration Specialist
Goodwill Columbus
Columbus
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,245Program website, HI-1200 Medical Front Office Administration Specialist at Goodwill ColumbusMore details about HI-1200 Medical Front Office Administration Specialist at Goodwill Columbus
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,245
Medical Assisting
Pickaway-Ross Career & Technology Center
Circleville
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,365School website, Medical Assisting at Pickaway-Ross Career & Technology CenterMore details about Medical Assisting at Pickaway-Ross Career & Technology Center
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $1,402
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $5,365
Accelerated Clinical Medical Assistant / Phlebotomy
Cutting Edge Staffing LLC
Westerville
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,400Program website, Accelerated Clinical Medical Assistant / Phlebotomy at Cutting Edge Staffing LLCMore details about Accelerated Clinical Medical Assistant / Phlebotomy at Cutting Edge Staffing LLC
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $300
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $6,400
Registered Medical Assisting
C-TEC of Licking County
Newark
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$8,417Program website, Registered Medical Assisting at C-TEC of Licking CountyMore details about Registered Medical Assisting at C-TEC of Licking County
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $990
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $8,417
Medical Assisting
Eastland-Fairfield Career & Technical Schools
Carroll
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$11,028Program website, Medical Assisting at Eastland-Fairfield Career & Technical SchoolsMore details about Medical Assisting at Eastland-Fairfield Career & Technical Schools
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $1,122
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $11,028
Medical Assisting Associate of Technical Studies Degree
Columbus State Comm. College
Columbus
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$11,382Program website, Medical Assisting Associate of Technical Studies Degree at Columbus State Comm. CollegeMore details about Medical Assisting Associate of Technical Studies Degree at Columbus State Comm. College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $4,500
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $11,382
Associate of Applied Science in Medical Assisting Technology (AA5019)
Ohio University
Lancaster
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$12,008Program website, Associate of Applied Science in Medical Assisting Technology (AA5019) at Ohio UniversityMore details about Associate of Applied Science in Medical Assisting Technology (AA5019) at Ohio University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $12,008
Medical Assistant
Hocking College
Nelsonville
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$17,054Program website, Medical Assistant at Hocking CollegeMore details about Medical Assistant at Hocking College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $1,200
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $17,054
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for medical assistant training in Columbus
WIOA funding can pay for medical assistant training in Columbus
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Financial aid and grants for medical assistant training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for medical assistant training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Where the Columbus medical assistant program numbers come from
Which Columbus medical assistant programs are on this list?
These are the medical assistant programs with classes in the Columbus area that are approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Online programs are left out here; they are on the Ohio page. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what the area offers.
How Columbus medical assistant program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some medical assistant programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Other training in Columbus
- CDL training10 programs
- CNA classes20 programs
- Phlebotomy training18 programs
- Welding classes14 programs
- HVAC training18 programs
- Electrician training11 programs
- Dental assistant programs13 programs
- Auto mechanic classes10 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training11 programs
- Cybersecurity training14 programs
- IT training25 programs
- RN programs10 programs
Sources for the facts about medical assistant training in Columbus
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Assistants
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List