Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Medical assistant training in Kentucky

22 medical assistant programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

22 schools offer these medical assistant programs, and Kentucky has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Medical assistants do office and clinical work, from scheduling appointments to taking patients' vital signs. Most train in a certificate program. Certification isn't required in most states, but employers often prefer it.1

In Kentucky, all 22 programs take students without a high school diploma.

By kind, the 22 programs here are clinical medical assistant (13 programs), medical assistant (7 programs) and medical assistant (associate degree, 2 programs).

See the 22 programs

How much does a medical assistant program cost in Kentucky?

$3,906 to $11,096 is what most medical assistant programs in Kentucky cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 16 programs with a price. All of them: $1,250 to $20,830

In the typical program

Finished the program
68%
Working 6 months later
77%
Earned a year, estimated
about $25,500
Length
1 to 2 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Kentucky may also offer medical assistant training. How these figures are made

Is there free medical assistant training in Kentucky?

All 22 medical assistant programs in Kentucky approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

22 programs

  • Clinical medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Clinical Medical Assistant Hybrid

    The Medical Institute of Kentucky

    Lexington

    No diploma needed

    The Medical Institute of Kentucky, LexingtonClinical medical assistantIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$10,300
    Price if you pay yourself$8,800
    Program website, Clinical Medical Assistant Hybrid at The Medical Institute of Kentucky
    More details about Clinical Medical Assistant Hybrid at The Medical Institute of Kentucky
    Finished
    68%
    Working at 6 months
    66%
    Earned in a quarter
    $2,568
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $460
    Students counted
    415
    Earned a year, estimated
    $10,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,800
    Program website, Clinical Medical Assistant Hybrid at The Medical Institute of Kentucky
  • Medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Comprehensive Medical Assisting

    MedQuest College

    Louisville

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    MedQuest College, LouisvilleMedical assistant · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$21,800
    Price if you pay yourself$13,486
    More details about Comprehensive Medical Assisting at MedQuest College
    Finished
    66%
    Working at 6 months
    80%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,438
    Length
    2 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $4,035
    Students counted
    409
    Earned a year, estimated
    $21,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $13,486
  • Clinical medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Clinical Medical Assistant

    Medical Career and Technical College

    Richmond

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Medical Career and Technical College, RichmondClinical medical assistant · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$29,100
    Price if you pay yourself$5,640
    Program website, Clinical Medical Assistant at Medical Career and Technical College
    More details about Clinical Medical Assistant at Medical Career and Technical College
    Finished
    69%
    Working at 6 months
    77%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,275
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $350
    Students counted
    241
    Earned a year, estimated
    $29,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,640
    Program website, Clinical Medical Assistant at Medical Career and Technical College
  • Clinical medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Medical/Clinical Assistant

    Choice MD

    London

    No diploma needed

    Choice MD, LondonClinical medical assistantIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    More details about Medical/Clinical Assistant at Choice MD
    Finished
    67%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    196
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Not reported
  • Medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Medical Assisting Diploma

    Somerset Community College

    Somerset

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Somerset Community College, SomersetMedical assistant · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$19,200
    Price if you pay yourself$10,030
    Program website, Medical Assisting Diploma at Somerset Community College
    More details about Medical Assisting Diploma at Somerset Community College
    Finished
    39%
    Working at 6 months
    54%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,796
    Length
    1 week, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $4,249
    Students counted
    98
    Earned a year, estimated
    $19,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,030
    Program website, Medical Assisting Diploma at Somerset Community College
  • Clinical medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Clinical Medical Assisting

    Kentucky School of Phlebotomy

    Louisville

    No diploma needed

    Kentucky School of Phlebotomy, LouisvilleClinical medical assistantIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$23,200
    Price if you pay yourself$1,250
    Program website, Clinical Medical Assisting at Kentucky School of Phlebotomy
    More details about Clinical Medical Assisting at Kentucky School of Phlebotomy
    Finished
    74%
    Working at 6 months
    81%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,805
    Length
    2 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $550
    Students counted
    80
    Earned a year, estimated
    $23,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,250
    Program website, Clinical Medical Assisting at Kentucky School of Phlebotomy
  • Medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Medical Assistant

    College for Technical Education

    Lexington

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    College for Technical Education, LexingtonMedical assistant · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$18,600
    Price if you pay yourself$11,782
    Program website, Medical Assistant at College for Technical Education
    More details about Medical Assistant at College for Technical Education
    Finished
    46%
    Working at 6 months
    71%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,652
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $2,021
    Students counted
    55
    Earned a year, estimated
    $18,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,782
    Program website, Medical Assistant at College for Technical Education
  • Medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    HI-6000 Medical Assistant

    MedCerts

    Livonia, MI

    No diploma needed

    MedCerts, Livonia, MIMedical assistantIn person · No diploma needed

    Classes are outside Kentucky; Kentucky approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimated$36,800
    Price if you pay yourself$4,000
    Program website, HI-6000 Medical Assistant at MedCerts
    More details about HI-6000 Medical Assistant at MedCerts
    Finished
    64%
    Working at 6 months
    40%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,209
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    54
    Earned a year, estimated
    $36,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,000
    Program website, HI-6000 Medical Assistant at MedCerts
  • Clinical medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Medical/Clinical Assistant

    KY Healthcare Training

    Lexington

    No diploma needed

    KY Healthcare Training, LexingtonClinical medical assistantIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$28,600
    Price if you pay yourself$3,605

    10 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Medical/Clinical Assistant at KY Healthcare Training
    More details about Medical/Clinical Assistant at KY Healthcare Training
    Finished
    82%
    Working at 6 months
    81%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,154
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $4,583
    Students counted
    44
    Earned a year, estimated
    $28,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,605
    students trained with WIOA funding
    10
    Program website, Medical/Clinical Assistant at KY Healthcare Training
  • Clinical medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Medical/Clinical Assistant

    Twin City Ambulance Service Inc

    Fulton

    No diploma needed

    Twin City Ambulance Service Inc, FultonClinical medical assistantIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$27,700
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    More details about Medical/Clinical Assistant at Twin City Ambulance Service Inc
    Finished
    87%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,929
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    33
    Earned a year, estimated
    $27,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    Not reported
  • Clinical medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Medical/Clinical Assistant

    Hopkinsville Fire & EMS

    Hopkinsville

    No diploma needed

    Hopkinsville Fire & EMS, HopkinsvilleClinical medical assistantIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$41,000
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    More details about Medical/Clinical Assistant at Hopkinsville Fire & EMS
    Finished
    93%
    Working at 6 months
    78%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,254
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    28
    Earned a year, estimated
    $41,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    Not reported
  • Clinical medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Certified Clinical Medical Assistant(Three tracts CMA,EKG and Phlebotomy)

    Emtpky

    Lexington

    No diploma needed

    Emtpky, LexingtonClinical medical assistantIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$29,000
    Price if you pay yourself$4,730
    Program website, Certified Clinical Medical Assistant(Three tracts CMA,EKG and Phlebotomy) at Emtpky
    More details about Certified Clinical Medical Assistant(Three tracts CMA,EKG and Phlebotomy) at Emtpky
    Finished
    75%
    Working at 6 months
    77%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,250
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $496
    Students counted
    24
    Earned a year, estimated
    $29,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,730
    Program website, Certified Clinical Medical Assistant(Three tracts CMA,EKG and Phlebotomy) at Emtpky
  • Clinical medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Certified Clinical Med. Asst & Electronic Health Records Specialist (Voucher)

    Bluegrass Community and Technical College

    Lexington

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Bluegrass Community and Technical College, LexingtonClinical medical assistant · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$22,600
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Certified Clinical Med. Asst & Electronic Health Records Specialist (Voucher) at Bluegrass Community and Technical College
    More details about Certified Clinical Med. Asst & Electronic Health Records Specialist (Voucher) at Bluegrass Community and Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    63%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,657
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    17
    Earned a year, estimated
    $22,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    Not reported
    Program website, Certified Clinical Med. Asst & Electronic Health Records Specialist (Voucher) at Bluegrass Community and Technical College
  • Medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Medical Assisting

    Southeast KY Community and Technical College

    Cumberland

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Southeast KY Community and Technical College, CumberlandMedical assistant · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$19,300
    Price if you pay yourself$8,692

    15 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Medical Assisting at Southeast KY Community and Technical College
    More details about Medical Assisting at Southeast KY Community and Technical College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    50%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,817
    Length
    1 week, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $500
    Students counted
    16
    Earned a year, estimated
    $19,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,692
    students trained with WIOA funding
    15
    Program website, Medical Assisting at Southeast KY Community and Technical College
  • Medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Medical Assisting

    Brighton Centers Center for Employment Training

    Newport

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Brighton Centers Center for Employment Training, NewportMedical assistant · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$29,100
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    Program website, Medical Assisting at Brighton Centers Center for Employment Training
    More details about Medical Assisting at Brighton Centers Center for Employment Training
    Finished
    53%
    Working at 6 months
    80%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,281
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    13
    Earned a year, estimated
    $29,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    Not reported
    Program website, Medical Assisting at Brighton Centers Center for Employment Training
  • Clinical medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Clinical Medical Assistant

    Medcertify.com

    Louisville

    No diploma needed

    Medcertify.com, LouisvilleClinical medical assistantIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,500

    6 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Clinical Medical Assistant at Medcertify.com
    More details about Clinical Medical Assistant at Medcertify.com
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    10
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,500
    students trained with WIOA funding
    6
    Program website, Clinical Medical Assistant at Medcertify.com
  • Clinical medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Medical/Clinical Assistant

    Phlebotomy Plus

    Ashland

    No diploma needed

    Phlebotomy Plus, AshlandClinical medical assistantIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,000
    More details about Medical/Clinical Assistant at Phlebotomy Plus
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $500
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,000
  • Medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Medical Assisting

    Maysville CTC

    Maysville

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Maysville CTC, MaysvilleMedical assistant · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,624
    Program website, Medical Assisting at Maysville CTC
    More details about Medical Assisting at Maysville CTC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    1 week, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,800
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,624
    Program website, Medical Assisting at Maysville CTC
  • Medical assistant (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Medical Assisting

    Henderson Community College

    Henderson

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Henderson Community College, HendersonMedical assistant (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$10,868
    School website, Medical Assisting at Henderson Community College
    More details about Medical Assisting at Henderson Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $1,675
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,868
    School website, Medical Assisting at Henderson Community College
  • Clinical medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Medical/Clinical Assistant

    Ross Medical Education Center

    Erlanger

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Ross Medical Education Center, ErlangerClinical medical assistant · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$15,740
    Program website, Medical/Clinical Assistant at Ross Medical Education Center
    More details about Medical/Clinical Assistant at Ross Medical Education Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    1 week, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $15,740
    Program website, Medical/Clinical Assistant at Ross Medical Education Center
  • Medical assistant (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Medical Assisting

    American National University

    Pikeville

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    American National University, PikevilleMedical assistant (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$20,830
    Program website, Medical Assisting at American National University
    More details about Medical Assisting at American National University
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $5,400
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $20,830
    Program website, Medical Assisting at American National University
  • Clinical medical assistantIn personNo diploma needed

    Medical/Clinical Assistant

    Bluegrass Wdb

    Lexington

    No diploma needed

    Bluegrass Wdb, LexingtonClinical medical assistantIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    More details about Medical/Clinical Assistant at Bluegrass Wdb
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Not reported

How to pay for medical assistant training in Kentucky

WIOA funding can pay for medical assistant training in Kentucky

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for medical assistant training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for medical assistant training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Medical assistant training in Kentucky

lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
32nd of 44
other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
5 of 30
medical assistant programs here, against the typical state's 18
22 vs 18

State comparisons use the same figures as the medical assistant training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Medical assistant training in Lexington, Louisville, Cincinnati and other Kentucky cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 5 more programs are in 5 other areas, 3 in smaller cities and towns.

Other training in Kentucky

How medical assistant training compares with the rest of medical office and lab work: Medical certification programs in Kentucky

Where the Kentucky medical assistant program numbers come from

Which Kentucky medical assistant programs are on this list?

These are the medical assistant programs Kentucky approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Kentucky offers.

How the prices and results of Kentucky medical assistant programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about medical assistant training in Kentucky

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Assistants
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List