Pharmacy technician training in Kentucky
10 pharmacy technician programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
10 schools offer these pharmacy technician programs, and Kentucky has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Pharmacy technicians help pharmacists dispense medications, manage stock and serve customers. Many programs award a certificate after a year or less, most states regulate the work in some way, and some states and employers require certification.1 In Kentucky, all 10 programs take students without a high school diploma.
See the 10 programsHow much does pharmacy technician training cost in Kentucky?
$1,824 to $8,150 is what most pharmacy technician programs in Kentucky cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 6 programs with a price. All of them: $404 to $40,160
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Too few programs to say
- Working 6 months later
- Too few programs to say
- Earned a year, estimated
- Too few programs to say
- Length
- 1 to 16 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Kentucky may also offer pharmacy technician training. How these figures are made
Pharmacy technician training in Detroit, Somerset, Bowling Green and other Kentucky cities
Choosing an area filters the list below. 3 more programs are in 3 other areas, 1 in smaller cities and towns.
All 10 pharmacy technician programs in Kentucky approved for WIOA funding
Filters
10 programs
HI-2000 Medication Care Coordinator Program
MedCerts
Livonia, MI
No diploma needed
Classes are outside Kentucky; Kentucky approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimated$25,700Price if you pay yourself$4,000Program website, HI-2000 Medication Care Coordinator Program at MedCertsMore details about HI-2000 Medication Care Coordinator Program at MedCerts
- Finished
- 48%
- Working at 6 months
- 36%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,418
- Length
- 24 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 36
- a year, estimated
- $25,700
- price
- $4,000
Pharmacy Tech II Diploma
Somerset Community College
Somerset
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$22,200Price if you pay yourself$8,500Program website, Pharmacy Tech II Diploma at Somerset Community CollegeMore details about Pharmacy Tech II Diploma at Somerset Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 73%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,548
- Length
- 1 week, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,947
- Students counted
- 18
- a year, estimated
- $22,200
- price
- $8,500
Pharmacy Technician Certificate Program with Clinical Externship
Western Kentucky University
Bowling Green
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$26,300Price if you pay yourselfNot reported7 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Pharmacy Technician Certificate Program with Clinical Externship at Western Kentucky UniversityMore details about Pharmacy Technician Certificate Program with Clinical Externship at Western Kentucky University
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 90%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,582
- Length
- 16 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 17
- a year, estimated
- $26,300
- price
- Not reported
- trained with WIOA funding
- 7
Pharmacy Technician
The Medical Institute of Kentucky
Lexington
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$7,100Program website, Pharmacy Technician at The Medical Institute of KentuckyMore details about Pharmacy Technician at The Medical Institute of Kentucky
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $129
- Students counted
- 12
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $7,100
Pharmacy Technician
Big Sandy Community and Technical College
Prestonsburg
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$16,300Price if you pay yourselfNot reported7 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Pharmacy Technician at Big Sandy Community and Technical CollegeMore details about Pharmacy Technician at Big Sandy Community and Technical College
- Finished
- 82%
- Working at 6 months
- 67%
- Earned in a quarter
- $4,064
- Length
- 1 week, 28 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 10
- a year, estimated
- $16,300
- price
- Not reported
- trained with WIOA funding
- 7
Pharmacy Technician
Hazard Community and Technical College
Hazard
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$404Program website, Pharmacy Technician at Hazard Community and Technical CollegeMore details about Pharmacy Technician at Hazard Community and Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 2 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $77
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $404
Pharmacy Technician Professional
Penn Foster
Scranton, PA
No diploma needed
Classes are outside Kentucky; Kentucky approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,099Program website, Pharmacy Technician Professional at Penn FosterMore details about Pharmacy Technician Professional at Penn Foster
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,099
Associate of Science in Pharmacy Technician
Sullivan University
Louisville
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$40,160Program website, Associate of Science in Pharmacy Technician at Sullivan UniversityMore details about Associate of Science in Pharmacy Technician at Sullivan University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $3,600
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $40,160
Pharmacy Technician
Ashland Community and Technical College
Ashland
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, Pharmacy Technician at Ashland Community and Technical CollegeMore details about Pharmacy Technician at Ashland Community and Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- Not reported
Pharmacy Technician
Campbellsville University
Campbellsville
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, Pharmacy Technician at Campbellsville UniversityMore details about Pharmacy Technician at Campbellsville University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- Not reported
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for pharmacy technician training in Kentucky
WIOA funding can pay for pharmacy technician training in Kentucky
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Financial aid and grants for pharmacy technician training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for pharmacy technician training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Quick facts: Pharmacy technician training in Kentucky
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 35th of 40
- pharmacy technician programs here, against the typical state's 10
- 10 vs 10
State comparisons use the same figures as the pharmacy technician training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Where the Kentucky pharmacy technician program numbers come from
Which Kentucky pharmacy technician programs are on this list?
These are the pharmacy technician programs Kentucky approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Kentucky offers.
How Kentucky pharmacy technician program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some pharmacy technician programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Other training in Kentucky
- CDL training34 programs
- CNA classes20 programs
- Medical assistant training22 programs
- Phlebotomy training16 programs
- Welding classes26 programs
- HVAC training26 programs
- Medical billing and coding training18 programs
- LPN programs25 programs
- EMT classes15 programs
- Electrician training16 programs
- Dental assistant programs15 programs
- Auto mechanic classes6 programs
- Plumbing school5 programs
- CNC machinist training5 programs
- Carpentry classes11 programs
Sources for the facts about pharmacy technician training in Kentucky
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Pharmacy Technicians
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220 and 680.310: career services before training, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List