Medical certification programs in Kentucky
130 medical certification programs in 8 fields of medical office and lab work, with costs, results and funding that can make them free
55 schools offer these programs, and Kentucky has approved every one for workforce funding. Compare the 8 fields below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.
These programs lead to the support jobs that keep clinics, labs and pharmacies running: medical assistants, phlebotomists who draw blood, EKG technicians and pharmacy technicians, and office work in medical billing, coding and healthcare administration. Most are certificate programs, and many prepare for a certification exam.
All job training programs in Kentucky, every line of work
Accredited medical certification programs in Kentucky, each school with its accreditor
Medical certification programs by state, to compare Kentucky with other states
Compare medical certification programs in Kentucky: cost, pay and results
Medical assistant training
22 programs at 22 schools
- Most cost
- $3,906 to $11,096
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $25,500
- Working 6 months later
- 77%
- Finished
- 68%
Health information technology programs (medical records)
22 programs at 18 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Medical administrative assistant training
20 programs at 16 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $22,500
- Working 6 months later
- 61%
- Finished
- 34%
Medical billing and coding training
18 programs at 17 schools
- Most cost
- $3,906 to $11,035
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $30,700
- Working 6 months later
- 77%
- Finished
- 78%
Phlebotomy training
17 programs at 17 schools
- Most cost
- $914 to $1,894
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $20,800
- Working 6 months later
- 74%
- Finished
- 90%
Medical lab technician programs (clinical laboratory)
17 programs at 13 schools
- Most cost
- $11,163 to $12,887
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Pharmacy technician training
10 programs at 10 schools
- Most cost
- $1,824 to $8,150
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
EKG technician programs (heart tests)
4 programs at 4 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Each figure is the middle program of that field. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools in Kentucky may offer more. How these figures are made
Other job training in Kentucky, by line of work
- Trade school programs207
- Business and office training104
- Nursing and patient care programs83
- Allied health programs71
- IT certification programs54
- Transportation and logistics training43
- First responder training30
- Child care and social services training23
- Beauty school4
- All job training in Kentucky752
Programs approved in Kentucky in each line of work.
Where the Kentucky medical certification numbers come from
Which Kentucky programs are counted?
Programs Kentucky approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act) in the fields listed above. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).5 They come from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Kentucky offers.
What the figures for each field mean
Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).
Sources for the funding facts about medical certification programs in Kentucky
Show the 5 sourcesHide the sources
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List