Retraining Report
Find training

Barber school in Kentucky

2 barber programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

2 schools offer these barber programs, and Kentucky has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Barbers shampoo, cut and style hair, mostly for men. Every state requires barbers to be licensed: you finish a state-approved program and then pass a state licensing exam.1 In Kentucky, all 2 programs take students without a high school diploma.

See the 2 programs

How much does barber school cost in Kentucky?

$6,150

is the price of the one program that lists a price, if you pay yourself

These two programs

Finished the program
Not reported
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
Length
Not reported

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Kentucky may also offer barber school. How these figures are made

Is there free barber school in Kentucky?

Barber school in Lexington, Clarksville and other Kentucky cities

Choosing an area filters the list below.

All 2 barber programs in Kentucky approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
How it's taught
How to show the list

2 programs

  • Barber license programIn personNo diploma needed

    Barber - Styling

    Baileys Barber College

    Lexington

    No diploma needed

    Baileys Barber College, Lexington · Barber license program · In person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,150
    Program website, Barber - Styling at Baileys Barber College
    More details about Barber - Styling at Baileys Barber College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $982
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    $6,150
  • Barber license programIn personNo diploma needed

    Barbering/Barber

    Queen City College LLC

    Clarksville, TN

    No diploma needed

    Queen City College LLC, Clarksville, TN · Barber license program · In person · No diploma needed

    Classes are outside Kentucky; Kentucky approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    More details about Barbering/Barber at Queen City College LLC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    a year, estimated
    Not reported
    price
    Not reported

How to pay for barber school in Kentucky

WIOA funding can pay for barber school in Kentucky

Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5

Financial aid and grants for barber school

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for barber school

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Where the Kentucky barber program numbers come from

Which Kentucky barber programs are on this list?

These are the barber programs Kentucky approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Kentucky offers.

How the prices and results of Kentucky barber programs are measured

The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Results describe students who left the program in recent years, and the yearly earnings figure is the reported quarter times four, an estimate. They describe past students, so they are no guarantee. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported". Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Other training in Kentucky

Sources for the facts about barber school in Kentucky

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Barbers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List