CNC machinist training in Kentucky
5 CNC machinist programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
5 schools offer these machinist programs, and Kentucky has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Machinists set up and run equipment, including computer-controlled (CNC) machines, to make precision metal parts and tools. Community colleges and technical schools offer certificates and two-year degrees that teach reading engineering drawings and programming CNC machines.1 In Kentucky, all 5 programs take students without a high school diploma.
See the 5 programsHow much does CNC machinist training cost in Kentucky?
$10,880 to $11,625
is what the 2 programs with a price cost if you pay yourself
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Too few programs to say
- Length
- Not reported for most programs
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Kentucky may also offer CNC machinist training. How these figures are made
CNC machinist training in Somerset, Huntington and other Kentucky cities
Choosing an area filters the list below. 3 in smaller cities and towns.
All 5 CNC machinist programs in Kentucky approved for WIOA funding
Filters
5 programs
Computer Numerically Controlled (CNC) Machinist Technology/CNC Machinist
EKentucky Advanced Manufacturing Institute
Paintsville
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$33,300Price if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, Computer Numerically Controlled (CNC) Machinist Technology/CNC Machinist at EKentucky Advanced Manufacturing InstituteMore details about Computer Numerically Controlled (CNC) Machinist Technology/CNC Machinist at EKentucky Advanced Manufacturing Institute
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,332
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- 19
- a year, estimated
- $33,300
- price
- Not reported
Computerized Manufacturing and Machining
Southeast KY Community and Technical College
Cumberland
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$10,880Program website, Computerized Manufacturing and Machining at Southeast KY Community and Technical CollegeMore details about Computerized Manufacturing and Machining at Southeast KY Community and Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 2 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $950
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $10,880
Machine Tool Technology-CNC Machinist GOTS
Somerset Community College
Somerset
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$11,625Program website, Machine Tool Technology-CNC Machinist GOTS at Somerset Community CollegeMore details about Machine Tool Technology-CNC Machinist GOTS at Somerset Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 2 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $6,947
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $11,625
Computer Numerically Controlled (CNC) Machinist Technology/CNC Machinist
Big Sandy Community and Technical College
Kentucky
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, Computer Numerically Controlled (CNC) Machinist Technology/CNC Machinist at Big Sandy Community and Technical CollegeMore details about Computer Numerically Controlled (CNC) Machinist Technology/CNC Machinist at Big Sandy Community and Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- Not reported
Machine Tool Technology/Machinist
Ashland Community and Technical College
Ashland
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedProgram website, Machine Tool Technology/Machinist at Ashland Community and Technical CollegeMore details about Machine Tool Technology/Machinist at Ashland Community and Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- Not reported
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for CNC machinist training in Kentucky
WIOA funding can pay for CNC machinist training in Kentucky
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Paid machinist apprenticeships
An apprenticeship is a job: you're paid to learn, with a raise as your skills grow, and most include classroom teaching. You apply to the employer or the program sponsor. Ask what you'll pay for the classroom part and what you'll earn on the job.6
Financial aid and grants for CNC machinist training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78
GI Bill for CNC machinist training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Machinist apprenticeships in Kentucky
A machinist apprenticeship is usually run by an employer. It combines paid training on the job with related classes and lasts several years.1
You apply to the employer or the program sponsor, not through a school.6 The Department of Labor's Apprenticeship Finder lists openings by place and job. None of the CNC machinist programs on this page is an apprenticeship.
Where the Kentucky machinist program numbers come from
Which Kentucky machinist programs are on this list?
These are the machinist programs Kentucky approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Kentucky offers.
How Kentucky machinist program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some machinist programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Other training in Kentucky
- CDL training34 programs
- CNA classes20 programs
- Medical assistant training22 programs
- Phlebotomy training16 programs
- Welding classes26 programs
- HVAC training26 programs
- Medical billing and coding training18 programs
- LPN programs25 programs
- EMT classes15 programs
- Electrician training16 programs
- Dental assistant programs15 programs
- Auto mechanic classes6 programs
- Pharmacy technician training10 programs
- Plumbing school5 programs
- Carpentry classes11 programs
Sources for the facts about CNC machinist training in Kentucky
Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Machinists and Tool and Die Makers
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220 and 680.310: career services before training, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Apprenticeship.gov: Discover Apprenticeship: Earn While You Learn Today (fact sheet)
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List