CDL training in Kansas
20 CDL (commercial driver's license) training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
18 schools offer these truck driving programs, and Kansas has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Truck drivers need a commercial driver's license, which generally takes a knowledge test and a driving test. Most drivers have a high school diploma and prepare at a professional truck driving school.1 Since February 7, 2022, federal rules require anyone getting a Class A or B license for the first time, or upgrading to one, to train with a provider on FMCSA's Training Provider Registry.2
In Kansas, 18 of the 20 programs take students without a high school diploma and 2 ask for a diploma or equivalent.
By kind, the 20 programs here are Class A (12 programs), CDL (class not stated, 6 programs), Class A and Class B (1 program) and bus and passenger (1 program).
See the 20 programsHow much does CDL training cost in Kansas?
$3,682 to $5,548 is what most CDL training programs in Kansas cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 19 programs with a price. All of them: $700 to $7,695
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 88%
- Working 6 months later
- 85%
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- 4 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Length
- Not enough data
- 3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Kansas may also offer CDL training. How these figures are made
All 20 CDL training programs in Kansas approved for WIOA funding
Filters
20 programs
CDL Class A Training
Kansas Truck Driving School
Wichita
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,5957 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, CDL Class A Training at Kansas Truck Driving SchoolMore details about CDL Class A Training at Kansas Truck Driving School
- Finished
- 88%
- Working at 6 months
- 74%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 791
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,595
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 7
CDL Class A Training
Zeta Commercial Driving School
Lenexa
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,9907 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, CDL Class A Training at Zeta Commercial Driving SchoolMore details about CDL Class A Training at Zeta Commercial Driving School
- Finished
- 94%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 530
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,990
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 7
Whiteline CDL Training-Wichita
White Line CDL Training Inc-Wichita
Wichita
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,5009 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Whiteline CDL Training-Wichita at White Line CDL Training Inc-WichitaMore details about Whiteline CDL Training-Wichita at White Line CDL Training Inc-Wichita
- Finished
- 85%
- Working at 6 months
- 85%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 290
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,500
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 9
Commercial Driver's License Training
Apex CDL Institute LLC
Kansas City
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$42,200Price if you pay yourself$6,400188 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Commercial Driver's License Training at Apex CDL Institute LLC
- Finished
- 88%
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,555
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 271
- Earned a year, estimated
- $42,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,400
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 188
Commercial Truck Driver Training
Roadmaster Drivers School
Grandview, MO
No diploma needed
Classes are outside Kansas; Kansas approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimated$54,500Price if you pay yourself$7,695Program website, Commercial Truck Driver Training at Roadmaster Drivers SchoolMore details about Commercial Truck Driver Training at Roadmaster Drivers School
- Finished
- 82%
- Working at 6 months
- 59%
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,626
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 262
- Earned a year, estimated
- $54,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,695
Class A CDL Truck Driver Training - Wichita
160 Driving Academy
Kansas City, MO
No diploma needed
Classes are outside Kansas; Kansas approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimated$51,800Price if you pay yourself$4,95015 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Class A CDL Truck Driver Training - Wichita at 160 Driving AcademyMore details about Class A CDL Truck Driver Training - Wichita at 160 Driving Academy
- Finished
- 74%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,948
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 239
- Earned a year, estimated
- $51,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,950
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 15
Professional Driving (CDL-A over-the-road exam prep)
Dwayne Peaslee Technical Training Center
Lawrence
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,620School website, Professional Driving (CDL-A over-the-road exam prep) at Dwayne Peaslee Technical Training CenterMore details about Professional Driving (CDL-A over-the-road exam prep) at Dwayne Peaslee Technical Training Center
- Finished
- 99%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 194
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,620
CDL
North Central Kansas Technical College
Beloit
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$800More details about CDL at North Central Kansas Technical College
- Finished
- 79%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 137
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $800
Accelerated Weekday CDL Class A - CDL-A
Johnson County Community College-Continuing Education
Overland Park
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,999Program website, Accelerated Weekday CDL Class A - CDL-A at Johnson County Community College-Continuing EducationMore details about Accelerated Weekday CDL Class A - CDL-A at Johnson County Community College-Continuing Education
- Finished
- 93%
- Working at 6 months
- 25%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 99
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,999
Class A CDL Truck Driver Training - Topeka
160 Driving Academy
Kansas City, MO
No diploma needed
Classes are outside Kansas; Kansas approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimated$51,800Price if you pay yourself$4,0003 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Class A CDL Truck Driver Training - Topeka at 160 Driving AcademyMore details about Class A CDL Truck Driver Training - Topeka at 160 Driving Academy
- Finished
- 93%
- Working at 6 months
- 96%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,948
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 67
- Earned a year, estimated
- $51,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,000
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 3
Kings And Queens Class A CDL Course
Empowering Empires LLC
Kansas City, MO
High school diploma or equivalent
Classes are outside Kansas; Kansas approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,520Program website, Kings And Queens Class A CDL Course at Empowering Empires LLCMore details about Kings And Queens Class A CDL Course at Empowering Empires LLC
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $300
- Students counted
- 45
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,520
CDL-Truck Driving Program
Seward County Community College
Liberal
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,365Program website, CDL-Truck Driving Program at Seward County Community CollegeMore details about CDL-Truck Driving Program at Seward County Community College
- Finished
- 74%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 6 weeks, 10 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,510
- Students counted
- 43
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,365
Commercial Drivers License
Barton County Community College (I)
Great Bend
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$7003 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Commercial Drivers License at Barton County Community College (I)
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 89%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 17 weeks, 5 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 23
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $700
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 3
Commercial Driver's License Training
Flint Hills Technical College
Emporia
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,000More details about Commercial Driver's License Training at Flint Hills Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,000
Commercial Driver's License Training Program
Fort Scott Community College (Fort Scott)
Fort Scott
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,000Program website, Commercial Driver's License Training Program at Fort Scott Community College (Fort Scott)More details about Commercial Driver's License Training Program at Fort Scott Community College (Fort Scott)
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,000
Class A Commercial Driver License Training- Topeka
WhiteLine CDL Training -Topeka
Topeka
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,341Program website, Class A Commercial Driver License Training- Topeka at WhiteLine CDL Training -TopekaMore details about Class A Commercial Driver License Training- Topeka at WhiteLine CDL Training -Topeka
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $171
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,341
Class B CDL with Passenger and School Bus Endorsements
Medi Coach Driving School
Shawnee
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,380Program website, Class B CDL with Passenger and School Bus Endorsements at Medi Coach Driving SchoolMore details about Class B CDL with Passenger and School Bus Endorsements at Medi Coach Driving School
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $50
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,380
Transport Training (Truck Driving Class A)
Crowder College
Neosho, MO
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Classes are outside Kansas; Kansas approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,450Program website, Transport Training (Truck Driving Class A) at Crowder CollegeMore details about Transport Training (Truck Driving Class A) at Crowder College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 5 weeks, 13 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,450
Commercial Driver's License - Class A
Johnson County Community College-Continuing Education
Overland Park
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,999School website, Commercial Driver's License - Class A at Johnson County Community College-Continuing EducationMore details about Commercial Driver's License - Class A at Johnson County Community College-Continuing Education
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,999
Commercial Truck Driving
Washburn Institute of Technology
Topeka
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourselfNot reportedMore details about Commercial Truck Driving at Washburn Institute of Technology
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- Not reported
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for CDL training in Kansas
WIOA funding can pay for CDL training in Kansas
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for CDL training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78
Company-paid CDL training
Some trucking companies run their own schools and may pay the tuition if you drive for them for a set time, such as a year.9
GI Bill for CDL training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.10
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: CDL training in Kansas
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 21st of 45
- CDL training programs here, against the typical state's 35
- 20 vs 35
State comparisons use the same figures as the CDL training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
CDL training in Kansas City, Wichita, Topeka and other Kansas cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above. 2 more programs are in 2 other areas, 2 in smaller cities and towns.
Other training in Kansas
How CDL training compares with the rest of transportation and logistics: Transportation and logistics training in Kansas
- CNA classes19 programs
- Medical assistant training10 programs
- Phlebotomy training10 programs
- Welding classes14 programs
- HVAC training11 programs
- Medical billing and coding training7 programs
- LPN programs14 programs
- EMT classes11 programs
- Electrician training4 programs
- Dental assistant programs4 programs
- Auto mechanic classes8 programs
- Pharmacy technician training7 programs
- CNC machinist training10 programs
- Carpentry classes4 programs
- Diesel mechanic training3 programs
- Cybersecurity training14 programs
- IT training18 programs
- Cosmetology school1 program
- EKG technician programs3 programs
- Paralegal programs1 program
- Surgical tech programs3 programs
- Radiology tech programs2 programs
- Culinary school5 programs
- Home health aide training5 programs
- PTA programs1 program
- Medical administrative assistant training7 programs
- Medication aide training15 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training6 programs
- Early childhood education programs2 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school6 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training5 programs
- Coding and software development courses19 programs
- Lineman school2 programs
- Sonography school1 program
- Data analytics courses4 programs
- Administrative assistant training9 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs2 programs
- Medical lab technician programs3 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses11 programs
- Digital marketing courses2 programs
- Web and graphic design courses4 programs
- Health information technology programs3 programs
- Vet tech programs1 program
- Patient care technician training1 program
- Interpreter and translator training1 program
- Home inspector training1 program
- Forklift certification1 program
- Healthcare administration programs1 program
- Customer service training1 program
- Flight school1 program
- RBT certification training1 program
- Manufacturing technician training3 programs
- Electronics technician training1 program
- Business administration programs3 programs
- Criminal justice programs4 programs
- Auto body repair classes1 program
- Construction training programs1 program
- Dental hygiene programs3 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes4 programs
- RN programs10 programs
- Project management certification9 programs
Where the Kansas truck driving program numbers come from
Which Kansas truck driving programs are on this list?
These are the truck driving programs Kansas approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).11 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Kansas offers.
How the prices and results of Kansas truck driving programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about CDL training in Kansas
Show the 11 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Heavy and Tractor-trailer Truck Drivers
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 49 CFR part 380, subpart F, Entry-level driver training requirements
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, Motor Carrier Safety Advisory Committee: Task 21-1 discussion notes (2021)
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List