Carpentry classes in Kansas
3 carpentry programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
3 schools offer these carpentry programs, and Kansas has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Carpenters build, repair and install building frameworks and structures made from wood and other materials. Most have a high school diploma and learn on the job or through an apprenticeship.1 In Kansas, 2 of the 3 programs take students without a high school diploma.
See the 3 programsHow much do carpentry classes cost in Kansas?
$239 to $7,709
is what the 3 programs with a price cost if you pay yourself
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Too few programs to say
- Working 6 months later
- Too few programs to say
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Kansas may also offer carpentry classes. How these figures are made
Carpentry classes in Kansas City, Arkansas City and other Kansas cities
Choosing an area filters the list below. 1 in smaller cities and towns.
All 3 carpentry programs in Kansas approved for WIOA funding
Filters
3 programs
Construction Technology
KCKCC Technical Education Center
Kansas City
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$7,7093 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Construction Technology at KCKCC Technical Education CenterMore details about Construction Technology at KCKCC Technical Education Center
- Finished
- 66%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $990
- Students counted
- 281
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $7,709
- trained with WIOA funding
- 3
Carpentry/Construction Trades (Cert A)
Cowley College
Arkansas City
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$239Program website, Carpentry/Construction Trades (Cert A) at Cowley CollegeMore details about Carpentry/Construction Trades (Cert A) at Cowley College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $239
Construction Technology - Coffeyville
Coffeyville Community College
Coffeyville
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,730School website, Construction Technology - Coffeyville at Coffeyville Community CollegeMore details about Construction Technology - Coffeyville at Coffeyville Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $125
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $5,730
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for carpentry classes in Kansas
WIOA funding can pay for carpentry classes in Kansas
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Paid carpentry apprenticeships
An apprenticeship is a job: you're paid to learn, with a raise as your skills grow, and most include classroom teaching. You apply to the employer or the program sponsor. Ask what you'll pay for the classroom part and what you'll earn on the job.6
Financial aid and grants for carpentry classes
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78
GI Bill for carpentry classes
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Carpentry apprenticeships in Kansas
A carpentry apprenticeship sets a number of hours of classes and paid work on the job for each year. Unions and contractor associations run most programs, and apprentices learn carpentry basics, blueprint reading, math, building codes, and safety and first aid.1
You apply to the employer or the program sponsor, not through a school.6 The Department of Labor's Apprenticeship Finder lists openings by place and job. None of the carpentry programs on this page is an apprenticeship.
Where the Kansas carpentry program numbers come from
Which Kansas carpentry programs are on this list?
These are the carpentry programs Kansas approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Kansas offers.
How the prices and results of Kansas carpentry programs are measured
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Results describe students who left the program in recent years, and the yearly earnings figure is the reported quarter times four, an estimate. They describe past students, so they are no guarantee. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported". Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Other training in Kansas
- CDL training18 programs
- CNA classes23 programs
- Medical assistant training7 programs
- Phlebotomy training9 programs
- Welding classes13 programs
- HVAC training11 programs
- Medical billing and coding training7 programs
- LPN programs13 programs
- EMT classes8 programs
- Electrician training3 programs
- Dental assistant programs4 programs
- Auto mechanic classes8 programs
- Pharmacy technician training7 programs
- CNC machinist training10 programs
Sources for the facts about carpentry classes in Kansas
Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Carpenters
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220 and 680.310: career services before training, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Apprenticeship.gov: Discover Apprenticeship: Earn While You Learn Today (fact sheet)
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List