Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Coding and software development courses in Kansas

19 coding and software programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

8 schools offer these software development programs, and Kansas has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did. One school runs 11 of these 19 programs, so the typical figures lean heavily on its prices and results.

Computer programmers write, change and test the code that makes software and apps work. Most have a bachelor's degree, but some employers hire people with other training or experience in specific programming languages, and programmers can get certified in a language.1

In Kansas, 5 of the 19 programs take students without a high school diploma, 13 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 1 asks for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 19 programs here are programming language or developer tool course (11 programs), software or app development certificate (3 programs), programming or software development (associate degree, 2 programs), software testing and QA course (2 programs), and 1 more of one other kind.

See the 19 programs

How much do coding and software development courses cost in Kansas?

$4,750 to $7,896 is what most coding and software programs in Kansas cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 19 programs with a price. All of them: $847 to $25,495

In the typical program

Finished the program
42%
Working 6 months later
Not enough data
2 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
Length
Not enough data
1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Kansas may also offer coding and software development courses. How these figures are made

Are there free coding and software development courses in Kansas?

All 19 coding and software programs in Kansas approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

19 programs

  • Coding bootcampOnlineNo diploma needed

    KU Coding Boot Camp

    University of Kansas

    Based in Overland Park, KS

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    University of Kansas, based in Overland Park, KSCoding bootcamp · Accredited schoolOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$60,000
    Price if you pay yourself$10,745
    Program website, KU Coding Boot Camp at University of Kansas
    More details about KU Coding Boot Camp at University of Kansas
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    37%
    Earned in a quarter
    $15,000
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    594
    Earned a year, estimated
    $60,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,745
    Program website, KU Coding Boot Camp at University of Kansas
  • Programming or software development (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Cloud Application Development - AAS

    WSU Tech

    Wichita

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    WSU Tech, WichitaProgramming or software development (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$11,672
    Program website, Cloud Application Development - AAS at WSU Tech
    More details about Cloud Application Development - AAS at WSU Tech
    Finished
    9%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    141
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,672
    Program website, Cloud Application Development - AAS at WSU Tech
  • Software or app development certificateOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Full-Stack Coding Program

    Centriq Training

    Based in Kansas City, MO

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Centriq Training, based in Kansas City, MOSoftware or app development certificateOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$25,495
    Program website, Full-Stack Coding Program at Centriq Training
    More details about Full-Stack Coding Program at Centriq Training
    Finished
    94%
    Working at 6 months
    86%
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    137
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $25,495
    Program website, Full-Stack Coding Program at Centriq Training
  • Software or app development certificateIn personNo diploma needed

    Cloud Application Development - Technical Certificate

    WSU Tech

    Wichita

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    WSU Tech, WichitaSoftware or app development certificate · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$10,022
    Program website, Cloud Application Development - Technical Certificate at WSU Tech
    More details about Cloud Application Development - Technical Certificate at WSU Tech
    Finished
    15%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    50
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,022
    Program website, Cloud Application Development - Technical Certificate at WSU Tech
  • Programming language or developer tool courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Foundations of Java Development PM

    SnapIT Solutions

    Overland Park

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SnapIT Solutions, Overland ParkProgramming language or developer tool courseIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,500
    Program website, Foundations of Java Development PM at SnapIT Solutions
    More details about Foundations of Java Development PM at SnapIT Solutions
    Finished
    42%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $350
    Students counted
    12
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,500
    Program website, Foundations of Java Development PM at SnapIT Solutions
  • Software or app development certificateIn personEducation and courses

    Computer Information Systems-Software Developer Certificate

    Johnson County Community College

    Overland Park

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Johnson County Community College, Overland ParkSoftware or app development certificate · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$847
    Program website, Computer Information Systems-Software Developer Certificate at Johnson County Community College
    More details about Computer Information Systems-Software Developer Certificate at Johnson County Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $750
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $847
    Program website, Computer Information Systems-Software Developer Certificate at Johnson County Community College
  • Programming language or developer tool courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Python Programming Certificate

    Johnson County Community College-Continuing Education

    Overland Park

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Johnson County Community College-Continuing Education, Overland ParkProgramming language or developer tool course · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,250
    Program website, Python Programming Certificate at Johnson County Community College-Continuing Education
    More details about Python Programming Certificate at Johnson County Community College-Continuing Education
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    5 weeks, 35 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,250
    Program website, Python Programming Certificate at Johnson County Community College-Continuing Education
  • Programming language or developer tool courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Python Programming Specialist Certification Program

    ONLC Training Centers

    Wilmington, DE

    No diploma needed

    ONLC Training Centers, Wilmington, DEProgramming language or developer tool courseHybrid · No diploma needed

    Classes are outside Kansas; Kansas approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,500
    Program website, Python Programming Specialist Certification Program at ONLC Training Centers
    More details about Python Programming Specialist Certification Program at ONLC Training Centers
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $50
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,500
    Program website, Python Programming Specialist Certification Program at ONLC Training Centers
  • Programming language or developer tool courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Foundations of C# Development Self-Paced

    SnapIT Solutions

    Based in Overland Park, KS

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SnapIT Solutions, based in Overland Park, KSProgramming language or developer tool courseOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,520
    School website, Foundations of C# Development Self-Paced at SnapIT Solutions
    More details about Foundations of C# Development Self-Paced at SnapIT Solutions
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $100
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,520
    School website, Foundations of C# Development Self-Paced at SnapIT Solutions
  • Programming language or developer tool courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Foundations of Ruby & Ruby on Rails

    SnapIT Solutions

    Overland Park

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SnapIT Solutions, Overland ParkProgramming language or developer tool courseIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,000
    Program website, Foundations of Ruby & Ruby on Rails at SnapIT Solutions
    More details about Foundations of Ruby & Ruby on Rails at SnapIT Solutions
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $350
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,000
    Program website, Foundations of Ruby & Ruby on Rails at SnapIT Solutions
  • Programming language or developer tool courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Foundations of C# Development PM

    SnapIT Solutions

    Based in Overland Park, KS

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SnapIT Solutions, based in Overland Park, KSProgramming language or developer tool courseOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,495
    Program website, Foundations of C# Development PM at SnapIT Solutions
    More details about Foundations of C# Development PM at SnapIT Solutions
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $350
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,495
    Program website, Foundations of C# Development PM at SnapIT Solutions
  • Programming language or developer tool courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Foundations of Java Development

    SnapIT Solutions

    Based in Overland Park, KS

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SnapIT Solutions, based in Overland Park, KSProgramming language or developer tool courseOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,495
    Program website, Foundations of Java Development at SnapIT Solutions
    More details about Foundations of Java Development at SnapIT Solutions
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $350
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,495
    Program website, Foundations of Java Development at SnapIT Solutions
  • Programming language or developer tool courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Foundations of Javascript Development

    SnapIT Solutions

    Based in Overland Park, KS

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SnapIT Solutions, based in Overland Park, KSProgramming language or developer tool courseOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,495
    School website, Foundations of Javascript Development at SnapIT Solutions
    More details about Foundations of Javascript Development at SnapIT Solutions
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $350
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,495
    School website, Foundations of Javascript Development at SnapIT Solutions
  • Programming language or developer tool courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Foundations of Javascript Development PM

    SnapIT Solutions

    Based in Overland Park, KS

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SnapIT Solutions, based in Overland Park, KSProgramming language or developer tool courseOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,495
    Program website, Foundations of Javascript Development PM at SnapIT Solutions
    More details about Foundations of Javascript Development PM at SnapIT Solutions
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $350
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,495
    Program website, Foundations of Javascript Development PM at SnapIT Solutions
  • Software testing and QA courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Foundations of Quality Assurance Testing

    SnapIT Solutions

    Based in Overland Park, KS

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SnapIT Solutions, based in Overland Park, KSSoftware testing and QA courseOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,495
    Program website, Foundations of Quality Assurance Testing at SnapIT Solutions
    More details about Foundations of Quality Assurance Testing at SnapIT Solutions
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $350
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,495
    Program website, Foundations of Quality Assurance Testing at SnapIT Solutions
  • Software testing and QA courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Foundations of Quality Assurance Testing PM

    SnapIT Solutions

    Based in Overland Park, KS

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SnapIT Solutions, based in Overland Park, KSSoftware testing and QA courseOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,495
    Program website, Foundations of Quality Assurance Testing PM at SnapIT Solutions
    More details about Foundations of Quality Assurance Testing PM at SnapIT Solutions
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $350
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,495
    Program website, Foundations of Quality Assurance Testing PM at SnapIT Solutions
  • Programming language or developer tool courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Foundations of Ruby & Ruby On Rails

    SnapIT Solutions

    Based in Overland Park, KS

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SnapIT Solutions, based in Overland Park, KSProgramming language or developer tool courseOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,495
    Program website, Foundations of Ruby & Ruby On Rails at SnapIT Solutions
    More details about Foundations of Ruby & Ruby On Rails at SnapIT Solutions
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $350
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,495
    Program website, Foundations of Ruby & Ruby On Rails at SnapIT Solutions
  • Programming language or developer tool courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Foundations of C# Development

    SnapIT Solutions

    Overland Park

    High school diploma or equivalent

    SnapIT Solutions, Overland ParkProgramming language or developer tool courseIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,770
    Program website, Foundations of C# Development at SnapIT Solutions
    More details about Foundations of C# Development at SnapIT Solutions
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $400
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,770
    Program website, Foundations of C# Development at SnapIT Solutions
  • Programming or software development (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Computer Program Design -Associate Degree

    Flint Hills Technical College

    Emporia

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Flint Hills Technical College, EmporiaProgramming or software development (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$14,355
    More details about Computer Program Design -Associate Degree at Flint Hills Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $1,655
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $14,355

How to pay for coding and software development courses in Kansas

WIOA funding can pay for coding and software development courses in Kansas

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for coding and software development courses

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for coding and software development courses

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Coding and software development courses in Kansas

programs with a price cost under $5,000
5 of 19
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
11th of 32
coding and software programs here, against the typical state's 12
19 vs 12

State comparisons use the same figures as the coding and software development courses by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Coding and software development courses in Kansas City, Wichita, Philadelphia and other Kansas cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 10 programs are online.

Other training in Kansas

How coding and software development courses compare with the rest of computers and IT: IT certification programs in Kansas

Where the Kansas software development program numbers come from

Which Kansas software development programs are on this list?

These are the software development programs Kansas approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Kansas offers.

How the prices and results of Kansas software development programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about coding and software development courses in Kansas

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Computer Programmers
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List