Auto mechanic classes in Utah
11 auto mechanic programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
11 schools offer these automotive programs, and Utah has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Automotive service technicians and mechanics inspect, maintain and repair cars and light trucks. Most complete a program in automotive service technology that leads to a certificate or an associate's degree, and employers may require or prefer certification.1 Federal rules require anyone paid to repair or service a car's air conditioning to be trained and certified by an EPA-approved program, which ends with a test.2
In Utah, 4 of the 11 programs take students without a high school diploma, 5 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 2 ask for earlier courses first.
By kind, the 11 programs here are automotive technician (6 programs), automotive technician (associate degree, 4 programs) and maintenance and light repair (1 program).
See the 11 programsHow much do auto mechanic classes cost in Utah?
$2,361 to $7,552 is what most auto mechanic programs in Utah cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 11 programs with a price. All of them: $1,530 to $14,108
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 31%
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- Utah's rates sit far below every other state's
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $23,800
- Length
- 36 to 59 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Utah may also offer auto mechanic classes. How these figures are made
All 11 auto mechanic programs in Utah approved for WIOA funding
Filters
11 programs
Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician
Mountainland Technical College, All Locations
Lehi
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$23,400Price if you pay yourself$6,3447 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician at Mountainland Technical College, All LocationsMore details about Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician at Mountainland Technical College, All Locations
- Finished
- 24%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,838
- Length
- 58 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $46
- Students counted
- 288
- Earned a year, estimated
- $23,400
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,344
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 7
Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician
Davis Technical College, All Locations
Kaysville
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$23,800Price if you pay yourself$1,953School website, Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician at Davis Technical College, All LocationsMore details about Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician at Davis Technical College, All Locations
- Finished
- 30%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,952
- Length
- 43 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $528
- Students counted
- 253
- Earned a year, estimated
- $23,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,953
Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician
Ogden Weber Technical College, Ogden
Ogden
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,7703 students trained with WIOA funding
School website, Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician at Ogden Weber Technical College, OgdenMore details about Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician at Ogden Weber Technical College, Ogden
- Finished
- 29%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $379
- Students counted
- 224
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,770
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 3
Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician
Utah Valley University, All Locations
Orem
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$59,200Price if you pay yourself$14,108School website, Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician at Utah Valley University, All LocationsMore details about Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician at Utah Valley University, All Locations
- Finished
- 32%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $14,809
- Length
- 60 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,000
- Students counted
- 157
- Earned a year, estimated
- $59,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $14,108
Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician
Southwest Technical College, All Locations
Cedar City
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$13,500Price if you pay yourself$4,597Program website, Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician at Southwest Technical College, All LocationsMore details about Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician at Southwest Technical College, All Locations
- Finished
- 21%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $3,378
- Length
- 92 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $200
- Students counted
- 71
- Earned a year, estimated
- $13,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,597
Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician
Dixie Technical College, St George Campus
St. George
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$37,400Price if you pay yourself$5,609School website, Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician at Dixie Technical College, St George CampusMore details about Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician at Dixie Technical College, St George Campus
- Finished
- 90%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,340
- Length
- 48 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,134
- Students counted
- 61
- Earned a year, estimated
- $37,400
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,609
Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician
Bridgerland Technical College, All Locations
Logan
Accredited school
Prerequisite courses
Earned a year, estimated$42,000Price if you pay yourself$1,685School website, Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician at Bridgerland Technical College, All LocationsMore details about Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician at Bridgerland Technical College, All Locations
- Finished
- 72%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,496
- Length
- 26 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,126
- Students counted
- 46
- Earned a year, estimated
- $42,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,685
Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician
Snow College, All Locations
Ephraim
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$21,200Price if you pay yourself$8,760School website, Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician at Snow College, All LocationsMore details about Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician at Snow College, All Locations
- Finished
- 56%
- Working at 6 months
- Left out
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,288
- Length
- 64 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $800
- Students counted
- 16
- Earned a year, estimated
- $21,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,760
Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician
Utah State University, All Locations
Logan
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,590Program website, Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician at Utah State University, All LocationsMore details about Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician at Utah State University, All Locations
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 55 weeks, 17 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $875
- Students counted
- 17
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,590
Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician
Uintah Basin Technical College, All Locations
Roosevelt
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,530Program website, Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician at Uintah Basin Technical College, All LocationsMore details about Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician at Uintah Basin Technical College, All Locations
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $189
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,530
Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician
Salt Lake Community College, All Locations
Salt Lake City
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$9,323Program website, Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician at Salt Lake Community College, All LocationsMore details about Automobile Automotive Mechanics Technology Technician at Salt Lake Community College, All Locations
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 56 weeks, 33 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $334
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,323
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for auto mechanic classes in Utah
WIOA funding can pay for auto mechanic classes in Utah
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for auto mechanic classes
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78
GI Bill for auto mechanic classes
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Auto mechanic classes in Utah
- programs with a price cost under $2,000
- 3 of 11
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 14th of 34
- other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
- 1 of 22
- auto mechanic programs here, against the typical state's 10
- 11 vs 10
State comparisons use the same figures as the auto mechanic classes by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Auto mechanic classes in Provo, Ogden, Logan and other Utah cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above. 2 in smaller cities and towns.
Other training in Utah
How auto mechanic classes compare with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in Utah
- CDL training20 programs
- CNA classes15 programs
- Medical assistant training13 programs
- Phlebotomy training11 programs
- Welding classes11 programs
- HVAC training6 programs
- Medical billing and coding training7 programs
- LPN programs10 programs
- EMT classes17 programs
- Electrician training8 programs
- Dental assistant programs9 programs
- Pharmacy technician training11 programs
- Plumbing school7 programs
- CNC machinist training9 programs
- Carpentry classes3 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training3 programs
- Diesel mechanic training11 programs
- Cybersecurity training4 programs
- IT training33 programs
- Cosmetology school6 programs
- Barber school3 programs
- Esthetician school3 programs
- Nail tech school4 programs
- Massage therapy school2 programs
- Paralegal programs4 programs
- Fire academy3 programs
- Police academy5 programs
- Surgical tech programs6 programs
- Radiology tech programs3 programs
- Culinary school11 programs
- PTA programs3 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training6 programs
- Human resources training3 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training9 programs
- Early childhood education programs5 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school1 program
- Supply chain and logistics training1 program
- Hospitality management programs1 program
- Addiction counselor training1 program
- Coding and software development courses13 programs
- Lineman school1 program
- Sterile processing technician training2 programs
- Sonography school1 program
- Data analytics courses3 programs
- Administrative assistant training9 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs3 programs
- Medical lab technician programs5 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses9 programs
- Digital marketing courses2 programs
- Web and graphic design courses15 programs
- Health information technology programs5 programs
- Vet tech programs3 programs
- Real estate school2 programs
- OTA programs2 programs
- Interpreter and translator training1 program
- Home inspector training1 program
- Personal trainer certification2 programs
- Healthcare administration programs1 program
- Customer service training2 programs
- Flight school1 program
- Manufacturing technician training3 programs
- Electronics technician training3 programs
- Business administration programs8 programs
- Criminal justice programs2 programs
- Teacher assistant certification1 program
- Auto body repair classes3 programs
- Solar and wind technician training1 program
- Construction training programs9 programs
- Dental hygiene programs3 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes5 programs
- RN programs8 programs
- Project management certification6 programs
Where the Utah automotive program numbers come from
Which Utah automotive programs are on this list?
These are the automotive programs Utah approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Utah offers.
How the prices and results of Utah automotive programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
How reliable are the Utah figures?
We leave out the share working 6 months later for Utah: its rates sit far below every other state's.
Sources for the facts about auto mechanic classes in Utah
Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Automotive Service Technicians and Mechanics
- US Environmental Protection Agency: Section 609 Technician Training and Certification Programs
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List