Nursing and patient care programs in Virginia
170 nursing and patient care programs in 6 fields of nursing and patient care, with costs, results and funding that can make them free
84 schools offer these programs, and Virginia has approved every one for workforce funding. Compare the 6 fields below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.
These programs train you to care for patients directly: in a hospital, a nursing home or their own home. They run from short courses for nursing assistants (CNA), patient care technicians, home health aides and medication aides to LPN programs and RN degrees.
All job training programs in Virginia, every line of work
Accredited nursing schools in Virginia, each school with its accreditor
Nursing and patient care programs by state, to compare Virginia with other states
Compare nursing and patient care programs in Virginia: cost, pay and results
CNA classes (nursing assistant)
66 programs at 60 schools
- Most cost
- $898 to $1,772
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $26,700
- Working 6 months later
- 75%
- Finished
- 91%
LPN programs (licensed practical nurse)
35 programs at 35 schools
- Most cost
- $4,016 to $12,281
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $36,700
- Working 6 months later
- 89%
- Finished
- 82%
Medication aide training
29 programs at 28 schools
- Most cost
- $600 to $1,070
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $31,000
- Working 6 months later
- 88%
- Finished
- 92%
RN programs (registered nurse)
20 programs at 19 schools
- Most cost
- $10,442 to $34,271
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $65,900
- Working 6 months later
- 83%
- Finished
- 91%
Home health aide training
11 programs at 11 schools
- Most cost
- $276 to $419
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not enough data
Patient care technician training (hospital patient care)
9 programs at 8 schools
- Most cost
- $3,150 to $4,260
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Each figure is the middle program of that field. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools in Virginia may offer more. How these figures are made
Other job training in Virginia, by line of work
- Trade school programs481
- IT certification programs337
- Medical certification programs239
- Business and office training174
- Transportation and logistics training80
- Allied health programs69
- First responder training56
- Child care and social services training33
- Beauty school33
- Culinary and hospitality programs22
- All job training in Virginia1,694
Programs approved in Virginia in each line of work.
Where the Virginia nursing and patient care numbers come from
Which Virginia programs are counted?
Programs Virginia approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act) in the fields listed above. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).5 They come from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Virginia offers.
What the figures for each field mean
Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).
Sources for the funding facts about nursing and patient care programs in Virginia
Show the 5 sourcesHide the sources
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List