Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Vet tech programs in Massachusetts

2 vet tech and veterinary assistant programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

2 schools offer these vet tech programs, and Massachusetts has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Vet techs do medical tests that help diagnose animals' injuries and illnesses and help veterinarians with exams, care and lab work. Most have a two-year associate degree in veterinary technology, and most states require them to pass an exam. Veterinary assistants handle routine animal care; most learn on the job, and certification is optional.1

In Massachusetts, both programs take students without a high school diploma.

By kind, the 2 programs here are veterinary assistant course (1 program) and vet tech (associate degree, 1 program).

See the 2 programs

How much do vet tech programs cost in Massachusetts?

$1,995

is the price of the one program that lists a price, if you pay yourself

These two programs

Finished the program
Not reported
Neither program reports it
Working 6 months later
Not reported
Neither program reports it
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
Neither program reports it
Length
12 to 90 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Massachusetts may also offer vet tech programs. How these figures are made

Are there free vet tech programs in Massachusetts?

All 2 vet tech and veterinary assistant programs in Massachusetts approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

2 programs

  • Veterinary assistant courseOnlineNo diploma needed

    Veterinary Assistant

    Berkshire Community College

    Based in Pittsfield, MA

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Berkshire Community College, based in Pittsfield, MAVeterinary assistant course · Accredited schoolOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,995
    Program website, Veterinary Assistant at Berkshire Community College
    More details about Veterinary Assistant at Berkshire Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,995
    Program website, Veterinary Assistant at Berkshire Community College
  • Vet tech (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Veterinary Health Care Associate Degree

    Bristol Community College

    Fall River

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Bristol Community College, Fall RiverVet tech (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfLeft out
    Program website, Veterinary Health Care Associate Degree at Bristol Community College
    More details about Veterinary Health Care Associate Degree at Bristol Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    90 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Left out
    Program website, Veterinary Health Care Associate Degree at Bristol Community College

How to pay for vet tech programs in Massachusetts

WIOA funding can pay for vet tech programs in Massachusetts

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for vet tech programs

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for vet tech programs

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Other training in Massachusetts

How vet tech programs compare with the rest of allied health: Allied health programs in Massachusetts

Where the Massachusetts vet tech program numbers come from

Which Massachusetts vet tech programs are on this list?

These are the vet tech programs Massachusetts approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Massachusetts offers.

How the prices and results of Massachusetts vet tech programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about vet tech programs in Massachusetts

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Veterinary Technologists and Technicians
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List