Barber school in Massachusetts
3 barber programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
3 schools offer these barber programs, and Massachusetts has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Barbers shampoo, cut and style hair, mostly for men. Every state requires barbers to be licensed: you finish a state-approved program and then pass a state licensing exam.1 In Massachusetts, all 3 programs take students without a high school diploma.
See the 3 programsHow much does barber school cost in Massachusetts?
$7,900 to $16,500
is what the 3 programs with a price cost if you pay yourself
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Length
- Not enough data
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Massachusetts may also offer barber school. How these figures are made
All 3 barber programs in Massachusetts approved for WIOA funding
Filters
3 programs
Barber Styling
New England Hair Academy, Inc.
Malden
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$30,400Price if you pay yourself$16,500School website, Barber Styling at New England Hair Academy, Inc.More details about Barber Styling at New England Hair Academy, Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- 17%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,595
- Length
- 29 weeks, 35 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,300
- Students counted
- 53
- a year, estimated
- $30,400
- price
- $16,500
Barber Styling
Massachusetts School of Barbering, Inc.
Quincy
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$16,500Program website, Barber Styling at Massachusetts School of Barbering, Inc.More details about Barber Styling at Massachusetts School of Barbering, Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 29 weeks, 35 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,300
- Students counted
- 31
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $16,500
Barbering
Creative School of Hairdressing, Inc.
Enfield, CT
No diploma needed
Classes are outside Massachusetts; Massachusetts approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$7,900Program website, Barbering at Creative School of Hairdressing, Inc.More details about Barbering at Creative School of Hairdressing, Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 50 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $7,900
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for barber school in Massachusetts
WIOA funding can pay for barber school in Massachusetts
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Financial aid and grants for barber school
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for barber school
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Where the Massachusetts barber program numbers come from
Which Massachusetts barber programs are on this list?
These are the barber programs Massachusetts approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Massachusetts offers.
How the prices and results of Massachusetts barber programs are measured
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Results describe students who left the program in recent years, and the yearly earnings figure is the reported quarter times four, an estimate. They describe past students, so they are no guarantee. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported". Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Other training in Massachusetts
- CDL training43 programs
- CNA classes32 programs
- Medical assistant training41 programs
- Phlebotomy training15 programs
- Welding classes5 programs
- HVAC training18 programs
- LPN programs13 programs
- Electrician training5 programs
- Dental assistant programs14 programs
- Auto mechanic classes5 programs
- Pharmacy technician training5 programs
- Plumbing school1 program
- CNC machinist training7 programs
- Carpentry classes1 program
- Heavy equipment operator training4 programs
- Cybersecurity training13 programs
- IT training22 programs
- Cosmetology school7 programs
- Nail tech school2 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes33 programs
Sources for the facts about barber school in Massachusetts
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Barbers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List