HVAC training in Massachusetts
18 HVAC training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
9 schools offer these HVAC programs, and Massachusetts has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
HVAC technicians work on heating, ventilation, cooling and refrigeration systems. Most train in a certificate program, which usually includes the EPA refrigerant exam that nearly all technicians must pass, and some states also require a license.1 In Massachusetts, 18 of the 18 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 3 are taught partly or fully online.
See the 18 programsHow much does HVAC training cost in Massachusetts?
$6,941 to $18,998
is what most programs cost if you pay yourself
All 18 programs with a price: $2,895 to $30,848
- Finished the program
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Length
- 15 to 39 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). How these figures are made
HVAC training in Boston, Providence, Worcester and other Massachusetts cities
Choosing an area filters the list below. 3 in smaller cities and towns and 3 online.
All 18 HVAC training programs in Massachusetts approved for funding
Filters
18 programs
HVACR Technician
MotoRing Technical Training Institute, Seekonk
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$46,300Price if you pay yourself$19,600Program website, HVACR Technician at MotoRing Technical Training InstituteMore details about HVACR Technician at MotoRing Technical Training Institute
- Finished
- 92%
- Working at 6 months
- 63%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,572
- Length
- 30 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $150
- Students counted
- 106
- a year, estimated
- $46,300
- price
- $19,600
HVAC/R Technician (Voucher Included)
Berkshire Community College, Online, based in Pittsfield, MA
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,895Program website, HVAC/R Technician (Voucher Included) at Berkshire Community CollegeMore details about HVAC/R Technician (Voucher Included) at Berkshire Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,895
HVAC/R Technician (Voucher Included)
Worcester State University, Online, based in Worcester, MA
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,502Program website, HVAC/R Technician (Voucher Included) at Worcester State UniversityMore details about HVAC/R Technician (Voucher Included) at Worcester State University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 17 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,502
HVAC/R Technician (Voucher and Tools Included)
Worcester State University, Online, based in Worcester, MA
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,317Program website, HVAC/R Technician (Voucher and Tools Included) at Worcester State UniversityMore details about HVAC/R Technician (Voucher and Tools Included) at Worcester State University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 17 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $5,317
HVAC Night Class
New England Institute of HVAC, Lowell
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,975Program website, HVAC Night Class at New England Institute of HVACMore details about HVAC Night Class at New England Institute of HVAC
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 13 weeks, 9 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $5,975
HVACR 101 (HVACR Technician Program)
Technology Learning Center Inc., Oxford
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,930Program website, HVACR 101 (HVACR Technician Program) at Technology Learning Center Inc.More details about HVACR 101 (HVACR Technician Program) at Technology Learning Center Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 17 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,555
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $6,930
HVAC Day Class Full Time
New England Institute of HVAC, Lowell
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,975Program website, HVAC Day Class Full Time at New England Institute of HVACMore details about HVAC Day Class Full Time at New England Institute of HVAC
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 13 weeks, 21 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $6,975
Heating/Ventilation/Air Conditioning Certificate
Springfield Technical Community College, Springfield
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$7,089Program website, Heating/Ventilation/Air Conditioning Certificate at Springfield Technical Community CollegeMore details about Heating/Ventilation/Air Conditioning Certificate at Springfield Technical Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $5,013
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $7,089
Hvac,Oil Burner, Basic Electricity-Three Combo "B"
Vocational Careers Corp. d/b/a ThePeterson School, Woburn
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$7,220Program website, Hvac,Oil Burner, Basic Electricity-Three Combo "B" at Vocational Careers Corp. d/b/a ThePeterson SchoolMore details about Hvac,Oil Burner, Basic Electricity-Three Combo "B" at Vocational Careers Corp. d/b/a ThePeterson School
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 15 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $875
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $7,220
3 Combo (Hvacr Refrigeration, Oil+Gas Heat
Vocational Careers Corp. d/b/a ThePeterson School, Woburn
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$7,800Program website, 3 Combo (Hvacr Refrigeration, Oil+Gas Heat at Vocational Careers Corp. d/b/a ThePeterson SchoolMore details about 3 Combo (Hvacr Refrigeration, Oil+Gas Heat at Vocational Careers Corp. d/b/a ThePeterson School
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 15 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $825
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $7,800
3 Combo(Hvacr Refrigeration, Oil+Gas Heat
Vocational Careers Corp. d/b/a ThePeterson School, Woburn
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$7,800Program website, 3 Combo(Hvacr Refrigeration, Oil+Gas Heat at Vocational Careers Corp. d/b/a ThePeterson SchoolMore details about 3 Combo(Hvacr Refrigeration, Oil+Gas Heat at Vocational Careers Corp. d/b/a ThePeterson School
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 15 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $825
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $7,800
Three Combo Program - HVAC Prep, Oil Burner Technician, Basic Electricity
Vocational Careers Corp. d/b/a ThePeterson School, Woburn
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$8,200Program website, Three Combo Program - HVAC Prep, Oil Burner Technician, Basic Electricity at Vocational Careers Corp. d/b/a ThePeterson SchoolMore details about Three Combo Program - HVAC Prep, Oil Burner Technician, Basic Electricity at Vocational Careers Corp. d/b/a ThePeterson School
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 15 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,125
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $8,200
Three Combo; HVAC Refrigeration, Oil Heat, Basic Electricity
Vocational Careers Corp. d/b/a ThePeterson School, Woburn
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$8,200Program website, Three Combo; HVAC Refrigeration, Oil Heat, Basic Electricity at Vocational Careers Corp. d/b/a ThePeterson SchoolMore details about Three Combo; HVAC Refrigeration, Oil Heat, Basic Electricity at Vocational Careers Corp. d/b/a ThePeterson School
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 15 weeks, 22 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,125
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $8,200
HVACR 103( HVACR &Facility Maintenance Program)
Technology Learning Center Inc., Oxford
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$17,190Program website, HVACR 103( HVACR &Facility Maintenance Program) at Technology Learning Center Inc.More details about HVACR 103( HVACR &Facility Maintenance Program) at Technology Learning Center Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 41 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,110
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $17,190
NETTTS HVAC-R Technical Training
New England Tractor Trailer Training School, Pawtucket, RI
No diploma needed
Classes are outside Massachusetts; Massachusetts approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$23,595Program website, NETTTS HVAC-R Technical Training at New England Tractor Trailer Training SchoolMore details about NETTTS HVAC-R Technical Training at New England Tractor Trailer Training School
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $23,595
Career Heating Ventilation Air Conditioning and Refrigeration
Porter and Chester Institute, Rocky Hill, CT
No diploma needed
Classes are outside Massachusetts; Massachusetts approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$27,595School website, Career Heating Ventilation Air Conditioning and Refrigeration at Porter and Chester InstituteMore details about Career Heating Ventilation Air Conditioning and Refrigeration at Porter and Chester Institute
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 48 weeks, 27 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $27,595
Career HVACR
Porter and Chester Institute, Rocky Hill, CT
No diploma needed
Classes are outside Massachusetts; Massachusetts approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$30,848Program website, Career HVACR at Porter and Chester InstituteMore details about Career HVACR at Porter and Chester Institute
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 50 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $30,848
Hvacr
Porter and Chester Institute, Rocky Hill, CT
No diploma needed
Classes are outside Massachusetts; Massachusetts approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$30,848Program website, Hvacr at Porter and Chester InstituteMore details about Hvacr at Porter and Chester Institute
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 50 weeks, 24 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- Not reported
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $30,848
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for HVAC training in Massachusetts
Workforce funding can pay for HVAC training in Massachusetts
Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4
Financial aid and grants for HVAC training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56
GI Bill for HVAC training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Where the Massachusetts HVAC program numbers come from
Which Massachusetts HVAC programs are on this list?
These are the HVAC programs Massachusetts approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Massachusetts offers.
How Massachusetts HVAC program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some HVAC programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Sources for the facts about HVAC training in Massachusetts
Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs