Project management certification in Maryland
18 project management programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
11 schools offer these project management programs, and Maryland has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Project management specialists coordinate a project's budget, schedule and other details. Most have a bachelor's degree, some jobs ask for work experience, and professional certification, though not always required, shows employers what you can do.1 In Maryland, 2 of the 18 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 16 are taught partly or fully online.
See the 18 programsHow much does project management certification cost in Maryland?
$2,499 to $3,450 is what most project management programs in Maryland cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 18 programs with a price. All of them: $1,995 to $6,500
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 98%
- Working 6 months later
- 50%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $68,100
- Length
- 4 to 12 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Maryland may also offer project management certification. How these figures are made
Project management certification in Washington, Baltimore and other Maryland cities
Choosing an area filters the list below. 13 programs are online.
All 18 project management programs in Maryland approved for WIOA funding
Filters
18 programs
Project Management Professional (PMP) Exam Prep (35 Clock Hours)
UMBC Training Center
Based in Columbia, MD
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$68,100Price if you pay yourself$2,79535 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Project Management Professional (PMP) Exam Prep (35 Clock Hours) at UMBC Training CenterMore details about Project Management Professional (PMP) Exam Prep (35 Clock Hours) at UMBC Training Center
- Finished
- 98%
- Working at 6 months
- 45%
- Earned in a quarter
- $17,021
- Length
- 5 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 207
- a year, estimated
- $68,100
- price
- $2,795
- trained with WIOA funding
- 35
Project Management Professional (PMP) Exam Prep (48 clock hours)
Prince George's Community College
Based in Largo, MD
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$83,200Price if you pay yourself$2,79513 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Project Management Professional (PMP) Exam Prep (48 clock hours) at Prince George's Community CollegeMore details about Project Management Professional (PMP) Exam Prep (48 clock hours) at Prince George's Community College
- Finished
- 59%
- Working at 6 months
- 68%
- Earned in a quarter
- $20,791
- Length
- 10 weeks, 5 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $25
- Students counted
- 204
- a year, estimated
- $83,200
- price
- $2,795
- trained with WIOA funding
- 13
PM-6100 Project Management Essentials (CAPM)
Medcerts, LLC
Based in Livonia, MI
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$92,700Price if you pay yourself$2,5005 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, PM-6100 Project Management Essentials (CAPM) at Medcerts, LLCMore details about PM-6100 Project Management Essentials (CAPM) at Medcerts, LLC
- Finished
- 97%
- Working at 6 months
- 50%
- Earned in a quarter
- $23,167
- Length
- 9 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 201
- a year, estimated
- $92,700
- price
- $2,500
- trained with WIOA funding
- 5
Project Mgmt. Professional Certification Prep-Classrm (36 Clock Hours)
Towson University
Towson
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$76,800Price if you pay yourself$2,89917 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Project Mgmt. Professional Certification Prep-Classrm (36 Clock Hours) at Towson UniversityMore details about Project Mgmt. Professional Certification Prep-Classrm (36 Clock Hours) at Towson University
- Finished
- 98%
- Working at 6 months
- 18%
- Earned in a quarter
- $19,208
- Length
- 6 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 123
- a year, estimated
- $76,800
- price
- $2,899
- trained with WIOA funding
- 17
Project Management Fundamentals (77 clock hours)
UMBC Training Center
Based in Columbia, MD
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$46,900Price if you pay yourself$3,69521 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Project Management Fundamentals (77 clock hours) at UMBC Training CenterMore details about Project Management Fundamentals (77 clock hours) at UMBC Training Center
- Finished
- 98%
- Working at 6 months
- 59%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,722
- Length
- 12 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 75
- a year, estimated
- $46,900
- price
- $3,695
- trained with WIOA funding
- 21
PMP and CAPM Certification Exam Prep (42 clock hours)
Howard Community College
Based in Columbia, MD
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$80,600Price if you pay yourself$2,600Program website, PMP and CAPM Certification Exam Prep (42 clock hours) at Howard Community CollegeMore details about PMP and CAPM Certification Exam Prep (42 clock hours) at Howard Community College
- Finished
- 93%
- Working at 6 months
- 55%
- Earned in a quarter
- $20,160
- Length
- 7 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 74
- a year, estimated
- $80,600
- price
- $2,600
Project Mgmt Professional (PMP) Exam Prep-Online (150 Clock Hours)
Towson University
Based in Towson, MD
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$61,600Price if you pay yourself$2,79923 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Project Mgmt Professional (PMP) Exam Prep-Online (150 Clock Hours) at Towson UniversityMore details about Project Mgmt Professional (PMP) Exam Prep-Online (150 Clock Hours) at Towson University
- Finished
- 86%
- Working at 6 months
- 48%
- Earned in a quarter
- $15,408
- Length
- 8 weeks, 18 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 72
- a year, estimated
- $61,600
- price
- $2,799
- trained with WIOA funding
- 23
Certified Associate in Project Mgmt. Exam Prep. (222 clock hours)
Kinetic Potential
Largo
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$51,700Price if you pay yourself$6,500Program website, Certified Associate in Project Mgmt. Exam Prep. (222 clock hours) at Kinetic PotentialMore details about Certified Associate in Project Mgmt. Exam Prep. (222 clock hours) at Kinetic Potential
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 35%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,933
- Length
- 12 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,500
- Students counted
- 21
- a year, estimated
- $51,700
- price
- $6,500
Professional Scrum Master (16 clock hours)
Ey3 Technologies
Based in Upper Marlboro, MD
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,300Program website, Professional Scrum Master (16 clock hours) at Ey3 TechnologiesMore details about Professional Scrum Master (16 clock hours) at Ey3 Technologies
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $700
- Students counted
- 17
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,300
Project Management-PMP Exam Prep. (220 clock hours)
Kinetic Potential
Largo
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$50,100Price if you pay yourself$4,0009 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Project Management-PMP Exam Prep. (220 clock hours) at Kinetic PotentialMore details about Project Management-PMP Exam Prep. (220 clock hours) at Kinetic Potential
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 89%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,522
- Length
- 12 weeks, 18 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 12
- a year, estimated
- $50,100
- price
- $4,000
- trained with WIOA funding
- 9
Project Management: PMP Prep (38 Clock Hours)
Harford Community College
Based in Bel Air, MD
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,995Program website, Project Management: PMP Prep (38 Clock Hours) at Harford Community CollegeMore details about Project Management: PMP Prep (38 Clock Hours) at Harford Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 1 week, 38 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,995
Microsoft Project 2016 or 2019 Exam Prep (40 Clock Hours)
Towson University
Based in Towson, MD
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,999Program website, Microsoft Project 2016 or 2019 Exam Prep (40 Clock Hours) at Towson UniversityMore details about Microsoft Project 2016 or 2019 Exam Prep (40 Clock Hours) at Towson University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 24 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $7,496
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,999
Certified Associate in Project Mgmt-CAPM Exam Prep (35 clock hours)
Prince George's Community College
Largo
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,199Program website, Certified Associate in Project Mgmt-CAPM Exam Prep (35 clock hours) at Prince George's Community CollegeMore details about Certified Associate in Project Mgmt-CAPM Exam Prep (35 clock hours) at Prince George's Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 9 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $549
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,199
Certified Associate in Project Management Prep (35 clock hours)
Towson University
Based in Towson, MD
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,399Program website, Certified Associate in Project Management Prep (35 clock hours) at Towson UniversityMore details about Certified Associate in Project Management Prep (35 clock hours) at Towson University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 5 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,399
Lean Six Sigma Black Belt Exam Prep. (125 clock hours)
Towson University
Based in Towson, MD
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,499Program website, Lean Six Sigma Black Belt Exam Prep. (125 clock hours) at Towson UniversityMore details about Lean Six Sigma Black Belt Exam Prep. (125 clock hours) at Towson University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 26 weeks, 3 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,499
Project Management Professional Program-PMP (39 clock hours)
Virginia Career Solutions
Based in Richmond, VA
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,000Program website, Project Management Professional Program-PMP (39 clock hours) at Virginia Career SolutionsMore details about Project Management Professional Program-PMP (39 clock hours) at Virginia Career Solutions
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 2 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $620
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,000
Project Management (38 clock hours)
Gener8tor Management, LLC
Based in Madison, WI
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,500Program website, Project Management (38 clock hours) at Gener8tor Management, LLCMore details about Project Management (38 clock hours) at Gener8tor Management, LLC
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 6 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,500
Project Management Professional Exam Prep (50 clock hours)
Women of Valor, Inc.
Catonsville
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,700Program website, Project Management Professional Exam Prep (50 clock hours) at Women of Valor, Inc.More details about Project Management Professional Exam Prep (50 clock hours) at Women of Valor, Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 2 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,300
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,700
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for project management certification in Maryland
WIOA funding can pay for project management certification in Maryland
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Financial aid and grants for project management certification
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for project management certification
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Quick facts: Project management certification in Maryland
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 13th of 24
- project management programs here, against the typical state's 8
- 18 vs 8
State comparisons use the same figures as the project management certification by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Where the Maryland project management program numbers come from
Which Maryland project management programs are on this list?
These are the project management programs Maryland approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Maryland offers.
How Maryland project management program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some project management programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Other training in Maryland
- CDL training35 programs
- CNA classes32 programs
- Medical assistant training19 programs
- Phlebotomy training11 programs
- Welding classes15 programs
- HVAC training8 programs
- Medical billing and coding training21 programs
- LPN programs7 programs
- EMT classes8 programs
- Dental assistant programs15 programs
- Auto mechanic classes9 programs
- Pharmacy technician training18 programs
- CNC machinist training5 programs
- Carpentry classes2 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training1 program
- Diesel mechanic training4 programs
- Cybersecurity training72 programs
- IT training53 programs
Sources for the facts about project management certification in Maryland
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Project Management Specialists
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220 and 680.310: career services before training, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List