Pharmacy technician training in Maryland
18 pharmacy technician programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
17 schools offer these pharmacy technician programs, and Maryland has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Pharmacy technicians help pharmacists dispense medications, manage stock and serve customers. Many programs award a certificate after a year or less, most states regulate the work in some way, and some states and employers require certification.1 In Maryland, 2 of the 18 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 8 are taught partly or fully online.
See the 18 programsHow much does pharmacy technician training cost in Maryland?
$1,750 to $4,000 is what most pharmacy technician programs in Maryland cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 18 programs with a price. All of them: $1,290 to $16,035
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 63%
- Working 6 months later
- 72%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $23,000
- Length
- 14 to 30 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Maryland may also offer pharmacy technician training. How these figures are made
Pharmacy technician training in Baltimore, Washington, Cumberland and other Maryland cities
Choosing an area filters the list below. 7 programs are online.
All 18 pharmacy technician programs in Maryland approved for WIOA funding
Filters
18 programs
RX-3000: Pharmacy Technician Professional (464 clock hours)
Medcerts, LLC
Based in Livonia, MI
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$34,600Price if you pay yourself$4,000Program website, RX-3000: Pharmacy Technician Professional (464 clock hours) at Medcerts, LLCMore details about RX-3000: Pharmacy Technician Professional (464 clock hours) at Medcerts, LLC
- Finished
- 72%
- Working at 6 months
- 50%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,640
- Length
- 25 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 337
- a year, estimated
- $34,600
- price
- $4,000
HI-2000 Medication Care Coordinator (384 clock hours)
Medcerts, LLC
Based in Livonia, MI
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$23,600Price if you pay yourself$4,0004 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, HI-2000 Medication Care Coordinator (384 clock hours) at Medcerts, LLCMore details about HI-2000 Medication Care Coordinator (384 clock hours) at Medcerts, LLC
- Finished
- 70%
- Working at 6 months
- 61%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,891
- Length
- 24 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 182
- a year, estimated
- $23,600
- price
- $4,000
- trained with WIOA funding
- 4
Pharmacy Technician (135 clock hours)
Community College Of Baltimore County
Baltimore
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$23,000Price if you pay yourself$2,5544 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Pharmacy Technician (135 clock hours) at Community College Of Baltimore CountyMore details about Pharmacy Technician (135 clock hours) at Community College Of Baltimore County
- Finished
- 66%
- Working at 6 months
- 59%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,745
- Length
- 16 weeks, 9 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,683
- Students counted
- 174
- a year, estimated
- $23,000
- price
- $2,554
- trained with WIOA funding
- 4
Pharmacy Technician (278 Clock Hours)
Baltimore City Community College
Baltimore
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$22,000Price if you pay yourself$1,7507 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Pharmacy Technician (278 Clock Hours) at Baltimore City Community CollegeMore details about Pharmacy Technician (278 Clock Hours) at Baltimore City Community College
- Finished
- 64%
- Working at 6 months
- 72%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,507
- Length
- 32 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 142
- a year, estimated
- $22,000
- price
- $1,750
- trained with WIOA funding
- 7
Pharmacy Tech Online (50 clock hours)
AlliedRx Institute of Healthcare
Based in Henrico, VA
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$25,200Price if you pay yourself$1,450Program website, Pharmacy Tech Online (50 clock hours) at AlliedRx Institute of HealthcareMore details about Pharmacy Tech Online (50 clock hours) at AlliedRx Institute of Healthcare
- Finished
- 96%
- Working at 6 months
- 74%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,292
- Length
- 14 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $130
- Students counted
- 102
- a year, estimated
- $25,200
- price
- $1,450
Pharmacy Technician (53 Credit Hours)
Fortis College
Landover
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$19,800Price if you pay yourself$14,843Program website, Pharmacy Technician (53 Credit Hours) at Fortis CollegeMore details about Pharmacy Technician (53 Credit Hours) at Fortis College
- Finished
- 47%
- Working at 6 months
- 66%
- Earned in a quarter
- $4,962
- Length
- 36 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $993
- Students counted
- 90
- a year, estimated
- $19,800
- price
- $14,843
Pharmacy Technology (760 Clock Hours)
All-State Career, Inc.
Baltimore
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$18,200Price if you pay yourself$14,445Program website, Pharmacy Technology (760 Clock Hours) at All-State Career, Inc.More details about Pharmacy Technology (760 Clock Hours) at All-State Career, Inc.
- Finished
- 46%
- Working at 6 months
- 79%
- Earned in a quarter
- $4,539
- Length
- 36 weeks, 21 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,478
- Students counted
- 88
- a year, estimated
- $18,200
- price
- $14,445
Pharmacy Technician (760 Clock Hours)
Fortis Institute-Towson
Towson
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$20,900Price if you pay yourself$16,035Program website, Pharmacy Technician (760 Clock Hours) at Fortis Institute-TowsonMore details about Pharmacy Technician (760 Clock Hours) at Fortis Institute-Towson
- Finished
- 43%
- Working at 6 months
- 85%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,236
- Length
- 48 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,112
- Students counted
- 68
- a year, estimated
- $20,900
- price
- $16,035
Pharmacy Technician (16 Credit Hours)
Allegany College Of Maryland
Cumberland
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$22,200Price if you pay yourself$2,112Program website, Pharmacy Technician (16 Credit Hours) at Allegany College Of MarylandMore details about Pharmacy Technician (16 Credit Hours) at Allegany College Of Maryland
- Finished
- 62%
- Working at 6 months
- 77%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,562
- Length
- 16 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $600
- Students counted
- 57
- a year, estimated
- $22,200
- price
- $2,112
Pharmacy Technician Training (105 Clock Hours)
Carroll Community College
Westminster
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$26,600Price if you pay yourself$1,526Program website, Pharmacy Technician Training (105 Clock Hours) at Carroll Community CollegeMore details about Pharmacy Technician Training (105 Clock Hours) at Carroll Community College
- Finished
- 98%
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,661
- Length
- 11 weeks, 10 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $231
- Students counted
- 49
- a year, estimated
- $26,600
- price
- $1,526
Online Pharmacy Technician (400 clock hours)
Towson University
Based in Towson, MD
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,999Program website, Online Pharmacy Technician (400 clock hours) at Towson UniversityMore details about Online Pharmacy Technician (400 clock hours) at Towson University
- Finished
- 60%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 26 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 16
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,999
Pharmacy Technician (340 clock hours)
XL Career School
Silver Spring
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$47,400Price if you pay yourself$1,880Program website, Pharmacy Technician (340 clock hours) at XL Career SchoolMore details about Pharmacy Technician (340 clock hours) at XL Career School
- Finished
- 62%
- Working at 6 months
- 53%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,851
- Length
- 20 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $500
- Students counted
- 13
- a year, estimated
- $47,400
- price
- $1,880
Certified Pharmacy Technician (448 clock hours)
New Destiny Health Career Center
Towson
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,290Program website, Certified Pharmacy Technician (448 clock hours) at New Destiny Health Career CenterMore details about Certified Pharmacy Technician (448 clock hours) at New Destiny Health Career Center
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 15 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $725
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,290
Pharmacy Technician Exam Preparation (50 Clock Hours)
Chesapeake College
Based in Wye Mills, MD
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,299Program website, Pharmacy Technician Exam Preparation (50 Clock Hours) at Chesapeake CollegeMore details about Pharmacy Technician Exam Preparation (50 Clock Hours) at Chesapeake College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 8 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,001
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,299
Pharmacy Technician Training (268 clock hours)
Gandhi Health Care, LLC
Pikesville
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,750Program website, Pharmacy Technician Training (268 clock hours) at Gandhi Health Care, LLCMore details about Pharmacy Technician Training (268 clock hours) at Gandhi Health Care, LLC
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 10 weeks, 27 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $410
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,750
Pharmacy Technician (400 clock hours)
Morgan State University
Based in Baltimore, MD
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,995Program website, Pharmacy Technician (400 clock hours) at Morgan State UniversityMore details about Pharmacy Technician (400 clock hours) at Morgan State University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 2 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,995
Pharmacy Technician Bootcamp (320 clock hours)
QS Academy, Inc.
Based in Austin, TX
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,350School website, Pharmacy Technician Bootcamp (320 clock hours) at QS Academy, Inc.More details about Pharmacy Technician Bootcamp (320 clock hours) at QS Academy, Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,350
Pharmacy Technician Program (240 clock hours)
Time For Change
Washington, DC
High school diploma or equivalent
Classes are outside Maryland; Maryland approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,000School website, Pharmacy Technician Program (240 clock hours) at Time For ChangeMore details about Pharmacy Technician Program (240 clock hours) at Time For Change
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 13 weeks, 18 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $674
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $5,000
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for pharmacy technician training in Maryland
WIOA funding can pay for pharmacy technician training in Maryland
Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.4
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).5
Financial aid and grants for pharmacy technician training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for pharmacy technician training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Does WIOA pay for job training? Who qualifies and how to apply
Quick facts: Pharmacy technician training in Maryland
- programs with a price cost under $2,000
- 7 of 18
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 18th of 40
- other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
- 1 of 18
- pharmacy technician programs here, against the typical state's 10
- 18 vs 10
State comparisons use the same figures as the pharmacy technician training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Where the Maryland pharmacy technician program numbers come from
Which Maryland pharmacy technician programs are on this list?
These are the pharmacy technician programs Maryland approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Maryland offers.
How Maryland pharmacy technician program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. "Trained with WIOA funding" on a program counts the people whose training there WIOA paid toward through a training account in program year 2024; the file never gives counts under 3, so a program without the line may still take WIOA students. It does not say how much of the price WIOA covered. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some pharmacy technician programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Other training in Maryland
- CDL training35 programs
- CNA classes32 programs
- Medical assistant training19 programs
- Phlebotomy training11 programs
- Welding classes15 programs
- HVAC training8 programs
- Medical billing and coding training21 programs
- LPN programs7 programs
- EMT classes8 programs
- Dental assistant programs15 programs
- Auto mechanic classes9 programs
- CNC machinist training5 programs
- Carpentry classes2 programs
Sources for the facts about pharmacy technician training in Maryland
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Pharmacy Technicians
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220 and 680.310: career services before training, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List