Security guard training in Maryland
2 security guard programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
2 schools offer these security guard programs, and Maryland has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Security guards protect property from illegal activity. Most states require a license, which usually means being 18 or older, passing a background check and completing training; most guards learn the job in a few weeks. Armed guards need weapons training and usually a separate license.1
In Maryland, 1 of the 2 programs asks for a high school diploma or equivalent and 1 asks for earlier courses first.
Both are the same kind of program: security guard license course.
See the 2 programsHow much does security guard training cost in Maryland?
$5,350 to $6,287
from the lowest-priced program to the highest, if you pay yourself
These two programs
- Finished the program
- 89%
- Working 6 months later
- 69%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $32,500
- Length
- 6 to 10 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Maryland may also offer security guard training. How these figures are made
All 2 security guard programs in Maryland approved for WIOA funding
Filters
2 programs
Security and Protection Services (90 clock hours)
Goodwill of Greater Washington
Washington, DC
Education and courses
Classes are outside Maryland; Maryland approved the program for its funding.
Earned a year, estimated$32,500Price if you pay yourself$6,287Program website, Security and Protection Services (90 clock hours) at Goodwill of Greater WashingtonMore details about Security and Protection Services (90 clock hours) at Goodwill of Greater Washington
- Finished
- 89%
- Working at 6 months
- 69%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,122
- Length
- 6 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 56
- Earned a year, estimated
- $32,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,287
Security Guard Unarmed (200 clock hours)
Toni Thomas Associates, Inc.
Based in Washington, DC
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,350Program website, Security Guard Unarmed (200 clock hours) at Toni Thomas Associates, Inc.More details about Security Guard Unarmed (200 clock hours) at Toni Thomas Associates, Inc.
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 10 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,350
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for security guard training in Maryland
WIOA funding can pay for security guard training in Maryland
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for security guard training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for security guard training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Other training in Maryland
How security guard training compares with the rest of public safety: First responder training in Maryland
- CDL training35 programs
- CNA classes30 programs
- Medical assistant training21 programs
- Phlebotomy training11 programs
- Welding classes15 programs
- HVAC training8 programs
- Medical billing and coding training24 programs
- LPN programs8 programs
- EMT classes9 programs
- Electrician training3 programs
- Dental assistant programs15 programs
- Auto mechanic classes9 programs
- Pharmacy technician training18 programs
- CNC machinist training6 programs
- Carpentry classes2 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training1 program
- Diesel mechanic training4 programs
- Cybersecurity training74 programs
- IT training78 programs
- Cosmetology school4 programs
- Barber school1 program
- Esthetician school3 programs
- Nail tech school6 programs
- EKG technician programs3 programs
- Massage therapy school2 programs
- Paralegal programs3 programs
- Police academy1 program
- Surgical tech programs5 programs
- Radiology tech programs3 programs
- Culinary school7 programs
- PTA programs3 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training8 programs
- Human resources training4 programs
- Medication aide training1 program
- Industrial maintenance technician training5 programs
- Early childhood education programs7 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school1 program
- Supply chain and logistics training3 programs
- Hospitality management programs9 programs
- Addiction counselor training6 programs
- Community health worker training2 programs
- Coding and software development courses21 programs
- Sterile processing technician training5 programs
- Sonography school1 program
- Data analytics courses18 programs
- Administrative assistant training12 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs3 programs
- Medical lab technician programs1 program
- AutoCAD and drafting courses5 programs
- Digital marketing courses5 programs
- Web and graphic design courses6 programs
- Health information technology programs6 programs
- Vet tech programs5 programs
- Patient care technician training3 programs
- OTA programs1 program
- Forklift certification2 programs
- Personal trainer certification2 programs
- Healthcare administration programs1 program
- Flight school3 programs
- RBT certification training1 program
- Mental health technician training3 programs
- Human services programs4 programs
- Manufacturing technician training2 programs
- Business administration programs8 programs
- Criminal justice programs4 programs
- Sleep technician training1 program
- Solar and wind technician training2 programs
- Optician training1 program
- Construction training programs13 programs
- Dental hygiene programs3 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes9 programs
- RN programs5 programs
- Project management certification28 programs
Where the Maryland security guard program numbers come from
Which Maryland security guard programs are on this list?
These are the security guard programs Maryland approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Maryland offers.
How the prices and results of Maryland security guard programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about security guard training in Maryland
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Security Guards and Gambling Surveillance Officers
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List