Plumbing school in Tennessee
7 plumbing programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
5 schools offer these plumbing programs, and Tennessee has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Plumbers install and repair pipes, fixtures and piping systems. Most learn the trade in a four- or five-year apprenticeship, and most states and some cities require plumbers to be licensed.1
In Tennessee, 5 of the 7 programs take students without a high school diploma, 1 asks for a diploma or equivalent and 1 asks for earlier courses first.
By kind, the 7 programs here are plumbing certificate or diploma (5 programs) and pipefitting (2 programs).
See the 7 programsHow much does plumbing school cost in Tennessee?
$1,952 to $4,132 is what most plumbing programs in Tennessee cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 7 programs with a price. All of them: $1,000 to $4,320
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Not enough data
- 3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- 3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- 3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Length
- 25 to 36 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Tennessee may also offer plumbing school. How these figures are made
All 7 plumbing programs in Tennessee approved for WIOA funding
Filters
7 programs
Pipefitting And Plumbing Technology
Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Knoxville
Knoxville
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$37,800Price if you pay yourself$4,144School website, Pipefitting And Plumbing Technology at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At KnoxvilleMore details about Pipefitting And Plumbing Technology at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Knoxville
- Finished
- 71%
- Working at 6 months
- 86%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,460
- Length
- 30 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,315
- Students counted
- 101
- Earned a year, estimated
- $37,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,144
Pipefitting
Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton
Elizabethton
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$29,800Price if you pay yourself$4,119Program website, Pipefitting at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At ElizabethtonMore details about Pipefitting at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Elizabethton
- Finished
- 99%
- Working at 6 months
- 84%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,461
- Length
- 43 weeks, 31 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,939
- Students counted
- 90
- Earned a year, estimated
- $29,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,119
Pipe Fitting And Plumbing
Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Morristown
Morristown
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$33,500Price if you pay yourself$4,320Program website, Pipe Fitting And Plumbing at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At MorristownMore details about Pipe Fitting And Plumbing at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Morristown
- Finished
- 80%
- Working at 6 months
- 74%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,381
- Length
- 44 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $2,008
- Students counted
- 64
- Earned a year, estimated
- $33,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,320
Plumbing
Gi Apprentice Inc
Memphis
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,000More details about Plumbing at Gi Apprentice Inc
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 24 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $5,350
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,000
Plumbing Bootcamp
Cleveland State Comm College
Cleveland
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,745Program website, Plumbing Bootcamp at Cleveland State Comm CollegeMore details about Plumbing Bootcamp at Cleveland State Comm College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 4 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $505
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,745
Weekend College/Pipefitting
Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Knoxville
Knoxville
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,160Program website, Weekend College/Pipefitting at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At KnoxvilleMore details about Weekend College/Pipefitting at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Knoxville
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 26 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $180
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,160
Plumbing Technical Certificate
Cleveland State Comm College
Cleveland
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,607School website, Plumbing Technical Certificate at Cleveland State Comm CollegeMore details about Plumbing Technical Certificate at Cleveland State Comm College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 30 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $500
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,607
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for plumbing school in Tennessee
WIOA funding can pay for plumbing school in Tennessee
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Paid plumbing apprenticeships
An apprenticeship is a job: you're paid to learn, with a raise as your skills grow, and most include classroom teaching. You apply to the employer or the program sponsor. Ask what you'll pay for the classroom part and what you'll earn on the job.6
Financial aid and grants for plumbing school
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78
GI Bill for plumbing school
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Plumbing school in Tennessee
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 9th of 21
- plumbing programs here, against the typical state's 5
- 7 vs 5
State comparisons use the same figures as the plumbing school by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Plumbing apprenticeships in Tennessee
Most plumbers train in a four- or five-year apprenticeship. Each year usually brings about 2,000 hours of paid work on the job plus classes in safety, local plumbing codes and blueprint reading. Unions, trade associations and businesses run the programs; some people start as helpers or with a pre-apprenticeship course. To work on your own, states and cities often ask for two to five years of experience and a passed exam.1
You apply to the employer or the program sponsor, not through a school.6 The Department of Labor's Apprenticeship Finder lists openings by place and job. None of the plumbing programs on this page is an apprenticeship.
Plumbing school in Knoxville, Cleveland, Johnson City and other Tennessee cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above.
Other training in Tennessee
How plumbing school compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in Tennessee
- CDL training50 programs
- CNA classes28 programs
- Medical assistant training55 programs
- Phlebotomy training25 programs
- Welding classes38 programs
- HVAC training32 programs
- Medical billing and coding training27 programs
- LPN programs33 programs
- EMT classes44 programs
- Electrician training23 programs
- Dental assistant programs33 programs
- Auto mechanic classes26 programs
- Pharmacy technician training31 programs
- CNC machinist training32 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training4 programs
- Diesel mechanic training14 programs
- Cybersecurity training38 programs
- IT training87 programs
- Cosmetology school20 programs
- Barber school12 programs
- Esthetician school8 programs
- Nail tech school5 programs
- EKG technician programs13 programs
- Massage therapy school4 programs
- Paralegal programs14 programs
- Fire academy2 programs
- Police academy12 programs
- Surgical tech programs15 programs
- Radiology tech programs12 programs
- Culinary school6 programs
- PTA programs6 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training19 programs
- Human resources training14 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training47 programs
- Early childhood education programs19 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school11 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training8 programs
- Hospitality management programs9 programs
- Addiction counselor training1 program
- Coding and software development courses18 programs
- Lineman school8 programs
- Sterile processing technician training2 programs
- Sonography school2 programs
- Data analytics courses6 programs
- Administrative assistant training43 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs9 programs
- Medical lab technician programs8 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses13 programs
- Digital marketing courses1 program
- Web and graphic design courses14 programs
- Health information technology programs16 programs
- Vet tech programs2 programs
- Security guard training1 program
- Patient care technician training5 programs
- OTA programs5 programs
- Interpreter and translator training2 programs
- Home inspector training1 program
- Forklift certification1 program
- Healthcare administration programs3 programs
- Customer service training5 programs
- Flight school5 programs
- MRI tech school2 programs
- Cardiovascular technology programs3 programs
- Mental health technician training1 program
- Manufacturing technician training18 programs
- Electronics technician training10 programs
- Business administration programs31 programs
- Criminal justice programs12 programs
- Teacher assistant certification3 programs
- Auto body repair classes14 programs
- Sleep technician training4 programs
- Water treatment operator training3 programs
- OSHA safety training2 programs
- Dialysis technician training2 programs
- Optician training3 programs
- Masonry training2 programs
- Construction training programs33 programs
- Dental hygiene programs5 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes20 programs
- RN programs36 programs
- Project management certification24 programs
Where the Tennessee plumbing program numbers come from
Which Tennessee plumbing programs are on this list?
These are the plumbing programs Tennessee approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Tennessee offers.
How the prices and results of Tennessee plumbing programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about plumbing school in Tennessee
Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Plumbers, Pipefitters, and Steamfitters
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Apprenticeship.gov: Discover Apprenticeship: Earn While You Learn Today (fact sheet)
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List