Medical billing and coding training in Tennessee
22 medical billing and coding programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
16 schools offer these medical billing and coding programs, and Tennessee has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Medical records specialists keep patient files and may classify patients' medical information into the numerical coding system the healthcare industry uses. Most start with a postsecondary certificate, some need an associate's degree, and certification may be required or preferred.1 In Tennessee, 1 of the 22 programs take students without a high school diploma, and 18 are taught partly or fully online.
See the 22 programsHow much does medical billing and coding training cost in Tennessee?
$2,995 to $4,000
is what most programs cost if you pay yourself
All 22 programs with a price: $834 to $16,095
- Finished the program
- 75%
- Working 6 months later
- 71%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $27,000
- Length
- 21 to 52 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Tennessee may also offer medical billing and coding training. How these figures are made
Medical billing and coding training in Memphis, Chattanooga, Nashville and other Tennessee cities
Choosing an area filters the list below. 1 in smaller cities and towns and 14 online.
All 22 medical billing and coding programs in Tennessee approved for funding
Filters
22 programs
Medical Billing And Coding
Miller-Motte College Chattanooga, Chattanooga
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$27,100Price if you pay yourself$16,095Program website, Medical Billing And Coding at Miller-Motte College ChattanoogaMore details about Medical Billing And Coding at Miller-Motte College Chattanooga
- Finished
- 30%
- Working at 6 months
- 83%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,764
- Length
- 60 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $4,360
- Students counted
- 1,297
- a year, estimated
- $27,100
- price
- $16,095
Medical Billing and Coding
University of Tennessee Chattanooga, Online, based in Chattanooga, TN
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$28,100Price if you pay yourself$1,822Program website, Medical Billing and Coding at University of Tennessee ChattanoogaMore details about Medical Billing and Coding at University of Tennessee Chattanooga
- Finished
- 75%
- Working at 6 months
- 17%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,030
- Length
- 20 weeks, 4 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,173
- Students counted
- 260
- a year, estimated
- $28,100
- price
- $1,822
Medical Billing and Coding Career Prep Complete Online with Exam (PTMED3005)
Austin Peay State University, Online, based in Clarksville, TN
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$21,200Price if you pay yourself$3,999School website, Medical Billing and Coding Career Prep Complete Online with Exam (PTMED3005) at Austin Peay State UniversityMore details about Medical Billing and Coding Career Prep Complete Online with Exam (PTMED3005) at Austin Peay State University
- Finished
- 41%
- Working at 6 months
- 73%
- Earned in a quarter
- $5,312
- Length
- 52 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $250
- Students counted
- 163
- a year, estimated
- $21,200
- price
- $3,999
Medical Billing and Coding
Tn Professional Training Institute, Online, based in Murfreesboro, TN
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$37,600Price if you pay yourself$2,999Program website, Medical Billing and Coding at Tn Professional Training InstituteMore details about Medical Billing and Coding at Tn Professional Training Institute
- Finished
- 99%
- Working at 6 months
- 69%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,412
- Length
- 2 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 108
- a year, estimated
- $37,600
- price
- $2,999
Professional Coder Plus
Academy Of Allied Health, Chattanooga
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$26,600Price if you pay yourself$8,545Program website, Professional Coder Plus at Academy Of Allied HealthMore details about Professional Coder Plus at Academy Of Allied Health
- Finished
- 82%
- Working at 6 months
- 69%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,640
- Length
- 20 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,230
- Students counted
- 93
- a year, estimated
- $26,600
- price
- $8,545
Medical Billing and Coding (voucher included)
Volunteer State Community College, Online, based in Gallatin, TN
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,095School website, Medical Billing and Coding (voucher included) at Volunteer State Community CollegeMore details about Medical Billing and Coding (voucher included) at Volunteer State Community College
- Finished
- 54%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 53
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,095
Medical Billing and Coding
Columbia State Community College, Online, based in Columbia, TN
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,299Program website, Medical Billing and Coding at Columbia State Community CollegeMore details about Medical Billing and Coding at Columbia State Community College
- Finished
- 66%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 51
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,299
Billing And Coding Specialist Day Program
Allied Health Careers Institute, Murfreesboro
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$29,500Price if you pay yourself$8,725Program website, Billing And Coding Specialist Day Program at Allied Health Careers InstituteMore details about Billing And Coding Specialist Day Program at Allied Health Careers Institute
- Finished
- 87%
- Working at 6 months
- 73%
- Earned in a quarter
- $7,367
- Length
- 25 weeks, 25 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $450
- Students counted
- 29
- a year, estimated
- $29,500
- price
- $8,725
Medical Insurance Coding And Reimbursement Certificate
Pellissippi State Community College, Knoxville
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$26,100Price if you pay yourself$4,690School website, Medical Insurance Coding And Reimbursement Certificate at Pellissippi State Community CollegeMore details about Medical Insurance Coding And Reimbursement Certificate at Pellissippi State Community College
- Finished
- 86%
- Working at 6 months
- 71%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,536
- Length
- 15 weeks, 6 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $819
- Students counted
- 28
- a year, estimated
- $26,100
- price
- $4,690
Medical Billing And Coding
Southwest Tennessee Community College, Memphis
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$28,000Price if you pay yourself$2,695School website, Medical Billing And Coding at Southwest Tennessee Community CollegeMore details about Medical Billing And Coding at Southwest Tennessee Community College
- Finished
- 73%
- Working at 6 months
- 81%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,988
- Length
- 3 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $300
- Students counted
- 22
- a year, estimated
- $28,000
- price
- $2,695
MEDICAL BILLING AND CODING (CCI Online)
Southwest Tennessee Community College, Memphis
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,899School website, MEDICAL BILLING AND CODING (CCI Online) at Southwest Tennessee Community CollegeMore details about MEDICAL BILLING AND CODING (CCI Online) at Southwest Tennessee Community College
- Finished
- 70%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 3 weeks, 49 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $401
- Students counted
- 20
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $1,899
CPC Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included)
Tennessee State University, Online, based in Nashville, TN
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$13,200Price if you pay yourself$2,995Program website, CPC Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included) at Tennessee State UniversityMore details about CPC Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included) at Tennessee State University
- Finished
- 89%
- Working at 6 months
- 38%
- Earned in a quarter
- $3,305
- Length
- 52 weeks, 8 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 11
- a year, estimated
- $13,200
- price
- $2,995
Medical Billing and Coding Live Sync with exam (PTHY1023)
Austin Peay State University, Online, based in Clarksville, TN
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,299Program website, Medical Billing and Coding Live Sync with exam (PTHY1023) at Austin Peay State UniversityMore details about Medical Billing and Coding Live Sync with exam (PTHY1023) at Austin Peay State University
- Finished
- 75%
- Working at 6 months
- 50%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 4 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $235
- Students counted
- 11
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,299
Certified Medical Administrative Assistant W/ Medical Billing & Coding (Vouchers Included) (Online)
Nashville State Community College, Online, based in Nashville, TN
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$27,000Price if you pay yourself$3,695Program website, Certified Medical Administrative Assistant W/ Medical Billing & Coding (Vouchers Included) (Online) at Nashville State Community CollegeMore details about Certified Medical Administrative Assistant W/ Medical Billing & Coding (Vouchers Included) (Online) at Nashville State Community College
- Finished
- 80%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $6,760
- Length
- 52 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 11
- a year, estimated
- $27,000
- price
- $3,695
MEDICAL BILLING AND CODING (Online)
Southwest Tennessee Community College, Online, based in Memphis, TN
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,995School website, MEDICAL BILLING AND CODING (Online) at Southwest Tennessee Community CollegeMore details about MEDICAL BILLING AND CODING (Online) at Southwest Tennessee Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 40 weeks, 48 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 42
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,995
Medical Coding and Billing Professional (non-credit)
WSCC Morristown Campus, Online, based in Morristown, TN
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,000School website, Medical Coding and Billing Professional (non-credit) at WSCC Morristown CampusMore details about Medical Coding and Billing Professional (non-credit) at WSCC Morristown Campus
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 28 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $80
- Students counted
- 13
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,000
Medical Coding
Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Pulaski (East Col, Pulaski
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$834Program website, Medical Coding at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Pulaski (East ColMore details about Medical Coding at Tennessee College Of Applied Technology At Pulaski (East Col
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 44 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $556
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $834
Medical Billing and Coding (Vouchers Included) (GES1014)
Nashville State Community College, Online, based in Nashville, TN
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,995Program website, Medical Billing and Coding (Vouchers Included) (GES1014) at Nashville State Community CollegeMore details about Medical Billing and Coding (Vouchers Included) (GES1014) at Nashville State Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 7 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,995
Medical Billing and Coding Specialist - Online, Self-Paced - Exam Included (PTMED3004)
Nashville State Community College, Online, based in Nashville, TN
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,995Program website, Medical Billing and Coding Specialist - Online, Self-Paced - Exam Included (PTMED3004) at Nashville State Community CollegeMore details about Medical Billing and Coding Specialist - Online, Self-Paced - Exam Included (PTMED3004) at Nashville State Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 12 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $250
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $2,995
Medical Billing and Coding Specialist Complete - Online, Self-Paced - Exam Included (PTMED3005)
Nashville State Community College, Online, based in Nashville, TN
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,999Program website, Medical Billing and Coding Specialist Complete - Online, Self-Paced - Exam Included (PTMED3005) at Nashville State Community CollegeMore details about Medical Billing and Coding Specialist Complete - Online, Self-Paced - Exam Included (PTMED3005) at Nashville State Community College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 15 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $250
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $3,999
Medical Coding and Billing
Cleveland State Comm College, Online, based in Cleveland, TN
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,000School website, Medical Coding and Billing at Cleveland State Comm CollegeMore details about Medical Coding and Billing at Cleveland State Comm College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 28 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $4,000
Medical Billing and Coding - Diploma
American National University, Bartlett
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$15,984More details about Medical Billing and Coding - Diploma at American National University
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 40 weeks, 40 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- a year, estimated
- Not reported
- price
- $15,984
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for medical billing and coding training in Tennessee
Workforce funding can pay for medical billing and coding training in Tennessee
Every program on this page is approved for public workforce funding, the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.2People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.3
Ask at an American Job Center
Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4
Financial aid and grants for medical billing and coding training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.56
GI Bill for medical billing and coding training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.7
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Where the Tennessee medical billing and coding program numbers come from
Which Tennessee medical billing and coding programs are on this list?
These are the medical billing and coding programs Tennessee approved for public workforce funding (the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). The list covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Tennessee offers.
How Tennessee medical billing and coding program prices are reported
The price is tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported it. Prices under $100 are treated as not reported, because the file holds many blanks entered as $0. Check the current price with the school.
What the graduate results of these programs measure
The figures at the top of this page are the middle program among those that report results: half did better, half did worse. Results describe students who left each program in recent years: the share who finished, the share working in the second quarter after leaving, and the middle earnings of those working in that quarter. States report earnings for that one quarter because they take them from the wage reports employers file every three months. The yearly figure here is that quarter times four, rounded to the nearest $100: an estimate, and an early one, since it is measured about half a year after training. The quarter as reported is under "More details" on each program. Results are withheld for small programs, and they describe past students, so they are no guarantee.
Why do some medical billing and coding programs say "Not reported"?
Where a school or the state left a field empty, or the Department of Labor withheld it, the page says "Not reported". Nothing here is estimated to fill a gap.
Why the kind of school is left off each program
The file also records whether a school is public, private or nonprofit, but those entries are wrong too often to print next to a school's name, so this page leaves them out.
Sources for the facts about medical billing and coding training in Tennessee
Show the 7 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Records Specialists
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs