Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

OTA programs in Tennessee

5 OTA (occupational therapy assistant) programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

5 schools offer these occupational therapy assistant programs, and Tennessee has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Occupational therapy assistants help occupational therapists treat clients, guiding them through exercises and teaching new ways to manage everyday tasks such as dressing and bathing. Most need an associate degree from an accredited OTA program and usually a state license, which takes the program, fieldwork and a passed exam; passing it also earns the title Certified Occupational Therapy Assistant (COTA).1

In Tennessee, 1 of the 5 programs takes students without a high school diploma, 3 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 1 asks for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 5 programs here are OTA (associate degree, 4 programs) and OTA program (level not stated, 1 program).

See the 5 programs

How much do OTA programs cost in Tennessee?

$11,088 to $14,565 is what most OTA programs in Tennessee cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 5 programs with a price. All of them: $11,000 to $48,574

In the typical program

Finished the program
81%
Working 6 months later
87%
Earned a year, estimated
about $35,100
Length
Not enough data
3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Tennessee may also offer OTA programs. How these figures are made

Are there free OTA programs in Tennessee?

All 5 OTA programs in Tennessee approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

5 programs

  • OTA (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Occupational Therapy Assistant

    Nashville State Community College

    Nashville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Nashville State Community College, NashvilleOTA (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$38,100
    Price if you pay yourself$11,000

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    Program website, Occupational Therapy Assistant at Nashville State Community College
    More details about Occupational Therapy Assistant at Nashville State Community College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    82%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,528
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    151
    Earned a year, estimated
    $38,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,000
    students trained with WIOA funding
    3
    Program website, Occupational Therapy Assistant at Nashville State Community College
  • OTA (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Occupational Therapy Assistant

    Concorde Career College

    Memphis

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Concorde Career College, MemphisOTA (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$34,300
    Price if you pay yourself$48,574
    Program website, Occupational Therapy Assistant at Concorde Career College
    More details about Occupational Therapy Assistant at Concorde Career College
    Finished
    51%
    Working at 6 months
    83%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,587
    Length
    80 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,568
    Students counted
    110
    Earned a year, estimated
    $34,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $48,574
    Program website, Occupational Therapy Assistant at Concorde Career College
  • OTA (associate degree)In personEducation and courses

    Occupational Therapy Assistant

    Jackson State Community College

    Jackson

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Jackson State Community College, JacksonOTA (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$36,800
    Price if you pay yourself$11,088
    School website, Occupational Therapy Assistant at Jackson State Community College
    More details about Occupational Therapy Assistant at Jackson State Community College
    Finished
    78%
    Working at 6 months
    91%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,200
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $6,284
    Students counted
    85
    Earned a year, estimated
    $36,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,088
    School website, Occupational Therapy Assistant at Jackson State Community College
  • OTA (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Occupational Therapy Assistant

    Roane State Community College

    Harriman

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Roane State Community College, HarrimanOTA (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$26,000
    Price if you pay yourself$14,565
    Program website, Occupational Therapy Assistant at Roane State Community College
    More details about Occupational Therapy Assistant at Roane State Community College
    Finished
    93%
    Working at 6 months
    87%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,502
    Length
    98 weeks, 36 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,965
    Students counted
    71
    Earned a year, estimated
    $26,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $14,565
    Program website, Occupational Therapy Assistant at Roane State Community College
  • OTA program (level not stated)In personNo diploma needed

    Occupational Therapy Assistant

    WSCC Morristown Campus

    Morristown

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    WSCC Morristown Campus, MorristownOTA program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$35,100
    Price if you pay yourself$11,368

    7 students trained with WIOA funding

    School website, Occupational Therapy Assistant at WSCC Morristown Campus
    More details about Occupational Therapy Assistant at WSCC Morristown Campus
    Finished
    81%
    Working at 6 months
    86%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,770
    Length
    78 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $15,025
    Students counted
    65
    Earned a year, estimated
    $35,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,368
    students trained with WIOA funding
    7
    School website, Occupational Therapy Assistant at WSCC Morristown Campus

How to pay for OTA programs in Tennessee

WIOA funding can pay for OTA programs in Tennessee

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for OTA programs

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for OTA programs

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

OTA programs in Nashville, Memphis, Jackson and other Tennessee cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above.

Other training in Tennessee

How OTA programs compare with the rest of allied health: Allied health programs in Tennessee

Where the Tennessee occupational therapy assistant program numbers come from

Which Tennessee occupational therapy assistant programs are on this list?

These are the occupational therapy assistant programs Tennessee approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Tennessee offers.

How the prices and results of Tennessee occupational therapy assistant programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about OTA programs in Tennessee

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Occupational Therapy Assistants and Aides
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List