Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Phlebotomy training in Virginia

42 phlebotomy programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

38 schools offer these phlebotomy programs, and Virginia has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Phlebotomists draw blood for tests, transfusions, research and blood donations. Most start with a certificate from a phlebotomy program, and some states also ask for a license or certification.1

In Virginia, 5 of the 42 programs take students without a high school diploma, 36 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 1 asks for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 42 programs here are phlebotomy technician (39 programs) and phlebotomy with EKG or other skills (3 programs).

See the 42 programs

How much does phlebotomy training cost in Virginia?

$1,331 to $2,384 is what most phlebotomy programs in Virginia cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 42 programs with a price. All of them: $310 to $3,750

In the typical program

Finished the program
93%
Working 6 months later
75%
Earned a year, estimated
about $25,300
Length
8 to 16 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Virginia may also offer phlebotomy training. How these figures are made

Is there free phlebotomy training in Virginia?

All 42 phlebotomy programs in Virginia approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

42 programs

  • Phlebotomy technicianHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    HI-6100 Phlebotomy Technician

    MedCerts, LLC

    Livonia, MI

    High school diploma or equivalent

    MedCerts, LLC, Livonia, MIPhlebotomy technicianHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Classes are outside Virginia; Virginia approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimated$34,500
    Price if you pay yourself$2,000

    4 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about HI-6100 Phlebotomy Technician at MedCerts, LLC
    Finished
    96%
    Working at 6 months
    74%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,632
    Length
    12 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    1,911
    Earned a year, estimated
    $34,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,000
    students trained with WIOA funding
    4
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy

    Tidewater Medical Training

    Hampton

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Tidewater Medical Training, HamptonPhlebotomy technicianIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$800

    10 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Phlebotomy at Tidewater Medical Training
    Finished
    93%
    Working at 6 months
    25%
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    7 weeks, 10 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $695
    Students counted
    330
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $800
    students trained with WIOA funding
    10
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy Technician Program

    Laurel Ridge Community College - Main Campus

    Middletown

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Laurel Ridge Community College - Main Campus, MiddletownPhlebotomy technician · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$25,300
    Price if you pay yourself$2,334

    5 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Phlebotomy Technician Program at Laurel Ridge Community College - Main Campus
    Finished
    88%
    Working at 6 months
    77%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,328
    Length
    10 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    300
    Earned a year, estimated
    $25,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,334
    students trained with WIOA funding
    5
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy Technician

    Virginia Peninsula Community College

    Hampton

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Virginia Peninsula Community College, HamptonPhlebotomy technician · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$27,500
    Price if you pay yourself$2,334

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    School website, Phlebotomy Technician at Virginia Peninsula Community College
    More details about Phlebotomy Technician at Virginia Peninsula Community College
    Finished
    89%
    Working at 6 months
    76%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,880
    Length
    10 weeks, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    293
    Earned a year, estimated
    $27,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,334
    students trained with WIOA funding
    3
    School website, Phlebotomy Technician at Virginia Peninsula Community College
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personNo diploma needed

    Phlebotomy

    Southside Virginia Community College

    Keysville

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Southside Virginia Community College, KeysvillePhlebotomy technician · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$22,900
    Price if you pay yourself$2,334

    10 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Phlebotomy at Southside Virginia Community College
    Finished
    96%
    Working at 6 months
    77%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,728
    Length
    8 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $50
    Students counted
    204
    Earned a year, estimated
    $22,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,334
    students trained with WIOA funding
    10
  • Phlebotomy technicianHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy Technician

    Patrick Henry Community College

    Martinsville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Patrick Henry Community College, MartinsvillePhlebotomy technician · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$25,400
    Price if you pay yourself$1,799

    9 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Phlebotomy Technician at Patrick Henry Community College
    Finished
    83%
    Working at 6 months
    84%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,350
    Length
    11 weeks, 5 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $165
    Students counted
    165
    Earned a year, estimated
    $25,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,799
    students trained with WIOA funding
    9
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomist

    AlliedRx Institute of Healthcare

    Henrico

    High school diploma or equivalent

    AlliedRx Institute of Healthcare, HenricoPhlebotomy technicianIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,250

    5 students trained with WIOA funding

    School website, Phlebotomist at AlliedRx Institute of Healthcare
    More details about Phlebotomist at AlliedRx Institute of Healthcare
    Finished
    97%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $600
    Students counted
    147
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,250
    students trained with WIOA funding
    5
    School website, Phlebotomist at AlliedRx Institute of Healthcare
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy Technician Certification

    Paul D Camp Community College

    Franklin

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Paul D Camp Community College, FranklinPhlebotomy technician · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$25,400
    Price if you pay yourself$3,342
    More details about Phlebotomy Technician Certification at Paul D Camp Community College
    Finished
    92%
    Working at 6 months
    72%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,346
    Length
    3 weeks, 41 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    139
    Earned a year, estimated
    $25,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,342
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy Technician

    Virginia Highlands Community College

    Abingdon

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Virginia Highlands Community College, AbingdonPhlebotomy technician · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$18,500
    Price if you pay yourself$1,895
    School website, Phlebotomy Technician at Virginia Highlands Community College
    More details about Phlebotomy Technician at Virginia Highlands Community College
    Finished
    96%
    Working at 6 months
    67%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,623
    Length
    96 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $135
    Students counted
    121
    Earned a year, estimated
    $18,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,895
    School website, Phlebotomy Technician at Virginia Highlands Community College
  • Phlebotomy technicianHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy Technician

    Blue Ridge Community College

    Weyers Cave

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Blue Ridge Community College, Weyers CavePhlebotomy technician · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$23,800
    Price if you pay yourself$2,334
    More details about Phlebotomy Technician at Blue Ridge Community College
    Finished
    91%
    Working at 6 months
    72%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,955
    Length
    8 weeks, 48 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $50
    Students counted
    113
    Earned a year, estimated
    $23,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,334
  • Phlebotomy with EKG or other skillsHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    HI-6300 Cardio-Phlebotomy Technician

    MedCerts, LLC

    Livonia, MI

    High school diploma or equivalent

    MedCerts, LLC, Livonia, MIPhlebotomy with EKG or other skillsHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Classes are outside Virginia; Virginia approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimated$29,200
    Price if you pay yourself$3,750

    7 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about HI-6300 Cardio-Phlebotomy Technician at MedCerts, LLC
    Finished
    84%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,296
    Length
    16 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    113
    Earned a year, estimated
    $29,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,750
    students trained with WIOA funding
    7
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personNo diploma needed

    Phlebotomy

    Mountain Empire Community College

    Big Stone Gap

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Mountain Empire Community College, Big Stone GapPhlebotomy technician · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$20,600
    Price if you pay yourself$3,750
    School website, Phlebotomy at Mountain Empire Community College
    More details about Phlebotomy at Mountain Empire Community College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    24%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,155
    Length
    12 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,055
    Students counted
    91
    Earned a year, estimated
    $20,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,750
    School website, Phlebotomy at Mountain Empire Community College
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy Technician

    Community College Workforce Alliance

    Midlothian

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Community College Workforce Alliance, MidlothianPhlebotomy technicianIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$33,300
    Price if you pay yourself$2,400
    More details about Phlebotomy Technician at Community College Workforce Alliance
    Finished
    85%
    Working at 6 months
    87%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,313
    Length
    3 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    80
    Earned a year, estimated
    $33,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,400
  • Phlebotomy technicianHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy Technician

    Piedmont Virginia Community College

    Charlottesville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Piedmont Virginia Community College, CharlottesvillePhlebotomy technician · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$33,700
    Price if you pay yourself$2,334
    More details about Phlebotomy Technician at Piedmont Virginia Community College
    Finished
    93%
    Working at 6 months
    74%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,437
    Length
    18 weeks, 5 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    73
    Earned a year, estimated
    $33,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,334
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy Technician

    Central Virginia Community College

    Lynchburg

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Central Virginia Community College, LynchburgPhlebotomy technician · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$28,700
    Price if you pay yourself$2,334

    5 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Phlebotomy Technician at Central Virginia Community College
    Finished
    90%
    Working at 6 months
    71%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,165
    Length
    48 weeks, 3 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    63
    Earned a year, estimated
    $28,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,334
    students trained with WIOA funding
    5
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personNo diploma needed

    Phlebotomy

    Tennessee College of Applied Technology -- Elizabethton

    Elizabethton, TN

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Tennessee College of Applied Technology -- Elizabethton, Elizabethton, TNPhlebotomy technician · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Classes are outside Virginia; Virginia approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$310
    More details about Phlebotomy at Tennessee College of Applied Technology -- Elizabethton
    Finished
    79%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    48 weeks, 49 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $135
    Students counted
    59
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $310
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy

    Germanna Community College

    Fredericksburg

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Germanna Community College, FredericksburgPhlebotomy technician · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,400

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Phlebotomy at Germanna Community College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    48
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,400
    students trained with WIOA funding
    3
  • Phlebotomy technicianHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy CSC

    Virginia Western Community College

    Roanoke

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Virginia Western Community College, RoanokePhlebotomy technician · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,488
    More details about Phlebotomy CSC at Virginia Western Community College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    10 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    45
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,488
  • Phlebotomy with EKG or other skillsHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    EKG/Phlebotomy

    New River Community College

    Dublin

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    New River Community College, DublinPhlebotomy with EKG or other skills · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$31,100
    Price if you pay yourself$3,500
    More details about EKG/Phlebotomy at New River Community College
    Finished
    86%
    Working at 6 months
    63%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,778
    Length
    10 weeks, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    36
    Earned a year, estimated
    $31,100
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,500
  • Phlebotomy technicianHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Certified Phlebotomy Techician (Credit)

    Virginia Western Community College

    Roanoke

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Virginia Western Community College, RoanokePhlebotomy technician · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$28,300
    Price if you pay yourself$1,995
    More details about Certified Phlebotomy Techician (Credit) at Virginia Western Community College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    41%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,086
    Length
    9 weeks, 32 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    34
    Earned a year, estimated
    $28,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,995
  • Phlebotomy technicianHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy Technician

    Fast Track Health Care Education

    Salem

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Fast Track Health Care Education, SalemPhlebotomy technicianHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$21,700
    Price if you pay yourself$2,500

    17 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Phlebotomy Technician at Fast Track Health Care Education
    Finished
    94%
    Working at 6 months
    70%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,437
    Length
    20 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $300
    Students counted
    25
    Earned a year, estimated
    $21,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,500
    students trained with WIOA funding
    17
  • Phlebotomy technicianHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy Technician

    Heart To Heart Career Training Center (WIOA)

    Williamsburg

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Heart To Heart Career Training Center (WIOA), WilliamsburgPhlebotomy technicianHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$21,000
    Price if you pay yourself$2,675

    4 students trained with WIOA funding

    School website, Phlebotomy Technician at Heart To Heart Career Training Center (WIOA)
    More details about Phlebotomy Technician at Heart To Heart Career Training Center (WIOA)
    Finished
    63%
    Working at 6 months
    93%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,254
    Length
    8 weeks, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    25
    Earned a year, estimated
    $21,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,675
    students trained with WIOA funding
    4
    School website, Phlebotomy Technician at Heart To Heart Career Training Center (WIOA)
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personNo diploma needed

    Phlebotomy

    The Medical Education Center

    Ashburn

    No diploma needed

    The Medical Education Center, AshburnPhlebotomy technicianIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,100

    4 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Phlebotomy at The Medical Education Center
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    1 week, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    22
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,100
    students trained with WIOA funding
    4
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy Technician

    T & D Phlebotomy

    Norfolk

    High school diploma or equivalent

    T & D Phlebotomy, NorfolkPhlebotomy technicianIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$23,400
    Price if you pay yourself$1,500

    20 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Phlebotomy Technician at T & D Phlebotomy
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,855
    Length
    7 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,000
    Students counted
    20
    Earned a year, estimated
    $23,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,500
    students trained with WIOA funding
    20
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy Technician Program

    Eastern Virginia Career College (EVCC)

    Fredericksburg

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Eastern Virginia Career College (EVCC), FredericksburgPhlebotomy technician · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,250
    More details about Phlebotomy Technician Program at Eastern Virginia Career College (EVCC)
    Finished
    88%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    3 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $250
    Students counted
    16
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,250
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy Technician Certification

    ECPI University (LWDB-Hampton Roads)

    Virginia Beach

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    ECPI University (LWDB-Hampton Roads), Virginia BeachPhlebotomy technician · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$22,000
    Price if you pay yourself$1,200
    More details about Phlebotomy Technician Certification at ECPI University (LWDB-Hampton Roads)
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,491
    Length
    10 weeks, 6 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    15
    Earned a year, estimated
    $22,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,200
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy Program

    Vital Phlebotomy Institute, LLC

    Fredericksburg

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Vital Phlebotomy Institute, LLC, FredericksburgPhlebotomy technicianIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$8,900
    Price if you pay yourself$2,995

    8 students trained with WIOA funding

    School website, Phlebotomy Program at Vital Phlebotomy Institute, LLC
    More details about Phlebotomy Program at Vital Phlebotomy Institute, LLC
    Finished
    78%
    Working at 6 months
    80%
    Earned in a quarter
    $2,232
    Length
    4 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    14
    Earned a year, estimated
    $8,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,995
    students trained with WIOA funding
    8
    School website, Phlebotomy Program at Vital Phlebotomy Institute, LLC
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy

    Medical Careers Readiness

    Henderson, NC

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Careers Readiness, Henderson, NCPhlebotomy technicianIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Classes are outside Virginia; Virginia approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$600
    More details about Phlebotomy at Medical Careers Readiness
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    8 weeks, 48 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $500
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $600
  • Phlebotomy technicianHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy Technician

    Rappahannock Center for Education

    Sperryville

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Rappahannock Center for Education, SperryvillePhlebotomy technicianHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$700
    More details about Phlebotomy Technician at Rappahannock Center for Education
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    20 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $249
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $700
  • Phlebotomy technicianHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Certified Phlebotomy Technician

    National Institute of HealthCareer Certification, LLC

    Charlottesville

    High school diploma or equivalent

    National Institute of HealthCareer Certification, LLC, CharlottesvillePhlebotomy technicianHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$800
    More details about Certified Phlebotomy Technician at National Institute of HealthCareer Certification, LLC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    6 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $130
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $800
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy Technician Program

    Chesterfield Adult Education

    Chesterfield

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Chesterfield Adult Education, ChesterfieldPhlebotomy technicianIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$999
    School website, Phlebotomy Technician Program at Chesterfield Adult Education
    More details about Phlebotomy Technician Program at Chesterfield Adult Education
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    17 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $115
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $999
    School website, Phlebotomy Technician Program at Chesterfield Adult Education
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy Technician

    New Horizons Regional Education Centers LWDA #14 - WIOA

    Hampton

    High school diploma or equivalent

    New Horizons Regional Education Centers LWDA #14 - WIOA, HamptonPhlebotomy technicianIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,275
    More details about Phlebotomy Technician at New Horizons Regional Education Centers LWDA #14 - WIOA
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    14 weeks, 6 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $425
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,275
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy Technician

    Medical Solutions Academy

    Danville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Solutions Academy, DanvillePhlebotomy technician · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,635
    More details about Phlebotomy Technician at Medical Solutions Academy
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    10 weeks, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $425
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,635
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personEducation and courses

    Phlebotomy Technician (Certified) NHA Code: CPT

    Ultimate Health School

    Manassas

    Education and courses

    Ultimate Health School, ManassasPhlebotomy technicianIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,685
    More details about Phlebotomy Technician (Certified) NHA Code: CPT at Ultimate Health School
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    8 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,685
  • Phlebotomy technicianOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy

    Charlottesville Albemarle Technical Education Center (CATEC)

    Based in Charlottesville, VA

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Charlottesville Albemarle Technical Education Center (CATEC), based in Charlottesville, VAPhlebotomy technicianOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,799
    More details about Phlebotomy at Charlottesville Albemarle Technical Education Center (CATEC)
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,799
  • Phlebotomy technicianOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy Technician Online

    Charlottesville Albemarle Technical Education Center (CATEC)

    Based in Charlottesville, VA

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Charlottesville Albemarle Technical Education Center (CATEC), based in Charlottesville, VAPhlebotomy technicianOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,799
    More details about Phlebotomy Technician Online at Charlottesville Albemarle Technical Education Center (CATEC)
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,799
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy Technician Program

    Richmond Adult Technical Center

    Richmond

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Richmond Adult Technical Center, RichmondPhlebotomy technicianIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,899
    School website, Phlebotomy Technician Program at Richmond Adult Technical Center
    More details about Phlebotomy Technician Program at Richmond Adult Technical Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    4 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $165
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,899
    School website, Phlebotomy Technician Program at Richmond Adult Technical Center
  • Phlebotomy with EKG or other skillsIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomist with EKG

    Dream Academy Inc.

    Richmond

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Dream Academy Inc., RichmondPhlebotomy with EKG or other skillsIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,900
    More details about Phlebotomist with EKG at Dream Academy Inc.
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    10 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $125
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,900
  • Phlebotomy technicianOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    HI-6100: Phlebotomy Technician

    MedCerts, LLC

    Based in Livonia, MI

    High school diploma or equivalent

    MedCerts, LLC, based in Livonia, MIPhlebotomy technicianOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,000
    More details about HI-6100: Phlebotomy Technician at MedCerts, LLC
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,000
  • Phlebotomy technicianHybridNo diploma needed

    Phlebotomy Technician

    Mountain Gateway Community College

    Clifton Forge

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Mountain Gateway Community College, Clifton ForgePhlebotomy technician · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,325
    More details about Phlebotomy Technician at Mountain Gateway Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    101 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,325
  • Phlebotomy technicianIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy

    Eastern Shore Community College

    Melfa

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Eastern Shore Community College, MelfaPhlebotomy technician · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,334
    More details about Phlebotomy at Eastern Shore Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    3 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,334
  • Phlebotomy technicianHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Phlebotomy

    American Institute of Health Science & Technology

    Springfield

    High school diploma or equivalent

    American Institute of Health Science & Technology, SpringfieldPhlebotomy technicianHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,500
    More details about Phlebotomy at American Institute of Health Science & Technology
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,500

How to pay for phlebotomy training in Virginia

WIOA funding can pay for phlebotomy training in Virginia

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for phlebotomy training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for phlebotomy training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Phlebotomy training in Virginia

programs with a price cost under $1,000
6 of 42
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
25th of 39
other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
11 of 27
phlebotomy programs here, against the typical state's 12
42 vs 12

State comparisons use the same figures as the phlebotomy training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Phlebotomy training in Washington, Virginia Beach, Richmond and other Virginia cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 9 more programs are in 9 other areas, 5 in smaller cities and towns and 3 online.

Other training in Virginia

How phlebotomy training compares with the rest of medical office and lab work: Medical certification programs in Virginia

Where the Virginia phlebotomy program numbers come from

Which Virginia phlebotomy programs are on this list?

These are the phlebotomy programs Virginia approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Virginia offers.

How the prices and results of Virginia phlebotomy programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about phlebotomy training in Virginia

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Phlebotomists
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List