Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Personal trainer certification in Ohio

19 personal trainer programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

11 schools offer these personal trainer programs, and Ohio has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Personal trainers lead and motivate individual clients or small groups through exercise. A high school diploma is the usual starting point, but personal trainers usually must be certified before they work with clients or gym members, and most also need CPR and first aid certification.1

In Ohio, 12 of the 19 programs take students without a high school diploma, 6 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 1 asks for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 19 programs here are fitness or exercise science (associate degree, 9 programs), personal trainer certification course (4 programs), group fitness and yoga instructor course (4 programs) and fitness specialty or nutrition add-on (2 programs).

See the 19 programs

How much does personal trainer certification cost in Ohio?

Certificates and short courses (10 programs)
$1,326 to $4,085most of them
Two-year degrees (9 programs)
$8,964 to $11,788most of them

What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.

In the typical program

Finished the program
37%
Working 6 months later
71%
Earned a year, estimated
about $47,200
Length
Not reported
None of the 19 programs report it

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Ohio may also offer personal trainer certification. How these figures are made

Is there free personal trainer certification in Ohio?

All 19 personal trainer programs in Ohio approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

19 programs

How to pay for personal trainer certification in Ohio

WIOA funding can pay for personal trainer certification in Ohio

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for personal trainer certification

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for personal trainer certification

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Personal trainer certification in Ohio

programs with a price cost under $2,000
6 of 17
personal trainer programs of any state: no state has more than Ohio
Most

State comparisons use the same figures as the personal trainer certification by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Personal trainer certification in Cleveland, Columbus, Youngstown and other Ohio cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 5 programs are online.

Other training in Ohio

How personal trainer certification compares with the rest of allied health: Allied health programs in Ohio

Where the Ohio personal trainer program numbers come from

Which Ohio personal trainer programs are on this list?

These are the personal trainer programs Ohio approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Ohio offers.

How the prices and results of Ohio personal trainer programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about personal trainer certification in Ohio

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Fitness Trainers and Instructors
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List