Flight school in Ohio
2 pilot training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
2 schools offer these pilot training programs, and Ohio has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Commercial pilots fly and navigate airplanes, helicopters and other aircraft. They usually need flight training, at one of the hundreds of FAA-certified flight schools or as part of a two- or four-year aviation degree, and must meet FAA requirements; airline pilots usually also need a bachelor's degree and experience as a commercial or military pilot.1 For the FAA commercial pilot certificate you must be at least 18, read, speak and understand English, hold a private pilot certificate, log the required flight time (generally at least 250 hours in an airplane or 150 in a helicopter) and pass a knowledge test and a practical test. Drone pilots who fly for work need the FAA's remote pilot certificate instead: at least 16 and a passed knowledge test.2
In Ohio, both programs take students without a high school diploma.
By kind, the 2 programs here are pilot (associate degree, 1 program) and drone pilot (Part 107) course (1 program).
See the 2 programsHow much does flight school cost in Ohio?
$5,400 to $8,885
from the lowest-priced program to the highest, if you pay yourself
These two programs
- Finished the program
- 24% to 100%
- Working 6 months later
- 40% to 71%
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Neither program reports it
- Length
- Not reported
- Neither program reports it
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Ohio may also offer flight school. How these figures are made
All 2 pilot training programs in Ohio approved for WIOA funding
Filters
2 programs
Aviation Technology/Professional Pilot & Airway Science
Sinclair Community College
Dayton
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$8,885Program website, Aviation Technology/Professional Pilot & Airway Science at Sinclair Community CollegeMore details about Aviation Technology/Professional Pilot & Airway Science at Sinclair Community College
- Finished
- 24%
- Working at 6 months
- 71%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 223
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $8,885
Unmanned Aircraft Systems and Drone Training
Flamingo Air/Airline Ground Schools
Cincinnati
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$5,400Program website, Unmanned Aircraft Systems and Drone Training at Flamingo Air/Airline Ground SchoolsMore details about Unmanned Aircraft Systems and Drone Training at Flamingo Air/Airline Ground Schools
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 40%
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 16
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,400
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for flight school in Ohio
WIOA funding can pay for flight school in Ohio
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for flight school
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78
GI Bill for flight school
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Flight school in Dayton, Cincinnati and other Ohio cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above.
Other training in Ohio
How flight school compares with the rest of transportation and logistics: Transportation and logistics training in Ohio
- CDL training103 programs
- CNA classes119 programs
- Medical assistant training132 programs
- Phlebotomy training110 programs
- Welding classes138 programs
- HVAC training89 programs
- Medical billing and coding training101 programs
- LPN programs80 programs
- EMT classes96 programs
- Electrician training48 programs
- Dental assistant programs72 programs
- Auto mechanic classes58 programs
- Pharmacy technician training42 programs
- Plumbing school20 programs
- CNC machinist training70 programs
- Carpentry classes17 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training20 programs
- Diesel mechanic training11 programs
- Cybersecurity training119 programs
- IT training273 programs
- Cosmetology school33 programs
- Barber school16 programs
- Esthetician school18 programs
- Nail tech school16 programs
- EKG technician programs26 programs
- Massage therapy school24 programs
- Paralegal programs24 programs
- Fire academy53 programs
- Police academy39 programs
- Surgical tech programs26 programs
- Radiology tech programs23 programs
- Culinary school32 programs
- Home health aide training9 programs
- PTA programs14 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training58 programs
- Human resources training47 programs
- Medication aide training8 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training95 programs
- Early childhood education programs34 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school14 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training42 programs
- Hospitality management programs23 programs
- Addiction counselor training28 programs
- Community health worker training4 programs
- Coding and software development courses111 programs
- Lineman school17 programs
- Sterile processing technician training15 programs
- Sonography school18 programs
- Data analytics courses56 programs
- Administrative assistant training100 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs18 programs
- Medical lab technician programs19 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses21 programs
- Digital marketing courses23 programs
- Web and graphic design courses50 programs
- Health information technology programs24 programs
- Vet tech programs17 programs
- Real estate school29 programs
- Security guard training10 programs
- Patient care technician training11 programs
- OTA programs8 programs
- Crane operator training4 programs
- Home inspector training8 programs
- Forklift certification2 programs
- Personal trainer certification19 programs
- Healthcare administration programs6 programs
- Customer service training21 programs
- MRI tech school1 program
- Cardiovascular technology programs1 program
- RBT certification training3 programs
- Mental health technician training4 programs
- Human services programs25 programs
- Manufacturing technician training53 programs
- Electronics technician training37 programs
- Business administration programs117 programs
- Criminal justice programs34 programs
- Teacher assistant certification5 programs
- Auto body repair classes3 programs
- Merchant mariner training3 programs
- Sleep technician training2 programs
- Solar and wind technician training3 programs
- Sheet metal training5 programs
- Water treatment operator training4 programs
- OSHA safety training9 programs
- Dialysis technician training1 program
- Optician training5 programs
- Masonry training3 programs
- Insurance license courses10 programs
- Construction training programs43 programs
- Dental hygiene programs12 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes67 programs
- RN programs118 programs
- Project management certification105 programs
Where the Ohio pilot training program numbers come from
Which Ohio pilot training programs are on this list?
These are the pilot training programs Ohio approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Ohio offers.
How the prices and results of Ohio pilot training programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about flight school in Ohio
Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Airline and Commercial Pilots
- Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 14 CFR part 61, subpart F (commercial pilots) and part 107, subpart C (remote pilots)
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List