Nursing and patient care programs in Pennsylvania
103 nursing and patient care programs in 5 fields of nursing and patient care, with costs, results and funding that can make them free
78 schools offer these programs, and Pennsylvania has approved every one for workforce funding. Compare the 5 fields below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.
These programs train you to care for patients directly: in a hospital, a nursing home or their own home. They run from short courses for nursing assistants (CNA), patient care technicians, home health aides and medication aides to LPN programs and RN degrees.
All job training programs in Pennsylvania, every line of work
Accredited nursing schools in Pennsylvania, each school with its accreditor
Nursing and patient care programs by state, to compare Pennsylvania with other states
Compare nursing and patient care programs in Pennsylvania: cost, pay and results
LPN programs (licensed practical nurse)
42 programs at 38 schools
- Most cost
- $16,812 to $22,114
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $45,000
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- Finished
- 74%
CNA classes (nursing assistant)
30 programs at 27 schools
- Most cost
- $1,461 to $1,950
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $25,500
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- Finished
- 98%
RN programs (registered nurse)
25 programs at 20 schools
- Most cost
- $15,780 to $40,780
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $66,400
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- Finished
- 88%
Patient care technician training (hospital patient care)
5 programs at 5 schools
- Most cost
- $3,255 to $4,000
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Left out
- Finished
- Not enough data
Home health aide training
1 program at one school
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Each figure is the middle program of that field. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools in Pennsylvania may offer more. How these figures are made
Other job training in Pennsylvania, by line of work
- Trade school programs372
- IT certification programs139
- Business and office training136
- Transportation and logistics training118
- Medical certification programs96
- Allied health programs49
- First responder training30
- Child care and social services training22
- Culinary and hospitality programs6
- Beauty school5
- All job training in Pennsylvania1,076
Programs approved in Pennsylvania in each line of work.
Where the Pennsylvania nursing and patient care numbers come from
Which Pennsylvania programs are counted?
Programs Pennsylvania approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act) in the fields listed above. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).5 They come from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Pennsylvania offers.
What the figures for each field mean
Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).
How reliable are the Pennsylvania figures?
We leave out the share working 6 months later for Pennsylvania: its rates sit far below every other state's, and the counts suggest jobs were traced only for students whose training was publicly paid.
Sources for the funding facts about nursing and patient care programs in Pennsylvania
Show the 5 sourcesHide the sources
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List