Retraining Report
Find training

Job training programs in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

44 programs in 14 trades, with costs, results and funding that can make them free

14 schools offer these programs with classes in the Pittsburgh area, and every one is approved for workforce funding. Compare the fields below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.

All job training programs in Pennsylvania, including online programs

Compare job training in Pittsburgh: cost, pay and results

Job training in Pittsburgh, by field
TrainingProgramsMost costEarned a year, estimatedWorking 6 months laterFinished
Accounting and bookkeeping classes10$2,240 to $4,494Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
IT trainingToo few here for an area page; links to all of Pennsylvania6$4,834 to $12,310Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Medical assistant trainingToo few here for an area page; links to all of Pennsylvania4Not reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Medical billing and coding trainingToo few here for an area page; links to all of Pennsylvania4Not reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Dental assistant programsToo few here for an area page; links to all of Pennsylvania4Not reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
HVAC trainingToo few here for an area page; links to all of Pennsylvania3Not reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Electrician trainingToo few here for an area page; links to all of Pennsylvania3Not reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
CDL trainingToo few here for an area page; links to all of Pennsylvania2Not reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Cybersecurity trainingToo few here for an area page; links to all of Pennsylvania2Not reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
RN programsToo few here for an area page; links to all of Pennsylvania2Not reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
LPN programsToo few here for an area page; links to all of Pennsylvania1Not reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EMT classesToo few here for an area page; links to all of Pennsylvania1Not reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
CNC machinist trainingToo few here for an area page; links to all of Pennsylvania1Not reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Project management certificationToo few here for an area page; links to all of Pennsylvania1Not reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Each figure is the middle program of that field in this area. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools in Pittsburgh may offer more. How these figures are made

Is there free job training in Pittsburgh?

WIOA funding can pay for job training in Pittsburgh

Every program on this page is approved for WIOA funding: public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act. It can pay for training for eligible adults, people who lost their job and young people.1People on public assistance, with a low income or lacking basic skills come first, and veterans have priority.2Your state or local area may limit how much WIOA pays and for how long. If a program costs more, a Pell Grant, a scholarship or severance pay can cover the rest.3

Ask at an American Job Center

Eligibility rules apply, and services vary from state to state. Your local American Job Center can tell you whether you qualify. The Department of Labor's page links to the center finder, or call 1-877-US-2JOBS (1-877-872-5627).4

Or pay for training yourself

Without funding, prices differ by trade: most accounting and bookkeeping programs in Pittsburgh cost $2,240 to $4,494, and most IT training programs $4,834 to $12,310. Each trade's page lists every program with its price.

Where the Pittsburgh job training numbers come from

Which Pittsburgh programs are counted?

Programs with classes in the Pittsburgh area that the state they're in approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act). Online programs are on the state pages. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).4 They come from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Pittsburgh offers.

What the figures for each field mean

Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where too few programs report a figure, the table says "Not reported".

How reliable are the Pennsylvania figures?

We leave out the share working 6 months later for Pennsylvania: its rates sit far below every other state's, and the counts suggest jobs were traced only for students whose training was publicly paid.

Sources for the funding facts about job training in Pittsburgh

Show the 4 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  2. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  3. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  4. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List