Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Paralegal programs in Minnesota

12 paralegal programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

8 schools offer these paralegal programs, and Minnesota has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Paralegals support lawyers: they keep case files in order, research the law and draft documents. Most have an associate degree or a certificate in paralegal studies, though some employers prefer a bachelor's degree; certification isn't required.1

In Minnesota, all 12 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent.

By kind, the 12 programs here are paralegal (associate degree, 8 programs) and legal assistant or legal secretary (4 programs).

See the 12 programs

How much do paralegal programs cost in Minnesota?

Two-year degrees (8 programs)
$9,904 to $10,344most of them, usually 120 weeks long
Other paralegal programs (4 programs)
$2,730 to $7,444all 4 with a price

What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.

In the typical program

Finished the program
37%
Working 6 months later
73%
Earned a year, estimated
about $30,000
Length
60 to 120 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Minnesota may also offer paralegal programs. How these figures are made

Are there free paralegal programs in Minnesota?

All 12 paralegal programs in Minnesota approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

12 programs

  • Paralegal (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Paralegal

    North Hennepin Community College

    Brooklyn Park

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    North Hennepin Community College, Brooklyn ParkParalegal (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$40,000
    Price if you pay yourself$10,201
    Program website, Paralegal at North Hennepin Community College
    More details about Paralegal at North Hennepin Community College
    Finished
    32%
    Working at 6 months
    76%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,000
    Length
    120 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    378

    Listed 2 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.

    Earned a year, estimated
    $40,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,201
    Program website, Paralegal at North Hennepin Community College
  • Paralegal (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Paralegal

    Inver Hills Community College

    Inver Grove Heights

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Inver Hills Community College, Inver Grove HeightsParalegal (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$38,800
    Price if you pay yourself$9,825
    Program website, Paralegal at Inver Hills Community College
    More details about Paralegal at Inver Hills Community College
    Finished
    34%
    Working at 6 months
    75%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,697
    Length
    120 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    341

    Listed 2 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.

    Earned a year, estimated
    $38,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,825
    Program website, Paralegal at Inver Hills Community College
  • Paralegal (associate degree)OnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Paralegal Studies

    Lake Superior College

    Based in Duluth, MN

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Lake Superior College, based in Duluth, MNParalegal (associate degree) · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$27,900
    Price if you pay yourself$9,099
    Program website, Paralegal Studies at Lake Superior College
    More details about Paralegal Studies at Lake Superior College
    Finished
    34%
    Working at 6 months
    72%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,977
    Length
    120 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    157

    Listed 2 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.

    Earned a year, estimated
    $27,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,099
    Program website, Paralegal Studies at Lake Superior College
  • Paralegal (associate degree)OnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Paralegal

    Minnesota State Community and Technical College

    Based in Detroit Lakes, MN

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Minnesota State Community and Technical College, based in Detroit Lakes, MNParalegal (associate degree) · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$24,900
    Price if you pay yourself$9,930
    Program website, Paralegal at Minnesota State Community and Technical College
    More details about Paralegal at Minnesota State Community and Technical College
    Finished
    33%
    Working at 6 months
    46%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,224
    Length
    120 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    137
    Earned a year, estimated
    $24,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,930
    Program website, Paralegal at Minnesota State Community and Technical College
  • Paralegal (associate degree)OnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Paralegal

    Alexandria Technical and Community College

    Based in Alexandria, MN

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Alexandria Technical and Community College, based in Alexandria, MNParalegal (associate degree) · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$32,400
    Price if you pay yourself$10,421
    Program website, Paralegal at Alexandria Technical and Community College
    More details about Paralegal at Alexandria Technical and Community College
    Finished
    31%
    Working at 6 months
    79%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,111
    Length
    120 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    76
    Earned a year, estimated
    $32,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,421
    Program website, Paralegal at Alexandria Technical and Community College
  • Paralegal (associate degree)OnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Legal Assistant

    Anoka Technical College

    Based in Anoka, MN

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Anoka Technical College, based in Anoka, MNParalegal (associate degree) · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$31,600
    Price if you pay yourself$10,318
    Program website, Legal Assistant at Anoka Technical College
    More details about Legal Assistant at Anoka Technical College
    Finished
    40%
    Working at 6 months
    74%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,896
    Length
    120 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    57
    Earned a year, estimated
    $31,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,318
    Program website, Legal Assistant at Anoka Technical College
  • Paralegal (associate degree)OnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Legal Assistant

    Ridgewater College

    Based in Willmar, MN

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Ridgewater College, based in Willmar, MNParalegal (associate degree) · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$34,800
    Price if you pay yourself$9,968
    Program website, Legal Assistant at Ridgewater College
    More details about Legal Assistant at Ridgewater College
    Finished
    54%
    Working at 6 months
    63%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,702
    Length
    120 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    46

    Listed 6 times in the state's file with differing results. Shown: the listing with the most students.

    Earned a year, estimated
    $34,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,968
    Program website, Legal Assistant at Ridgewater College
  • Paralegal (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Legal Administrative Assistant

    Dakota County Technical College

    Rosemount

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Dakota County Technical College, RosemountParalegal (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$28,500
    Price if you pay yourself$10,440
    Program website, Legal Administrative Assistant at Dakota County Technical College
    More details about Legal Administrative Assistant at Dakota County Technical College
    Finished
    47%
    Working at 6 months
    88%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,113
    Length
    120 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    24
    Earned a year, estimated
    $28,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,440
    Program website, Legal Administrative Assistant at Dakota County Technical College
  • Legal assistant or legal secretaryIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Legal Secretary

    Lake Superior College

    Duluth

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Lake Superior College, DuluthLegal assistant or legal secretary · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$17,500
    Price if you pay yourself$2,730
    Program website, Legal Secretary at Lake Superior College
    More details about Legal Secretary at Lake Superior College
    Finished
    77%
    Working at 6 months
    62%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,374
    Length
    30 weeks, 18 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    15
    Earned a year, estimated
    $17,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,730
    Program website, Legal Secretary at Lake Superior College
  • Legal assistant or legal secretaryIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Administrative Support-Legal Secretary

    Lake Superior College

    Duluth

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Lake Superior College, DuluthLegal assistant or legal secretary · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$17,500
    Price if you pay yourself$5,459
    Program website, Administrative Support-Legal Secretary at Lake Superior College
    More details about Administrative Support-Legal Secretary at Lake Superior College
    Finished
    77%
    Working at 6 months
    62%
    Earned in a quarter
    $4,374
    Length
    60 weeks, 36 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    15
    Earned a year, estimated
    $17,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,459
    Program website, Administrative Support-Legal Secretary at Lake Superior College
  • Legal assistant or legal secretaryOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Administrative Office Assistant - Legal

    Minnesota State Community and Technical College

    Based in Moorhead, MN

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Minnesota State Community and Technical College, based in Moorhead, MNLegal assistant or legal secretary · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,979
    Program website, Administrative Office Assistant - Legal at Minnesota State Community and Technical College
    More details about Administrative Office Assistant - Legal at Minnesota State Community and Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 18 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,979
    Program website, Administrative Office Assistant - Legal at Minnesota State Community and Technical College
  • Legal assistant or legal secretaryOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Legal Administrative Assistant

    Alexandria Technical and Community College

    Based in Alexandria, MN

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Alexandria Technical and Community College, based in Alexandria, MNLegal assistant or legal secretary · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$7,444
    Program website, Legal Administrative Assistant at Alexandria Technical and Community College
    More details about Legal Administrative Assistant at Alexandria Technical and Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 45 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $7,444
    Program website, Legal Administrative Assistant at Alexandria Technical and Community College

How to pay for paralegal programs in Minnesota

WIOA funding can pay for paralegal programs in Minnesota

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for paralegal programs

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for paralegal programs

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Paralegal programs in Minnesota

programs with a price cost under $10,000
8 of 12
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
23rd of 23
other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
1 of 12
paralegal programs here, against the typical state's 6
12 vs 6

State comparisons use the same figures as the paralegal programs by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Paralegal programs in Minneapolis, Duluth and other Minnesota cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 7 programs are online.

Other training in Minnesota

How paralegal programs compare with the rest of business and office work: Business and office training in Minnesota

Where the Minnesota paralegal program numbers come from

Which Minnesota paralegal programs are on this list?

These are the paralegal programs Minnesota approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Minnesota offers.

How the prices and results of Minnesota paralegal programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about paralegal programs in Minnesota

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Paralegals and Legal Assistants
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List