Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

MRI tech school in Minnesota

2 MRI (magnetic resonance imaging) programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

2 schools offer these MRI programs, and Minnesota has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

MRI technologists operate magnetic resonance imaging scanners to make the images doctors use to diagnose patients. They typically need an associate degree, some start out as radiologic technologists, and few states require a license for MRI work.1

In Minnesota, both programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent.

By kind, the 2 programs here are MRI (associate degree, 1 program) and MRI certificate or course (1 program).

See the 2 programs

How much does MRI tech school cost in Minnesota?

$2,034 to $11,291

from the lowest-priced program to the highest, if you pay yourself

These two programs

Finished the program
47%
Working 6 months later
87%
Earned a year, estimated
about $76,600
Length
30 to 120 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Minnesota may also offer MRI tech school. How these figures are made

Is there free MRI tech school in Minnesota?

All 2 MRI programs in Minnesota approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

2 programs

  • MRI (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI)

    Rochester Community and Technical College

    Rochester

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Rochester Community and Technical College, RochesterMRI (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$76,600
    Price if you pay yourself$11,291
    Program website, Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) at Rochester Community and Technical College
    More details about Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) at Rochester Community and Technical College
    Finished
    47%
    Working at 6 months
    87%
    Earned in a quarter
    $19,138
    Length
    120 weeks, 50 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    49
    Earned a year, estimated
    $76,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $11,291
    Program website, Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) at Rochester Community and Technical College
  • MRI certificate or courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Magnetic Resonance Imaging

    Riverland Community College

    Based in Austin, MN

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Riverland Community College, based in Austin, MNMRI certificate or course · Accredited schoolOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$2,034
    Program website, Magnetic Resonance Imaging at Riverland Community College
    More details about Magnetic Resonance Imaging at Riverland Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    30 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $2,034
    Program website, Magnetic Resonance Imaging at Riverland Community College

How to pay for MRI tech school in Minnesota

WIOA funding can pay for MRI tech school in Minnesota

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for MRI tech school

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for MRI tech school

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Other training in Minnesota

How MRI tech school compares with the rest of allied health: Allied health programs in Minnesota

Where the Minnesota MRI program numbers come from

Which Minnesota MRI programs are on this list?

These are the MRI programs Minnesota approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Minnesota offers.

How the prices and results of Minnesota MRI programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about MRI tech school in Minnesota

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Radiologic and MRI Technologists
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List