Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Medication aide training in Kansas

15 medication aide programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

14 schools offer these medication aide programs, and Kansas has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Medication aides are nursing assistants who give residents and patients their medication. Whether a nursing assistant may do so depends on their training and their state, and some states offer an added credential for it, such as Certified Medication Assistant (CMA).1

In Kansas, 1 of the 15 programs takes students without a high school diploma and 14 ask for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 15 programs here are medication aide course (14 programs) and refresher or update course (1 program).

See the 15 programs

How much does medication aide training cost in Kansas?

$433 to $820 is what most medication aide programs in Kansas cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 15 programs with a price. All of them: $154 to $925

In the typical program

Finished the program
98%
Working 6 months later
81%
Earned a year, estimated
about $30,200
Length
6 to 16 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Kansas may also offer medication aide training. How these figures are made

Is there free medication aide training in Kansas?

All 15 medication aide programs in Kansas approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

15 programs

  • Refresher or update courseOnlineEducation and courses

    CMA Update ONLINE - Medication Aide Update

    We Care Online

    Based in Wichita, KS

    Education and courses

    We Care Online, based in Wichita, KSRefresher or update courseOnline · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$154
    Program website, CMA Update ONLINE - Medication Aide Update at We Care Online
    More details about CMA Update ONLINE - Medication Aide Update at We Care Online
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    1 week, 10 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    6,544
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $154
    Program website, CMA Update ONLINE - Medication Aide Update at We Care Online
  • Medication aide courseHybridEducation and courses

    Medication Aide CMA

    Allied Health Career Training LLC

    Wichita

    Education and courses

    Allied Health Career Training LLC, WichitaMedication aide courseHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$28,600
    Price if you pay yourself$629

    13 students trained with WIOA funding

    School website, Medication Aide CMA at Allied Health Career Training LLC
    More details about Medication Aide CMA at Allied Health Career Training LLC
    Finished
    74%
    Working at 6 months
    0%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,154
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    1,788
    Earned a year, estimated
    $28,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $629
    students trained with WIOA funding
    13
    School website, Medication Aide CMA at Allied Health Career Training LLC
  • Medication aide courseOnlineEducation and courses

    ONLINE Certified Medication Aide CMA

    We Care Online

    Based in Wichita, KS

    Education and courses

    We Care Online, based in Wichita, KSMedication aide courseOnline · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$769

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    School website, ONLINE Certified Medication Aide CMA at We Care Online
    More details about ONLINE Certified Medication Aide CMA at We Care Online
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $80
    Students counted
    1,708
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $769
    students trained with WIOA funding
    3
    School website, ONLINE Certified Medication Aide CMA at We Care Online
  • Medication aide courseHybridEducation and courses

    Certified Medication Aide

    Bethel House Training Insitute

    Wichita

    Education and courses

    Bethel House Training Insitute, WichitaMedication aide courseHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$47,800
    Price if you pay yourself$700

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    School website, Certified Medication Aide at Bethel House Training Insitute
    More details about Certified Medication Aide at Bethel House Training Insitute
    Finished
    95%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,960
    Length
    4 weeks, 3 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    253
    Earned a year, estimated
    $47,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $700
    students trained with WIOA funding
    3
    School website, Certified Medication Aide at Bethel House Training Insitute
  • Medication aide courseHybridEducation and courses

    Medication Aide

    Mid-America College of Health Sciences

    Merriam

    Education and courses

    Mid-America College of Health Sciences, MerriamMedication aide courseHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$36,800
    Price if you pay yourself$925

    4 students trained with WIOA funding

    School website, Medication Aide at Mid-America College of Health Sciences
    More details about Medication Aide at Mid-America College of Health Sciences
    Finished
    79%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $9,204
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $60
    Students counted
    158
    Earned a year, estimated
    $36,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $925
    students trained with WIOA funding
    4
    School website, Medication Aide at Mid-America College of Health Sciences
  • Medication aide courseHybridNo diploma needed

    Certified Medication Aide

    Neosho County Community College-Chanute

    Chanute

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Neosho County Community College-Chanute, ChanuteMedication aide course · Accredited schoolHybrid · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$14,400
    Price if you pay yourself$871
    Program website, Certified Medication Aide at Neosho County Community College-Chanute
    More details about Certified Medication Aide at Neosho County Community College-Chanute
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    20%
    Earned in a quarter
    $3,611
    Length
    16 weeks, 5 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $151
    Students counted
    132
    Earned a year, estimated
    $14,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $871
    Program website, Certified Medication Aide at Neosho County Community College-Chanute
  • Medication aide courseIn personEducation and courses

    Certified Medication Aide

    WSU Tech

    Wichita

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    WSU Tech, WichitaMedication aide course · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$397
    School website, Certified Medication Aide at WSU Tech
    More details about Certified Medication Aide at WSU Tech
    Finished
    93%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $94
    Students counted
    89
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $397
    School website, Certified Medication Aide at WSU Tech
  • Medication aide courseIn personEducation and courses

    Adult Health Care-Certified Medication Aide

    Barton County Community College (I)

    Great Bend

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Barton County Community College (I), Great BendMedication aide course · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$760
    More details about Adult Health Care-Certified Medication Aide at Barton County Community College (I)
    Finished
    89%
    Working at 6 months
    85%
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    15 weeks, 5 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $120
    Students counted
    47
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $760
  • Medication aide courseHybridEducation and courses

    Certified Medication Aide (CMA)

    Cowley College

    Arkansas City

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Cowley College, Arkansas CityMedication aide course · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$30,200
    Price if you pay yourself$469
    Program website, Certified Medication Aide (CMA) at Cowley College
    More details about Certified Medication Aide (CMA) at Cowley College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    77%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,540
    Length
    16 weeks, 4 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $240
    Students counted
    33
    Earned a year, estimated
    $30,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $469
    Program website, Certified Medication Aide (CMA) at Cowley College
  • Medication aide courseIn personPrerequisite courses

    Certified Medication Aide (CMA)

    Manhattan Area Technical College

    Manhattan

    Accredited school

    Prerequisite courses

    Manhattan Area Technical College, ManhattanMedication aide course · Accredited schoolIn person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$707
    School website, Certified Medication Aide (CMA) at Manhattan Area Technical College
    More details about Certified Medication Aide (CMA) at Manhattan Area Technical College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    6 weeks, 3 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $30
    Students counted
    14
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $707
    School website, Certified Medication Aide (CMA) at Manhattan Area Technical College
  • Medication aide courseIn personPrerequisite courses

    Allied Health - Geriatric & Medication Aide

    Fort Scott Community College (Fort Scott)

    Fort Scott

    Accredited school

    Prerequisite courses

    Fort Scott Community College (Fort Scott), Fort ScottMedication aide course · Accredited schoolIn person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$292
    School website, Allied Health - Geriatric & Medication Aide at Fort Scott Community College (Fort Scott)
    More details about Allied Health - Geriatric & Medication Aide at Fort Scott Community College (Fort Scott)
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $105
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $292
    School website, Allied Health - Geriatric & Medication Aide at Fort Scott Community College (Fort Scott)
  • Medication aide courseIn personPrerequisite courses

    Certified Medication Aide

    KCKCC Technical Education Center

    Kansas City

    Accredited school

    Prerequisite courses

    KCKCC Technical Education Center, Kansas CityMedication aide course · Accredited schoolIn person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$334
    School website, Certified Medication Aide at KCKCC Technical Education Center
    More details about Certified Medication Aide at KCKCC Technical Education Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $44
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $334
    School website, Certified Medication Aide at KCKCC Technical Education Center
  • Medication aide courseHybridEducation and courses

    Long Term Health Care-Certified Medication Aide

    Labette Community College

    Parsons

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Labette Community College, ParsonsMedication aide course · Accredited schoolHybrid · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$588
    School website, Long Term Health Care-Certified Medication Aide at Labette Community College
    More details about Long Term Health Care-Certified Medication Aide at Labette Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    16 weeks, 5 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $92
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $588
    School website, Long Term Health Care-Certified Medication Aide at Labette Community College
  • Medication aide courseIn personEducation and courses

    Certified Medication Aide (CMA)

    Trinity Career Institute

    Kansas City

    Education and courses

    Trinity Career Institute, Kansas CityMedication aide courseIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$875
    More details about Certified Medication Aide (CMA) at Trinity Career Institute
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Not reported
    Cost of supplies
    $90
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $875
  • Medication aide courseIn personEducation and courses

    Certified Medication Aide

    Flint Hills Technical College

    Emporia

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Flint Hills Technical College, EmporiaMedication aide course · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$905
    More details about Certified Medication Aide at Flint Hills Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    7 weeks, 3 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $130
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $905

How to pay for medication aide training in Kansas

WIOA funding can pay for medication aide training in Kansas

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for medication aide training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for medication aide training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Medication aide training in Kansas

programs with a price cost under $1,000
15 of 15
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
5th of 12
medication aide programs here, against the typical state's 3
15 vs 3

State comparisons use the same figures as the medication aide training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Medication aide training in Wichita, Kansas City, Great Bend and other Kansas cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 3 in smaller cities and towns and 2 online.

Other training in Kansas

How medication aide training compares with the rest of nursing and patient care: Nursing and patient care programs in Kansas

Where the Kansas medication aide program numbers come from

Which Kansas medication aide programs are on this list?

These are the medication aide programs Kansas approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Kansas offers.

How the prices and results of Kansas medication aide programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about medication aide training in Kansas

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Nursing Assistants and Orderlies
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List