Medical billing and coding training in New Jersey
19 medical billing and coding programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
13 schools offer these medical billing and coding programs, and New Jersey has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
Medical records specialists keep patient files and may classify patients' medical information into the numerical coding system the healthcare industry uses. Most start with a postsecondary certificate, some need an associate's degree, and certification may be required or preferred.1
In New Jersey, 9 of the 19 programs take students without a high school diploma and 10 ask for a diploma or equivalent.
By kind, the 19 programs here are billing and coding (13 programs), medical billing (2 programs), medical coding (2 programs) and medical office with billing (2 programs).
See the 19 programsHow much does medical billing and coding training cost in New Jersey?
$1,866 to $3,399 is what most medical billing and coding programs in New Jersey cost if you pay yourself
That is the middle half of the 19 programs with a price. All of them: $850 to $10,815
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- Not enough data
- 3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- None of the 19 programs report it
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- None of the 19 programs report it
- Length
- Not reported
- None of the 19 programs report it
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in New Jersey may also offer medical billing and coding training. How these figures are made
All 19 medical billing and coding programs in New Jersey approved for WIOA funding
Filters
19 programs
Medical Billing and Coding Specialist
National Career Institute East Orange PCS
East Orange
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,50011 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Medical Billing and Coding Specialist at National Career Institute East Orange PCSMore details about Medical Billing and Coding Specialist at National Career Institute East Orange PCS
- Finished
- 75%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $40
- Students counted
- 12
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,500
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 11
Online Certified Medical Billing and Cod
Academy of Allied Health Sciences PCS
Newark
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,583More details about Online Certified Medical Billing and Cod at Academy of Allied Health Sciences PCS
- Finished
- 83%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $80
- Students counted
- 12
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,583
Certified Medical Billing Coding Assoc
Academy of Allied Health Sciences PCS
Newark
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$10,8159 students trained with WIOA funding
More details about Certified Medical Billing Coding Assoc at Academy of Allied Health Sciences PCS
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $100
- Students counted
- 10
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,815
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 9
Medical Billing Specialist with Electron
Rutgers Center for Continuing Professional Development
New Brunswick
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$850Program website, Medical Billing Specialist with Electron at Rutgers Center for Continuing Professional DevelopmentMore details about Medical Billing Specialist with Electron at Rutgers Center for Continuing Professional Development
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $850
Medical Billing Coding Specialist
ComTec Institute East Orange PCS
Eastorange
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,100Program website, Medical Billing Coding Specialist at ComTec Institute East Orange PCSMore details about Medical Billing Coding Specialist at ComTec Institute East Orange PCS
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $100
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,100
Medical Billing Coding Specialist
American Institute of Medical Sciences Education Piscataway PCS
Piscataway
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,100Program website, Medical Billing Coding Specialist at American Institute of Medical Sciences Education Piscataway PCSMore details about Medical Billing Coding Specialist at American Institute of Medical Sciences Education Piscataway PCS
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $100
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,100
Medical Coding Specialist
Brookdale Community College Continuing Professional Education
Lincroft
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,833Program website, Medical Coding Specialist at Brookdale Community College Continuing Professional EducationMore details about Medical Coding Specialist at Brookdale Community College Continuing Professional Education
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $916
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,833
Medical Coding Specialist
Ace Healthcare Training Institute Inc. Union PCS
Union
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,833Program website, Medical Coding Specialist at Ace Healthcare Training Institute Inc. Union PCSMore details about Medical Coding Specialist at Ace Healthcare Training Institute Inc. Union PCS
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $916
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,833
Medical Billing and Coding
Mercer County Community College Certificate Programs NonCredit
West Windsor
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,899Program website, Medical Billing and Coding at Mercer County Community College Certificate Programs NonCreditMore details about Medical Billing and Coding at Mercer County Community College Certificate Programs NonCredit
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,899
Medical Billing and Coding
Eastwick College Hackensack
Hackensack
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,899Program website, Medical Billing and Coding at Eastwick College HackensackMore details about Medical Billing and Coding at Eastwick College Hackensack
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,899
Medical Billing and Coding Certified P
County College of Morris
Randolph
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,899Program website, Medical Billing and Coding Certified P at County College of MorrisMore details about Medical Billing and Coding Certified P at County College of Morris
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,899
CBCS Medical Billing and Coding wexam o
Rutgers Center for Continuing Professional Development
New Brunswick
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,995Program website, CBCS Medical Billing and Coding wexam o at Rutgers Center for Continuing Professional DevelopmentMore details about CBCS Medical Billing and Coding wexam o at Rutgers Center for Continuing Professional Development
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,995
Medical Insurance SpecialistMedical Bil
Ace Healthcare Training Institute Inc. Union PCS
Union
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,350Program website, Medical Insurance SpecialistMedical Bil at Ace Healthcare Training Institute Inc. Union PCSMore details about Medical Insurance SpecialistMedical Bil at Ace Healthcare Training Institute Inc. Union PCS
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $100
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,350
Certified Med. Admin Asst. wCertified E
Rutgers Center for Continuing Professional Development
New Brunswick
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,375Program website, Certified Med. Admin Asst. wCertified E at Rutgers Center for Continuing Professional DevelopmentMore details about Certified Med. Admin Asst. wCertified E at Rutgers Center for Continuing Professional Development
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,375
Medical Billing and Coding Specialist C
LasComp Institute of IT Hackensack PCS
Hackensack
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,399Program website, Medical Billing and Coding Specialist C at LasComp Institute of IT Hackensack PCSMore details about Medical Billing and Coding Specialist C at LasComp Institute of IT Hackensack PCS
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,399
Medical Billing and Coding Specialist C
LasComp Institute of IT Montvale
Montvale
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,399Program website, Medical Billing and Coding Specialist C at LasComp Institute of IT MontvaleMore details about Medical Billing and Coding Specialist C at LasComp Institute of IT Montvale
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,399
Medical Billing and Coding Specialist C
Ocean County College Continuing Professional Education
Toms River
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,399Program website, Medical Billing and Coding Specialist C at Ocean County College Continuing Professional EducationMore details about Medical Billing and Coding Specialist C at Ocean County College Continuing Professional Education
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,399
CBCS Administrative Medical Specialist w
Rutgers Center for Continuing Professional Development
New Brunswick
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$6,453Program website, CBCS Administrative Medical Specialist w at Rutgers Center for Continuing Professional DevelopmentMore details about CBCS Administrative Medical Specialist w at Rutgers Center for Continuing Professional Development
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $985
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $6,453
Certified Medical Billing Coding Speci
Academy of Allied Health Sciences PCS
Newark
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$10,815More details about Certified Medical Billing Coding Speci at Academy of Allied Health Sciences PCS
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $100
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,815
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for medical billing and coding training in New Jersey
WIOA funding can pay for medical billing and coding training in New Jersey
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for medical billing and coding training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for medical billing and coding training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: Medical billing and coding training in New Jersey
- programs with a price cost under $2,000
- 8 of 19
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 9th of 45
- medical billing and coding programs here, against the typical state's 16
- 19 vs 16
State comparisons use the same figures as the medical billing and coding training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
Medical billing and coding training in New York, Trenton and other New Jersey cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above.
Other training in New Jersey
How medical billing and coding training compares with the rest of medical office and lab work: Medical certification programs in New Jersey
- CDL training54 programs
- CNA classes16 programs
- Medical assistant training35 programs
- Phlebotomy training18 programs
- Welding classes12 programs
- HVAC training8 programs
- LPN programs12 programs
- EMT classes2 programs
- Electrician training12 programs
- Dental assistant programs3 programs
- Pharmacy technician training8 programs
- Plumbing school4 programs
- CNC machinist training2 programs
- Carpentry classes2 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training1 program
- Diesel mechanic training2 programs
- Cybersecurity training16 programs
- IT training30 programs
- Cosmetology school10 programs
- Esthetician school3 programs
- Nail tech school2 programs
- EKG technician programs3 programs
- Massage therapy school6 programs
- Paralegal programs5 programs
- Surgical tech programs2 programs
- Culinary school3 programs
- Home health aide training4 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training9 programs
- Human resources training14 programs
- Medication aide training1 program
- Early childhood education programs1 program
- Supply chain and logistics training8 programs
- Hospitality management programs1 program
- Addiction counselor training5 programs
- Coding and software development courses11 programs
- Sterile processing technician training5 programs
- Sonography school1 program
- Data analytics courses9 programs
- Administrative assistant training21 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses5 programs
- Digital marketing courses8 programs
- Web and graphic design courses10 programs
- Health information technology programs2 programs
- Vet tech programs2 programs
- Real estate school2 programs
- Security guard training1 program
- Patient care technician training13 programs
- OTA programs1 program
- Home inspector training2 programs
- RBT certification training1 program
- Human services programs2 programs
- Manufacturing technician training1 program
- Business administration programs9 programs
- Criminal justice programs1 program
- Dialysis technician training1 program
- Construction training programs2 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes16 programs
- RN programs2 programs
- Project management certification21 programs
Where the New Jersey medical billing and coding program numbers come from
Which New Jersey medical billing and coding programs are on this list?
These are the medical billing and coding programs New Jersey approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what New Jersey offers.
How the prices and results of New Jersey medical billing and coding programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
How reliable are the New Jersey figures?
The US Department of Labor's own results site lists New Jersey among the states with "known data quality concerns".10 The figures here are shown as the state reported them; check them with the school before you enroll.
Sources for the facts about medical billing and coding training in New Jersey
Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Records Specialists
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns