Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Coding and software development courses in New Jersey

11 coding and software programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

5 schools offer these software development programs, and New Jersey has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did. One school runs 5 of these 11 programs, so the typical figures lean heavily on its prices and results.

Computer programmers write, change and test the code that makes software and apps work. Most have a bachelor's degree, but some employers hire people with other training or experience in specific programming languages, and programmers can get certified in a language.1

In New Jersey, all 11 programs take students without a high school diploma.

By kind, the 11 programs here are programming language or developer tool course (7 programs), web development course (2 programs) and software testing and QA course (2 programs).

See the 11 programs

How much do coding and software development courses cost in New Jersey?

$2,495 to $4,000 is what most coding and software programs in New Jersey cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 11 programs with a price. All of them: $2,250 to $20,790

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not reported
None of the 11 programs report it
Working 6 months later
Not reported
None of the 11 programs report it
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
None of the 11 programs report it
Length
Not reported
None of the 11 programs report it

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in New Jersey may also offer coding and software development courses. How these figures are made

Are there free coding and software development courses in New Jersey?

All 11 coding and software programs in New Jersey approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

11 programs

How to pay for coding and software development courses in New Jersey

WIOA funding can pay for coding and software development courses in New Jersey

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for coding and software development courses

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for coding and software development courses

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Coding and software development courses in New Jersey

lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
5th of 32
coding and software programs here, against the typical state's 12
11 vs 12

State comparisons use the same figures as the coding and software development courses by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Other training in New Jersey

How coding and software development courses compare with the rest of computers and IT: IT certification programs in New Jersey

Where the New Jersey software development program numbers come from

Which New Jersey software development programs are on this list?

These are the software development programs New Jersey approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what New Jersey offers.

How the prices and results of New Jersey software development programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

How reliable are the New Jersey figures?

The US Department of Labor's own results site lists New Jersey among the states with "known data quality concerns".10 The figures here are shown as the state reported them; check them with the school before you enroll.

Sources for the facts about coding and software development courses in New Jersey

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Computer Programmers
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
  10. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns