Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

AutoCAD and drafting courses in New Jersey

5 CAD and drafting programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

2 schools offer these drafting programs, and New Jersey has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Drafters use computer-aided design (CAD) software to turn the designs of engineers and architects into technical drawings. Most complete an associate degree in drafting at a community college or technical school, about two years full time, while some earn a certificate or diploma that usually takes less time; certification isn't required.1

In New Jersey, 4 of the 5 programs take students without a high school diploma and 1 asks for a diploma or equivalent.

By kind, the 5 programs here are architectural drafting certificate (3 programs), drafting and design certificate or diploma (1 program) and SolidWorks, Revit and other CAD software course (1 program).

See the 5 programs

How much do CAD and drafting courses cost in New Jersey?

$2,950 to $5,975

from the lowest-priced program to the highest, if you pay yourself

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not enough data
1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
Working 6 months later
Not enough data
1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
Length
Not reported
None of the 5 programs report it

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in New Jersey may also offer CAD and drafting courses. How these figures are made

Are there free CAD and drafting courses in New Jersey?

All 5 CAD and drafting programs in New Jersey approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

5 programs

How to pay for CAD and drafting courses in New Jersey

WIOA funding can pay for CAD and drafting courses in New Jersey

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for CAD and drafting courses

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for CAD and drafting courses

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Other training in New Jersey

How CAD and drafting courses compare with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in New Jersey

Where the New Jersey drafting program numbers come from

Which New Jersey drafting programs are on this list?

These are the drafting programs New Jersey approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what New Jersey offers.

How the prices and results of New Jersey drafting programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

How reliable are the New Jersey figures?

The US Department of Labor's own results site lists New Jersey among the states with "known data quality concerns".10 The figures here are shown as the state reported them; check them with the school before you enroll.

Sources for the facts about CAD and drafting courses in New Jersey

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Drafters
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List
  10. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: search page, note on states with known data quality concerns