Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Medical administrative assistant training in Mississippi

13 medical office programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

12 schools offer these medical office administration programs, and Mississippi has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Medical secretaries and administrative assistants keep a medical office running: they take basic patient histories, arrange hospital admissions and process insurance payments. They need to know medical terms and codes, medical records and office procedures, which community colleges and technical schools teach.1

In Mississippi, all 13 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent.

By kind, the 13 programs here are medical office (associate degree, 8 programs), medical administrative assistant certificate or course (3 programs), medical office with billing and coding (1 program) and medical office program (level not stated, 1 program).

See the 13 programs

How much does medical administrative assistant training cost in Mississippi?

Two-year degrees (8 programs)
$4,866 to $8,940most of them, usually 46 to 62 weeks long
Other medical office administration programs (4 programs)
$500 to $14,460all 4 with a price

What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.

In the typical program

Finished the program
Left out
6 in 10 of Mississippi's programs report exactly 100%, far more than in other states
Working 6 months later
Not enough data
1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
Length
28 to 60 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Mississippi may also offer medical administrative assistant training. How these figures are made

Is there free medical administrative assistant training in Mississippi?

All 13 medical office programs in Mississippi approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

13 programs

  • Medical office with billing and codingIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Clerical/Billing Clerk

    Concorde Career College

    Southaven

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Concorde Career College, SouthavenMedical office with billing and coding · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$13,500
    Price if you pay yourself$14,460
    More details about Medical Clerical/Billing Clerk at Concorde Career College
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    30%
    Earned in a quarter
    $3,372
    Length
    30 weeks, 20 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,496
    Students counted
    395
    Earned a year, estimated
    $13,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $14,460
  • Medical administrative assistant certificate or courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Data Technology - Career Certificate

    Northeast at New Albany

    New Albany

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northeast at New Albany, New AlbanyMedical administrative assistant certificate or course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$500
    More details about Medical Data Technology - Career Certificate at Northeast at New Albany
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    20 weeks, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $500
  • Medical administrative assistant certificate or courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Data Technology - Career Certificate

    Northeast @ Corinth

    Corinth

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northeast @ Corinth, CorinthMedical administrative assistant certificate or course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$500
    More details about Medical Data Technology - Career Certificate at Northeast @ Corinth
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    20 weeks, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $500
  • Medical administrative assistant certificate or courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Data Technology - Career Certificate

    ICC Belden Center

    Belden

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    ICC Belden Center, BeldenMedical administrative assistant certificate or course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$650
    More details about Medical Data Technology - Career Certificate at ICC Belden Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    12 weeks, 8 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $650
  • Medical office (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Office Technology - Health Care Data

    Copiah-Lincoln Community College

    Natchez

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Copiah-Lincoln Community College, NatchezMedical office (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,520
    More details about Medical Office Technology - Health Care Data at Copiah-Lincoln Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    32 weeks, 23 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,000
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,520
  • Medical office (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Office Technology - Health Care Data

    Coahoma Community College - Clarksdale Main Campus

    Clarksdale

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Coahoma Community College - Clarksdale Main Campus, ClarksdaleMedical office (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,810
    More details about Medical Office Technology - Health Care Data at Coahoma Community College - Clarksdale Main Campus
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    Left out
    Cost of supplies
    $1,850
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,810
  • Medical office (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Office Technology

    Holmes Community College

    Ridgeland

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Holmes Community College, RidgelandMedical office (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,885
    More details about Medical Office Technology at Holmes Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    32 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $500
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,885
  • Medical office program (level not stated)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Office Technology - Health Care Data

    Northeast Mississippi Community College

    Booneville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northeast Mississippi Community College, BoonevilleMedical office program (level not stated) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$5,000
    More details about Medical Office Technology - Health Care Data at Northeast Mississippi Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $5,000
  • Medical office (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Mi-Best Healthcare Data - A.A.S.

    Southwest Mississippi Community College

    Summit

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Southwest Mississippi Community College, SummitMedical office (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$8,100
    More details about Mi-Best Healthcare Data - A.A.S. at Southwest Mississippi Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 19 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,400
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,100
  • Medical office (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Office Technology - Health Care Data

    Southwest Mississippi Community College

    Summit

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Southwest Mississippi Community College, SummitMedical office (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$8,200
    More details about Medical Office Technology - Health Care Data at Southwest Mississippi Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 19 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,600
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,200
  • Medical office (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Office Technology - Health Care Data

    JCJC Jasper County Center

    Bay Springs

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    JCJC Jasper County Center, Bay SpringsMedical office (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$8,940
    More details about Medical Office Technology - Health Care Data at JCJC Jasper County Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 28 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,800
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,940
  • Medical office (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Office Technology - Health Care Data

    Jones County Junior College

    Ellisville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Jones County Junior College, EllisvilleMedical office (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$8,940
    More details about Medical Office Technology - Health Care Data at Jones County Junior College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 28 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,800
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,940
  • Medical office (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Medical Office Technology - Health Care Data

    Meridian Community College

    Meridian

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Meridian Community College, MeridianMedical office (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$10,260
    More details about Medical Office Technology - Health Care Data at Meridian Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 19 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $915
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,260

How to pay for medical administrative assistant training in Mississippi

WIOA funding can pay for medical administrative assistant training in Mississippi

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for medical administrative assistant training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for medical administrative assistant training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Medical administrative assistant training in Mississippi

programs with a price cost under $3,000
3 of 13
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
27th of 35
medical office programs here, against the typical state's 10
13 vs 10

State comparisons use the same figures as the medical administrative assistant training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Medical administrative assistant training in McComb, Laurel, Memphis and other Mississippi cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 3 more programs are in 3 other areas, 2 in smaller cities and towns.

Other training in Mississippi

How medical administrative assistant training compares with the rest of medical office and lab work: Medical certification programs in Mississippi

Where the Mississippi medical office administration program numbers come from

Which Mississippi medical office administration programs are on this list?

These are the medical office administration programs Mississippi approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Mississippi offers.

How the prices and results of Mississippi medical office administration programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

How reliable are the Mississippi figures?

We leave out the share who finished for Mississippi: 6 in 10 of its programs report exactly 100%, far more than in other states.

Sources for the facts about medical administrative assistant training in Mississippi

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Secretaries and Administrative Assistants
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List