Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Health information technology programs in Mississippi

3 health information programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

3 schools offer these health information technology programs, and Mississippi has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Health information technologists and medical registrars help design electronic healthcare systems and analyze clinical data; some specialize in electronic health records systems, including setting them up and training staff. Most need at least an associate degree in health information management or a related field, and employers may prefer certification or expect it after hiring.1

In Mississippi, all 3 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent.

All 3 are the same kind of program: health information technology (associate degree).

See the 3 programs

How much do health information technology programs cost in Mississippi?

$6,225 to $8,853

is what the 3 programs with a price cost if you pay yourself

In the typical program

Finished the program
Left out
6 in 10 of Mississippi's programs report exactly 100%, far more than in other states
Working 6 months later
Not enough data
1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
Earned a year, estimated
Not enough data
1 program reports it; a typical figure needs 5
Length
Not enough data
3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Mississippi may also offer health information technology programs. How these figures are made

Are there free health information technology programs in Mississippi?

All 3 health information programs in Mississippi approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

3 programs

  • Health information technology (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Health Information Tech

    Itawamba Community College

    Tupelo

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Itawamba Community College, TupeloHealth information technology (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$31,700
    Price if you pay yourself$6,225

    3 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Health Information Tech at Itawamba Community College
    Finished
    Left out
    Working at 6 months
    82%
    Earned in a quarter
    $7,927
    Length
    60 weeks, 19 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,750
    Students counted
    68
    Earned a year, estimated
    $31,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,225
    students trained with WIOA funding
    3
  • Health information technology (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Health Information Tech

    Southwest Mississippi Community College

    Summit

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Southwest Mississippi Community College, SummitHealth information technology (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$8,200
    More details about Health Information Tech at Southwest Mississippi Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 23 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,400
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,200
  • Health information technology (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Health Information Tech

    Hinds Community College - Nursing and Allied Health Center

    Jackson

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Hinds Community College - Nursing and Allied Health Center, JacksonHealth information technology (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$8,853
    More details about Health Information Tech at Hinds Community College - Nursing and Allied Health Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    68 weeks, 17 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,125
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,853

How to pay for health information technology programs in Mississippi

WIOA funding can pay for health information technology programs in Mississippi

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for health information technology programs

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for health information technology programs

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Health information technology programs in Tupelo, McComb, Jackson and other Mississippi cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above.

Other training in Mississippi

How health information technology programs compare with the rest of medical office and lab work: Medical certification programs in Mississippi

Where the Mississippi health information technology program numbers come from

Which Mississippi health information technology programs are on this list?

These are the health information technology programs Mississippi approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Mississippi offers.

How the prices and results of Mississippi health information technology programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

How reliable are the Mississippi figures?

We leave out the share who finished for Mississippi: 6 in 10 of its programs report exactly 100%, far more than in other states.

Sources for the facts about health information technology programs in Mississippi

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Health Information Technologists and Medical Registrars
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List