Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Lineman school in Georgia

9 lineman programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

7 schools offer these lineman programs, and Georgia has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Electrical power-line installers and repairers put up and repair the cables and wires that carry electricity, and may erect poles and transmission towers. Most start with a high school diploma and learn in an apprenticeship or employer training program of up to three years; some community colleges offer one-year certificates and two-year degrees.1

In Georgia, all 9 programs ask for a high school diploma or equivalent.

By kind, the 9 programs here are lineworker certificate or course (4 programs), communications lineworker or fiber optic course (1 program), pre-apprenticeship lineworker training (1 program), substation or utility technician (associate degree, 1 program), and 2 more of 2 other kinds.

See the 9 programs

How much does lineman school cost in Georgia?

$1,399 to $7,500 is what most lineman programs in Georgia cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 9 programs with a price. All of them: $1,368 to $8,815

In the typical program

Finished the program
88%
Working 6 months later
86%
Earned a year, estimated
about $48,400
Length
8 to 35 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Georgia may also offer lineman school. How these figures are made

Is there free lineman school in Georgia?

All 9 lineman programs in Georgia approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

9 programs

  • Lineworker certificate or courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Electrical Lineworker Program

    Southeast Lineman Training Center

    Trenton

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Southeast Lineman Training Center, TrentonLineworker certificate or courseIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$50,900
    Price if you pay yourself$6,000

    5 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Electrical Lineworker Program at Southeast Lineman Training Center
    Finished
    85%
    Working at 6 months
    88%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,732
    Length
    15 weeks, 32 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,930
    Students counted
    2,591
    Earned a year, estimated
    $50,900
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,000
    students trained with WIOA funding
    5
  • Lineworker certificate or courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Electrical Lineworker Certificate--EL11

    North Georgia Technical College

    Clarkesville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    North Georgia Technical College, ClarkesvilleLineworker certificate or course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$46,600
    Price if you pay yourself$1,368
    More details about Electrical Lineworker Certificate--EL11 at North Georgia Technical College
    Finished
    96%
    Working at 6 months
    87%
    Earned in a quarter
    $11,646
    Length
    8 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $435
    Students counted
    139
    Earned a year, estimated
    $46,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,368
  • Communications lineworker or fiber optic courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Communications Lineworker Program

    Southeast Lineman Training Center

    Trenton

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Southeast Lineman Training Center, TrentonCommunications lineworker or fiber optic courseIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$48,700
    Price if you pay yourself$6,500

    8 students trained with WIOA funding

    More details about Communications Lineworker Program at Southeast Lineman Training Center
    Finished
    78%
    Working at 6 months
    85%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,174
    Length
    7 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    139
    Earned a year, estimated
    $48,700
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,500
    students trained with WIOA funding
    8
  • Pre-apprenticeship lineworker trainingIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Pre-Apprentice Electrical Lineworker - Certificate

    George C Wallace Community College

    Dothan, AL

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    George C Wallace Community College, Dothan, ALPre-apprenticeship lineworker training · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Classes are outside Georgia; Georgia approved the program for its funding.

    Earned a year, estimated$48,200
    Price if you pay yourself$4,150
    Program website, Pre-Apprentice Electrical Lineworker - Certificate at George C Wallace Community College
    More details about Pre-Apprentice Electrical Lineworker - Certificate at George C Wallace Community College
    Finished
    90%
    Working at 6 months
    68%
    Earned in a quarter
    $12,038
    Length
    7 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    130
    Earned a year, estimated
    $48,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,150
    Program website, Pre-Apprentice Electrical Lineworker - Certificate at George C Wallace Community College
  • Substation or utility technician (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    ELECTRICAL UTILITY TECHNOLOGY Degree--EU13

    Lanier Technical College

    Gainesville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Lanier Technical College, GainesvilleSubstation or utility technician (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$43,200
    Price if you pay yourself$8,815
    School website, ELECTRICAL UTILITY TECHNOLOGY Degree--EU13 at Lanier Technical College
    More details about ELECTRICAL UTILITY TECHNOLOGY Degree--EU13 at Lanier Technical College
    Finished
    24%
    Working at 6 months
    81%
    Earned in a quarter
    $10,801
    Length
    75 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,482
    Students counted
    57
    Earned a year, estimated
    $43,200
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,815
    School website, ELECTRICAL UTILITY TECHNOLOGY Degree--EU13 at Lanier Technical College
  • Lineworker certificate or courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Electrical Lineworker, Tcc--El11

    Coastal Pines Technical College

    Waycross

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Coastal Pines Technical College, WaycrossLineworker certificate or course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,392
    More details about Electrical Lineworker, Tcc--El11 at Coastal Pines Technical College
    Finished
    71%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    15 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $400
    Students counted
    52
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,392
  • Lineworker certificate or courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Electrical Lineworker Apprentice--El11

    South Georgia Technical College

    Americus

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    South Georgia Technical College, AmericusLineworker certificate or course · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$1,399
    School website, Electrical Lineworker Apprentice--El11 at South Georgia Technical College
    More details about Electrical Lineworker Apprentice--El11 at South Georgia Technical College
    Finished
    96%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    35 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,200
    Students counted
    48
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,399
    School website, Electrical Lineworker Apprentice--El11 at South Georgia Technical College
  • Lineworker training with CDLIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Electrical Line worker Program

    Georgia Northwestern Technical College

    Rome

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Georgia Northwestern Technical College, RomeLineworker training with CDL · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$66,000
    Price if you pay yourself$7,500

    9 students trained with WIOA funding

    School website, Electrical Line worker Program at Georgia Northwestern Technical College
    More details about Electrical Line worker Program at Georgia Northwestern Technical College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    100%
    Earned in a quarter
    $16,494
    Length
    10 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    11
    Earned a year, estimated
    $66,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $7,500
    students trained with WIOA funding
    9
    School website, Electrical Line worker Program at Georgia Northwestern Technical College
  • Substation or utility technicianHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    ELECTRICAL UTILITY Diploma (EU14)

    Lanier Technical College

    Gainesville

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Lanier Technical College, GainesvilleSubstation or utility technician · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$7,715
    School website, ELECTRICAL UTILITY Diploma (EU14) at Lanier Technical College
    More details about ELECTRICAL UTILITY Diploma (EU14) at Lanier Technical College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    75 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,064
    Students counted
    12
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $7,715
    School website, ELECTRICAL UTILITY Diploma (EU14) at Lanier Technical College

How to pay for lineman school in Georgia

WIOA funding can pay for lineman school in Georgia

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for lineman school

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for lineman school

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Lineman school in Georgia

programs with a price cost under $2,000
3 of 9
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
6th of 15
other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
8 of 10
lineman programs here, against the typical state's 4
9 vs 4

State comparisons use the same figures as the lineman school by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Lineman school in Chattanooga, Gainesville, Cornelia and other Georgia cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 1 more program is in 1 other area.

Other training in Georgia

How lineman school compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in Georgia

Where the Georgia lineman program numbers come from

Which Georgia lineman programs are on this list?

These are the lineman programs Georgia approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Georgia offers.

How the prices and results of Georgia lineman programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about lineman school in Georgia

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Line Installers and Repairers
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List