Business and office training in Iowa
127 business and office programs in 10 fields of business and office work, with costs, results and funding that can make them free
25 schools offer these programs, and Iowa has approved every one for workforce funding. Compare the 10 fields below, then open one to see each program with its price and how past students did.
Business and office training covers office work most employers need: business administration and management, accounting and bookkeeping, customer service, human resources, project management and paralegal work, and the courses that lead to a real estate or insurance license, along with interpreter and translator training. Most are certificates or short courses; some are two-year degrees.
All job training programs in Iowa, every line of work
Accredited business schools in Iowa, each school with its accreditor
Business and office training by state, to compare Iowa with other states
Compare business and office programs in Iowa: cost, pay and results
Accounting and bookkeeping classes
32 programs at 14 schools
- Most cost
- $3,793 to $12,866
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $35,200
- Working 6 months later
- 80%
- Finished
- 31%
Administrative assistant training
32 programs at 13 schools
- Most cost
- $3,363 to $12,592
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $28,800
- Working 6 months later
- 77%
- Finished
- 41%
Business administration programs
26 programs at 14 schools
- Most cost
- $4,792 to $12,974
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $28,800
- Working 6 months later
- 79%
- Finished
- 21%
Project management certification
10 programs at 6 schools
- Most cost
- $1,652 to $4,000
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Paralegal programs
10 programs at 7 schools
- Most cost
- $2,695 to $13,376
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $34,700
- Working 6 months later
- 82%
- Finished
- 19%
Human resources training
6 programs at 5 schools
- Most cost
- $2,430 to $11,413
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Digital marketing courses
5 programs at 5 schools
- Most cost
- $5,000 to $10,985
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Customer service training
4 programs at 3 schools
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Interpreter and translator training
1 program at one school
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Working 6 months later
- Not reported
- Finished
- Not reported
Insurance license courses
1 program at one school
- Most cost
- Not enough data
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not enough data
- Working 6 months later
- Not enough data
- Finished
- Not enough data
Each figure is the middle program of that field. Yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are counted; other schools in Iowa may offer more. How these figures are made
Other job training in Iowa, by line of work
- Trade school programs200
- IT certification programs90
- Medical certification programs85
- Allied health programs70
- Nursing and patient care programs69
- Child care and social services training45
- Transportation and logistics training44
- First responder training33
- Beauty school25
- Culinary and hospitality programs18
- All job training in Iowa806
Programs approved in Iowa in each line of work.
Where the Iowa business and office numbers come from
Which Iowa programs are counted?
Programs Iowa approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act) in the fields listed above. Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).5 They come from the US Department of Labor's file for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025), covering programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Iowa offers.
What the figures for each field mean
Each figure is the middle program among those that report it: half did better, half did worse. Prices are what most programs cost if you pay yourself (the middle half). Earnings are for the second quarter after students left, times four. Where a figure is missing, the table says why: "Not reported", "Left out" or "Not enough data" (what each means).
Sources for the funding facts about business and office programs in Iowa
Show the 5 sourcesHide the sources
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List