HVAC training in Wisconsin
25 HVAC training programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free
13 schools offer these HVAC programs, and Wisconsin has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.
HVAC technicians work on heating, ventilation, cooling and refrigeration systems. Most train in a certificate program, which usually includes the EPA refrigerant exam that nearly all technicians must pass, and some states also require a license.1
In Wisconsin, 6 of the 25 programs take students without a high school diploma, 18 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 1 asks for earlier courses first.
By kind, the 25 programs here are HVAC technician (17 programs), HVAC (associate degree, 5 programs), refrigeration (2 programs) and boiler operation (1 program).
See the 25 programsHow much does HVAC training cost in Wisconsin?
- Certificates and short courses (20 programs)
- $2,885 to $6,149most of them, usually 20 to 51 weeks long
- Two-year degrees (5 programs)
- $10,013 to $11,119most of them, usually 64 weeks long
What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.
In the typical program
- Finished the program
- 69%
- Working 6 months later
- 84%
- Earned a year, estimated
- about $44,100
- Length
- 30 to 64 weeks
Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Wisconsin may also offer HVAC training. How these figures are made
All 25 HVAC training programs in Wisconsin approved for WIOA funding
Filters
25 programs
Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Technology
Milwaukee Area Technical College
Milwaukee
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$42,000Price if you pay yourself$9,152Program website, Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Technology at Milwaukee Area Technical CollegeMore details about Air Conditioning & Refrigeration Technology at Milwaukee Area Technical College
- Finished
- 19%
- Working at 6 months
- 70%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,505
- Length
- 64 weeks, 19 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $5,010
- Students counted
- 262
- Earned a year, estimated
- $42,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,152
Refrigeration, Air Conditioning & Heating Service
Gateway Technical College
Kenosha
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$39,200Price if you pay yourself$7,210Program website, Refrigeration, Air Conditioning & Heating Service at Gateway Technical CollegeMore details about Refrigeration, Air Conditioning & Heating Service at Gateway Technical College
- Finished
- 48%
- Working at 6 months
- 69%
- Earned in a quarter
- $9,796
- Length
- 30 weeks, 35 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 257
- Earned a year, estimated
- $39,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $7,210
Air Conditioning, Heating, & Refrigeration Tech.
Chippewa Valley Technical College
Eau Claire
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$35,600Price if you pay yourself$5,523Program website, Air Conditioning, Heating, & Refrigeration Tech. at Chippewa Valley Technical CollegeMore details about Air Conditioning, Heating, & Refrigeration Tech. at Chippewa Valley Technical College
- Finished
- 79%
- Working at 6 months
- 83%
- Earned in a quarter
- $8,900
- Length
- 32 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,693
- Students counted
- 233
- Earned a year, estimated
- $35,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,523
Refrigeration, Air Conditioning & Heating Tech
Waukesha County Technical College
Pewaukee
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$45,600Price if you pay yourself$4,111Program website, Refrigeration, Air Conditioning & Heating Tech at Waukesha County Technical CollegeMore details about Refrigeration, Air Conditioning & Heating Tech at Waukesha County Technical College
- Finished
- 69%
- Working at 6 months
- 87%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,405
- Length
- 48 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 156
- Earned a year, estimated
- $45,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,111
Air Cond, Htg & Refrig Technology
Western Technical College
La Crosse
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$40,600Price if you pay yourself$10,0133 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Air Cond, Htg & Refrig Technology at Western Technical CollegeMore details about Air Cond, Htg & Refrig Technology at Western Technical College
- Finished
- 52%
- Working at 6 months
- 73%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,161
- Length
- 60 weeks, 21 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 138
- Earned a year, estimated
- $40,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,013
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 3
Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrig
Blackhawk Technical College
Janesville
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$40,800Price if you pay yourself$10,6853 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrig at Blackhawk Technical CollegeMore details about Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrig at Blackhawk Technical College
- Finished
- 15%
- Working at 6 months
- 62%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,192
- Length
- 64 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 117
- Earned a year, estimated
- $40,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,685
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 3
Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning
Mid-State Technical College
Wisconsin Rapids
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$40,800Price if you pay yourself$4,3816 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning at Mid-State Technical CollegeMore details about Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning at Mid-State Technical College
- Finished
- 71%
- Working at 6 months
- 79%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,207
- Length
- 32 weeks, 13 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $789
- Students counted
- 103
- Earned a year, estimated
- $40,800
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,381
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 6
Refrigeration, Air Conditioning & Heating
Western Technical College
La Crosse
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$41,500Price if you pay yourself$4,925Program website, Refrigeration, Air Conditioning & Heating at Western Technical CollegeMore details about Refrigeration, Air Conditioning & Heating at Western Technical College
- Finished
- 60%
- Working at 6 months
- 77%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,367
- Length
- 30 weeks, 23 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 92
- Earned a year, estimated
- $41,500
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,925
Industrial Mechanic- HVAC
Madison Area Technical College
Madison
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$51,000Price if you pay yourself$5,795School website, Industrial Mechanic- HVAC at Madison Area Technical CollegeMore details about Industrial Mechanic- HVAC at Madison Area Technical College
- Finished
- 68%
- Working at 6 months
- 75%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,746
- Length
- 32 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 82
- Earned a year, estimated
- $51,000
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,795
HVAC Installer/Servicer Apprenticeship
Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
Green Bay
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$46,600Price if you pay yourself$9,327Program website, HVAC Installer/Servicer Apprenticeship at Northeast Wisconsin Technical CollegeMore details about HVAC Installer/Servicer Apprenticeship at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
- Finished
- 76%
- Working at 6 months
- 89%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,655
- Length
- 120 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,200
- Students counted
- 82
- Earned a year, estimated
- $46,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,327
HVAC Technical Diploma
Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
Green Bay
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$46,600Price if you pay yourself$9,327Program website, HVAC Technical Diploma at Northeast Wisconsin Technical CollegeMore details about HVAC Technical Diploma at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
- Finished
- 76%
- Working at 6 months
- 89%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,655
- Length
- 64 weeks, 13 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,200
- Students counted
- 82
- Earned a year, estimated
- $46,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,327
Air Conditioning, Heating, & Refrigeration Technology (HVAC)
Madison Area Technical College
Madison
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$44,600Price if you pay yourself$10,303Program website, Air Conditioning, Heating, & Refrigeration Technology (HVAC) at Madison Area Technical CollegeMore details about Air Conditioning, Heating, & Refrigeration Technology (HVAC) at Madison Area Technical College
- Finished
- 36%
- Working at 6 months
- 81%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,138
- Length
- 64 weeks, 20 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 79
- Earned a year, estimated
- $44,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $10,303
HVAC Installation Technician
Moraine Park Technical College
Fond du Lac
Accredited school
Education and courses
Earned a year, estimated$43,200Price if you pay yourself$4,386Program website, HVAC Installation Technician at Moraine Park Technical CollegeMore details about HVAC Installation Technician at Moraine Park Technical College
- Finished
- 57%
- Working at 6 months
- 88%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,812
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $868
- Students counted
- 73
- Earned a year, estimated
- $43,200
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,386
Air Conditioning, Heating & Refrigeration (HVAC)
Chippewa Valley Technical College
Eau Claire
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$43,600Price if you pay yourself$12,1084 students trained with WIOA funding
Program website, Air Conditioning, Heating & Refrigeration (HVAC) at Chippewa Valley Technical CollegeMore details about Air Conditioning, Heating & Refrigeration (HVAC) at Chippewa Valley Technical College
- Finished
- 98%
- Working at 6 months
- 86%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,897
- Length
- 64 weeks, 29 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,996
- Students counted
- 54
- Earned a year, estimated
- $43,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $12,108
- students trained with WIOA funding
- 4
Power Engineering and Boiler Operator
Milwaukee Area Technical College
Milwaukee
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$52,100Price if you pay yourself$3,017Program website, Power Engineering and Boiler Operator at Milwaukee Area Technical CollegeMore details about Power Engineering and Boiler Operator at Milwaukee Area Technical College
- Finished
- 36%
- Working at 6 months
- 80%
- Earned in a quarter
- $13,019
- Length
- 32 weeks, 30 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $854
- Students counted
- 51
- Earned a year, estimated
- $52,100
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,017
HVAC & Building Trades Fundamentals
Lakeshore Technical College
Cleveland
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimated$42,600Price if you pay yourself$5,168Program website, HVAC & Building Trades Fundamentals at Lakeshore Technical CollegeMore details about HVAC & Building Trades Fundamentals at Lakeshore Technical College
- Finished
- 58%
- Working at 6 months
- 84%
- Earned in a quarter
- $10,651
- Length
- Not reported
- Cost of supplies
- $948
- Students counted
- 48
- Earned a year, estimated
- $42,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $5,168
Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrig.
Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
Green Bay
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$48,900Price if you pay yourself$11,119Program website, Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrig. at Northeast Wisconsin Technical CollegeMore details about Heating, Ventilation, Air Conditioning and Refrig. at Northeast Wisconsin Technical College
- Finished
- 82%
- Working at 6 months
- 92%
- Earned in a quarter
- $12,227
- Length
- 90 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $3,600
- Students counted
- 34
- Earned a year, estimated
- $48,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $11,119
Air Conditioning
Chippewa Valley Technical College
Eau Claire
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$44,600Price if you pay yourself$1,538Program website, Air Conditioning at Chippewa Valley Technical CollegeMore details about Air Conditioning at Chippewa Valley Technical College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,156
- Length
- 16 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 15
- Earned a year, estimated
- $44,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,538
Oil, Electric & Hydronic Heating
Chippewa Valley Technical College
Eau Claire
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$44,600Price if you pay yourself$1,352Program website, Oil, Electric & Hydronic Heating at Chippewa Valley Technical CollegeMore details about Oil, Electric & Hydronic Heating at Chippewa Valley Technical College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 100%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,158
- Length
- 16 weeks, 14 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 12
- Earned a year, estimated
- $44,600
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,352
Gas Heating & Airflow
Chippewa Valley Technical College
Eau Claire
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimated$47,900Price if you pay yourself$1,538Program website, Gas Heating & Airflow at Chippewa Valley Technical CollegeMore details about Gas Heating & Airflow at Chippewa Valley Technical College
- Finished
- 100%
- Working at 6 months
- 91%
- Earned in a quarter
- $11,964
- Length
- 16 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- 12
- Earned a year, estimated
- $47,900
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,538
Refrigeration
Chippewa Valley Technical College
Eau Claire
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$1,538Program website, Refrigeration at Chippewa Valley Technical CollegeMore details about Refrigeration at Chippewa Valley Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 16 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $1,538
Refrigeration Essentials
Northwood Technical College
Rice Lake
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$2,489Program website, Refrigeration Essentials at Northwood Technical CollegeMore details about Refrigeration Essentials at Northwood Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 16 weeks, 28 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $2,489
HVAC/R Technician (Vouchers Included)
University of Wisconsin-River Falls, Continuing Education
Based in River Falls, WI
Accredited school
High school diploma or equivalent
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$3,045Program website, HVAC/R Technician (Vouchers Included) at University of Wisconsin-River Falls, Continuing EducationMore details about HVAC/R Technician (Vouchers Included) at University of Wisconsin-River Falls, Continuing Education
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 52 weeks, 3 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $3,045
HVAC Installation Technician
Northwood Technical College
Rice Lake
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$4,777Program website, HVAC Installation Technician at Northwood Technical CollegeMore details about HVAC Installation Technician at Northwood Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 32 weeks, 28 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- None listed
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $4,777
Heating, Ventilation, Air Condit & Refrigeration
Northwood Technical College
Rice Lake
Accredited school
No diploma needed
Earned a year, estimatedNot reportedPrice if you pay yourself$9,756Program website, Heating, Ventilation, Air Condit & Refrigeration at Northwood Technical CollegeMore details about Heating, Ventilation, Air Condit & Refrigeration at Northwood Technical College
- Finished
- Not reported
- Working at 6 months
- Not reported
- Earned in a quarter
- Not reported
- Length
- 64 weeks, 28 hours a week
- Cost of supplies
- $1,050
- Students counted
- Not reported
- Earned a year, estimated
- Not reported
- Price if you pay yourself
- $9,756
No programs match these filters.
How to pay for HVAC training in Wisconsin
WIOA funding can pay for HVAC training in Wisconsin
Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?
Financial aid and grants for HVAC training
Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67
GI Bill for HVAC training
Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8
The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.
Quick facts: HVAC training in Wisconsin
- programs with a price cost under $3,000
- 5 of 25
- lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
- 22nd of 38
- other states where the typical program's graduates earned less
- 17 of 22
- HVAC training programs here, against the typical state's 15
- 25 vs 15
State comparisons use the same figures as the HVAC training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).
HVAC training in Eau Claire, Milwaukee, Green Bay and other Wisconsin cities
Choosing an area filters the program list above. 4 more programs are in 4 other areas, 1 in smaller cities and towns and 1 online.
Other training in Wisconsin
How HVAC training compares with the rest of skilled trades: Trade school programs in Wisconsin
- CDL training35 programs
- CNA classes36 programs
- Medical assistant training33 programs
- Phlebotomy training18 programs
- Welding classes53 programs
- Medical billing and coding training28 programs
- LPN programs9 programs
- EMT classes53 programs
- Electrician training17 programs
- Dental assistant programs18 programs
- Auto mechanic classes43 programs
- Pharmacy technician training12 programs
- Plumbing school9 programs
- CNC machinist training40 programs
- Carpentry classes17 programs
- Heavy equipment operator training4 programs
- Diesel mechanic training20 programs
- Cybersecurity training21 programs
- IT training70 programs
- Cosmetology school13 programs
- Barber school6 programs
- Esthetician school7 programs
- Nail tech school9 programs
- EKG technician programs2 programs
- Massage therapy school7 programs
- Paralegal programs16 programs
- Fire academy14 programs
- Police academy13 programs
- Surgical tech programs14 programs
- Radiology tech programs8 programs
- Culinary school34 programs
- Home health aide training20 programs
- PTA programs5 programs
- Medical administrative assistant training26 programs
- Human resources training36 programs
- Medication aide training2 programs
- Industrial maintenance technician training63 programs
- Early childhood education programs51 programs
- Aircraft mechanic school2 programs
- Supply chain and logistics training27 programs
- Hospitality management programs20 programs
- Addiction counselor training15 programs
- Community health worker training3 programs
- Coding and software development courses30 programs
- Lineman school8 programs
- Sterile processing technician training2 programs
- Sonography school4 programs
- Data analytics courses12 programs
- Administrative assistant training53 programs
- Respiratory therapy programs7 programs
- Medical lab technician programs13 programs
- AutoCAD and drafting courses22 programs
- Digital marketing courses23 programs
- Web and graphic design courses29 programs
- Health information technology programs15 programs
- Vet tech programs9 programs
- Real estate school6 programs
- Security guard training3 programs
- OTA programs4 programs
- Crane operator training4 programs
- Interpreter and translator training2 programs
- Forklift certification1 program
- Personal trainer certification2 programs
- Healthcare administration programs8 programs
- Customer service training11 programs
- Flight school2 programs
- Cardiovascular technology programs1 program
- Human services programs10 programs
- Manufacturing technician training33 programs
- Electronics technician training19 programs
- Business administration programs79 programs
- Criminal justice programs22 programs
- Teacher assistant certification17 programs
- Auto body repair classes10 programs
- Solar and wind technician training6 programs
- Water treatment operator training2 programs
- OSHA safety training7 programs
- Dialysis technician training1 program
- Optician training3 programs
- Masonry training3 programs
- Insurance license courses1 program
- Construction training programs12 programs
- Dental hygiene programs7 programs
- Accounting and bookkeeping classes51 programs
- RN programs20 programs
- Project management certification21 programs
Where the Wisconsin HVAC program numbers come from
Which Wisconsin HVAC programs are on this list?
These are the HVAC programs Wisconsin approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Wisconsin offers.
How the prices and results of Wisconsin HVAC programs are measured
Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.
Sources for the facts about HVAC training in Wisconsin
Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Mechanics and Installers
- US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
- US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
- Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
- US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
- US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
- US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
- US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List