Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Human services programs in Michigan

11 human services programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

9 schools offer these human services programs, and Michigan has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Social and human service assistants help clients in fields such as psychology, rehabilitation and social work. Most need at least a high school diploma and learn on the job, though some employers prefer an associate's or bachelor's degree in human services or a related field.1

In Michigan, 1 of the 11 programs takes students without a high school diploma, 8 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 2 ask for earlier courses first.

By kind, the 11 programs here are human services or social work (associate degree, 7 programs), human services certificate (3 programs) and case management and eligibility worker course (1 program).

See the 11 programs

How much do human services programs cost in Michigan?

Two-year degrees (7 programs)
$8,928 to $11,532most of them, usually 60 to 70 weeks long
Other human services programs (4 programs)
$1,350 to $6,870all 4 with a price

What you pay yourself for the whole program, as the schools report it. "Most" is the middle half of the programs with a price.

In the typical program

Finished the program
32%
Working 6 months later
73%
Earned a year, estimated
about $24,600
Length
60 to 70 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Michigan may also offer human services programs. How these figures are made

Are there free human services programs in Michigan?

All 11 human services programs in Michigan approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

11 programs

  • Human services or social work (associate degree)In personPrerequisite courses

    Mental Health and Pre-Social Work

    Oakland Community College

    Bloomfield Hills

    Accredited school

    Prerequisite courses

    Oakland Community College, Bloomfield HillsHuman services or social work (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimated$24,600
    Price if you pay yourself$6,970
    Program website, Mental Health and Pre-Social Work at Oakland Community College
    More details about Mental Health and Pre-Social Work at Oakland Community College
    Finished
    23%
    Working at 6 months
    73%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,148
    Length
    75 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    767
    Earned a year, estimated
    $24,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,970
    Program website, Mental Health and Pre-Social Work at Oakland Community College
  • Human services or social work (associate degree)In personNo diploma needed

    Human Services

    Washtenaw Community College

    Ann Arbor

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Washtenaw Community College, Ann ArborHuman services or social work (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimated$26,500
    Price if you pay yourself$12,135
    Program website, Human Services at Washtenaw Community College
    More details about Human Services at Washtenaw Community College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    73%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,631
    Length
    60 weeks, 19 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $2,900
    Students counted
    329
    Earned a year, estimated
    $26,500
    Price if you pay yourself
    $12,135
    Program website, Human Services at Washtenaw Community College
  • Human services or social work (associate degree)In personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Social Work Technician

    Mott Community College

    Flint

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Mott Community College, FlintHuman services or social work (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$23,300
    Price if you pay yourself$10,929
    Program website, Social Work Technician at Mott Community College
    More details about Social Work Technician at Mott Community College
    Finished
    3%
    Working at 6 months
    57%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,830
    Length
    76 weeks, 12 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    299
    Earned a year, estimated
    $23,300
    Price if you pay yourself
    $10,929
    Program website, Social Work Technician at Mott Community College
  • Human services or social work (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Human Services (242)

    Kellogg Community College

    Battle Creek

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Kellogg Community College, Battle CreekHuman services or social work (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$26,600
    Price if you pay yourself$9,640
    Program website, Human Services (242) at Kellogg Community College
    More details about Human Services (242) at Kellogg Community College
    Finished
    6%
    Working at 6 months
    80%
    Earned in a quarter
    $6,650
    Length
    60 weeks, 18 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $3,325
    Students counted
    135
    Earned a year, estimated
    $26,600
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,640
    Program website, Human Services (242) at Kellogg Community College
  • Human services or social work (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Human Services (0915)

    Lansing Community College

    Lansing

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Lansing Community College, LansingHuman services or social work (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$23,000
    Price if you pay yourself$8,857
    Program website, Human Services (0915) at Lansing Community College
    More details about Human Services (0915) at Lansing Community College
    Finished
    54%
    Working at 6 months
    79%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,756
    Length
    64 weeks, 30 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $915
    Students counted
    86
    Earned a year, estimated
    $23,000
    Price if you pay yourself
    $8,857
    Program website, Human Services (0915) at Lansing Community College
  • Human services or social work (associate degree)In personEducation and courses

    Social Work - AAS

    Southwestern Michigan College

    Dowagiac

    Accredited school

    Education and courses

    Southwestern Michigan College, DowagiacHuman services or social work (associate degree) · Accredited schoolIn person · Education and courses

    Earned a year, estimated$23,800
    Price if you pay yourself$12,720
    Program website, Social Work - AAS at Southwestern Michigan College
    More details about Social Work - AAS at Southwestern Michigan College
    Finished
    32%
    Working at 6 months
    56%
    Earned in a quarter
    $5,946
    Length
    60 weeks, 16 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $1,744
    Students counted
    30
    Earned a year, estimated
    $23,800
    Price if you pay yourself
    $12,720
    Program website, Social Work - AAS at Southwestern Michigan College
  • Case management and eligibility worker courseHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Direct Support Professional

    Mid Michigan College

    Harrison

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Mid Michigan College, HarrisonCase management and eligibility worker course · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimated$32,400
    Price if you pay yourself$1,350
    Program website, Direct Support Professional at Mid Michigan College
    More details about Direct Support Professional at Mid Michigan College
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    86%
    Earned in a quarter
    $8,099
    Length
    2 weeks, 32 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    12
    Earned a year, estimated
    $32,400
    Price if you pay yourself
    $1,350
    Program website, Direct Support Professional at Mid Michigan College
  • Human services or social work (associate degree)HybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Social Work Associate in Science and Arts

    Northwestern Michigan College

    Traverse City

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Northwestern Michigan College, Traverse CityHuman services or social work (associate degree) · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$9,000
    Program website, Social Work Associate in Science and Arts at Northwestern Michigan College
    More details about Social Work Associate in Science and Arts at Northwestern Michigan College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    60 weeks, 15 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $800
    Students counted
    79
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $9,000
    Program website, Social Work Associate in Science and Arts at Northwestern Michigan College
  • Human services certificateHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Social & Human Services Assistant Certificate

    American Academy of International Education Inc.

    Clinton Township

    High school diploma or equivalent

    American Academy of International Education Inc., Clinton TownshipHuman services certificateHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$3,470
    Program website, Social & Human Services Assistant Certificate at American Academy of International Education Inc.
    More details about Social & Human Services Assistant Certificate at American Academy of International Education Inc.
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    50 weeks, 13 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $3,470
    Program website, Social & Human Services Assistant Certificate at American Academy of International Education Inc.
  • Human services certificateHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Human Services (1201)

    Lansing Community College

    Lansing

    Accredited school

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Lansing Community College, LansingHuman services certificate · Accredited schoolHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$4,501
    Program website, Human Services (1201) at Lansing Community College
    More details about Human Services (1201) at Lansing Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    64 weeks, 11 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $915
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $4,501
    Program website, Human Services (1201) at Lansing Community College
  • Human services certificateHybridHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Social & Human Services Assistant Diploma

    American Academy of International Education Inc.

    Clinton Township

    High school diploma or equivalent

    American Academy of International Education Inc., Clinton TownshipHuman services certificateHybrid · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$6,870
    Program website, Social & Human Services Assistant Diploma at American Academy of International Education Inc.
    More details about Social & Human Services Assistant Diploma at American Academy of International Education Inc.
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    100 weeks, 13 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $6,870
    Program website, Social & Human Services Assistant Diploma at American Academy of International Education Inc.

How to pay for human services programs in Michigan

WIOA funding can pay for human services programs in Michigan

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for human services programs

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.67

GI Bill for human services programs

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.8

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Human services programs in Michigan

programs with a price cost under $5,000
3 of 11
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
9th of 17
human services programs here, against the typical state's 4
11 vs 4

State comparisons use the same figures as the human services programs by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Human services programs in Detroit, Lansing, Ann Arbor and other Michigan cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 1 more program is in 1 other area, 1 in smaller cities and towns.

Other training in Michigan

How human services programs compare with the rest of education and social services: Child care and social services training in Michigan

Where the Michigan human services program numbers come from

Which Michigan human services programs are on this list?

These are the human services programs Michigan approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).9 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Michigan offers.

How the prices and results of Michigan human services programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about human services programs in Michigan

Show the 9 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Social and Human Service Assistants
  2. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  3. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  4. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  5. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  6. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  8. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  9. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List