Retraining ReportJob training public funding can pay for

Find training

Home health aide training in Virginia

11 home health aide programs with costs, results and funding that can make them free

11 schools offer these home health aide programs, and Virginia has approved every one for workforce funding. Each shows its price if you pay yourself and how past students did.

Home health and personal care aides keep an eye on the condition of people with disabilities or long-term illness and help them with everyday tasks. Aides who work for certified home health or hospice agencies must finish formal training and pass a standardized test, and states may add their own rules.1 For those agencies, federal rules require at least 75 hours of aide training, with at least 16 hours in a classroom before at least 16 hours of supervised practice.2

In Virginia, 8 of the 11 programs take students without a high school diploma, 2 ask for a diploma or equivalent and 1 asks for earlier courses first.

All 11 are the same kind of program: personal care aide or direct care worker course.

See the 11 programs

How much does home health aide training cost in Virginia?

$276 to $419 is what most home health aide programs in Virginia cost if you pay yourself

That is the middle half of the 10 programs with a price. All of them: $228 to $800

In the typical program

Finished the program
Not enough data
3 programs report it; a typical figure needs 5
Working 6 months later
Not reported
None of the 11 programs report it
Earned a year, estimated
Not reported
None of the 11 programs report it
Length
1 to 2 weeks

Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Only programs approved for workforce funding are listed; other schools in Virginia may also offer home health aide training. How these figures are made

Is there free home health aide training in Virginia?

All 11 home health aide programs in Virginia approved for WIOA funding

Filters
What you need to enroll
Kind of program
School
How it's taught
How to show the list

11 programs

  • Personal care aide or direct care worker courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Patient Care Aide (PCA)

    Astar Education Institute

    Manassas

    No diploma needed

    Astar Education Institute, ManassasPersonal care aide or direct care worker courseIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$800
    School website, Patient Care Aide (PCA) at Astar Education Institute
    More details about Patient Care Aide (PCA) at Astar Education Institute
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    4 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    50
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $800
    School website, Patient Care Aide (PCA) at Astar Education Institute
  • Personal care aide or direct care worker courseIn personPrerequisite courses

    Direct Care/Personal Care Aide Program

    Orange County VIEW/Adult Education Center

    Orange

    Prerequisite courses

    Orange County VIEW/Adult Education Center, OrangePersonal care aide or direct care worker courseIn person · Prerequisite courses

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$228
    More details about Direct Care/Personal Care Aide Program at Orange County VIEW/Adult Education Center
    Finished
    94%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    2 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    16
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $228
  • Personal care aide or direct care worker courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Personal Care Aide

    Difference Makers Academy

    Fairfax

    No diploma needed

    Difference Makers Academy, FairfaxPersonal care aide or direct care worker courseIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$340
    More details about Personal Care Aide at Difference Makers Academy
    Finished
    100%
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    1 week, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $60
    Students counted
    11
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $340
  • Personal care aide or direct care worker courseIn personHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Personal Care Aide (PCA)

    Career Nursing Academy

    Locust Grove

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Career Nursing Academy, Locust GrovePersonal care aide or direct care worker courseIn person · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$250
    More details about Personal Care Aide (PCA) at Career Nursing Academy
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    4 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $20
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $250
  • Personal care aide or direct care worker courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Personal Care Aide (PCA) with CPR and First Aid

    Clarys Nurse Aide Training Center

    Sterling

    No diploma needed

    Clarys Nurse Aide Training Center, SterlingPersonal care aide or direct care worker courseIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$260
    More details about Personal Care Aide (PCA) with CPR and First Aid at Clarys Nurse Aide Training Center
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    2 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $140
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $260
  • Personal care aide or direct care worker courseOnlineHigh school diploma or equivalent

    Personal Care Aide (PCA)

    Heart To Heart Career Training Center (WIOA)

    Based in Williamsburg, VA

    High school diploma or equivalent

    Heart To Heart Career Training Center (WIOA), based in Williamsburg, VAPersonal care aide or direct care worker courseOnline · High school diploma or equivalent

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$325
    School website, Personal Care Aide (PCA) at Heart To Heart Career Training Center (WIOA)
    More details about Personal Care Aide (PCA) at Heart To Heart Career Training Center (WIOA)
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    1 week, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $325
    School website, Personal Care Aide (PCA) at Heart To Heart Career Training Center (WIOA)
  • Personal care aide or direct care worker courseOnlineNo diploma needed

    Personal Care Aide

    Rappahannock Community College

    Based in Glenns, VA

    Accredited school

    No diploma needed

    Rappahannock Community College, based in Glenns, VAPersonal care aide or direct care worker course · Accredited schoolOnline · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$400
    Program website, Personal Care Aide at Rappahannock Community College
    More details about Personal Care Aide at Rappahannock Community College
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    1 week, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $400
    Program website, Personal Care Aide at Rappahannock Community College
  • Personal care aide or direct care worker courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Personal Care Assistant

    Salvation Academy

    Alexandria

    No diploma needed

    Salvation Academy, AlexandriaPersonal care aide or direct care worker courseIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$400
    More details about Personal Care Assistant at Salvation Academy
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    2 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $50
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $400
  • Personal care aide or direct care worker courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Personal Care Aide

    Rose Hill Healthcare Resources

    Dumfries

    No diploma needed

    Rose Hill Healthcare Resources, DumfriesPersonal care aide or direct care worker courseIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$425
    More details about Personal Care Aide at Rose Hill Healthcare Resources
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    1 week, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    None listed
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $425
  • Personal care aide or direct care worker courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Personal Care Aide (PCA)

    Professional Career Institute

    Richmond

    No diploma needed

    Professional Career Institute, RichmondPersonal care aide or direct care worker courseIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourself$450
    More details about Personal Care Aide (PCA) at Professional Career Institute
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    2 weeks, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    $50
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    $450
  • Personal care aide or direct care worker courseIn personNo diploma needed

    Personal Care Aide

    Healthcare Academy of Southwest Virginia

    Galax

    No diploma needed

    Healthcare Academy of Southwest Virginia, GalaxPersonal care aide or direct care worker courseIn person · No diploma needed

    Earned a year, estimatedNot reported
    Price if you pay yourselfNot reported
    More details about Personal Care Aide at Healthcare Academy of Southwest Virginia
    Finished
    Not reported
    Working at 6 months
    Not reported
    Earned in a quarter
    Not reported
    Length
    1 week, 40 hours a week
    Cost of supplies
    Not reported
    Students counted
    Not reported
    Earned a year, estimated
    Not reported
    Price if you pay yourself
    Not reported

How to pay for home health aide training in Virginia

WIOA funding can pay for home health aide training in Virginia

Every program on this page is approved for it. Whether you qualify, how much your local area pays and how to apply are on our page Does WIOA pay for job training?

Financial aid and grants for home health aide training

Most students can get federal student aid for college, career school or trade school. A Federal Pell Grant, unlike a loan, usually doesn't have to be repaid. Ask the school whether its program qualifies.78

GI Bill for home health aide training

Veterans, service members and qualified dependents can use GI Bill benefits for non-college training programs.9

The program list does not show which programs accept these. Ask the school.

Quick facts: Home health aide training in Virginia

programs with a price cost under $1,000
10 of 10
lowest typical price among the states with enough programs to compare
3rd of 11
home health aide programs here, against the typical state's 2
11 vs 2

State comparisons use the same figures as the home health aide training by state table: the middle program of each state, and only states with three or more schools for prices. Source: US Department of Labor, program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025).

Home health aide training in Washington, Lake of the Woods, Richmond and other Virginia cities

Choosing an area filters the program list above. 1 in smaller cities and towns and 2 online.

Other training in Virginia

How home health aide training compares with the rest of nursing and patient care: Nursing and patient care programs in Virginia

Where the Virginia home health aide program numbers come from

Which Virginia home health aide programs are on this list?

These are the home health aide programs Virginia approved for WIOA funding (public workforce funding under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act), as reported to the US Department of Labor for program year 2024 (July 2024 to June 2025). Each state keeps its approved programs on an eligible training provider list (ETPL).10 The list here covers programs approved as of June 30, 2025. Schools that never applied for approval are missing, so this is a part of what Virginia offers.

How the prices and results of Virginia home health aide programs are measured

Prices are tuition and required fees for someone paying without workforce funding, as the school reported them; check the current price with the school. Results describe students who left each program in recent years, so they are no guarantee, and the yearly earnings are the reported quarter times four, an estimate. A program without a "Trained with WIOA funding" line may still take WIOA students. Where a field was left empty or withheld, the page says "Not reported", and "Left out" where a figure was filed but failed one of our checks; nothing is estimated to fill a gap. Where the numbers come from explains each figure in full.

Sources for the facts about home health aide training in Virginia

Show the 10 sourcesHide the sources
  1. US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Home Health and Personal Care Aides
  2. Electronic Code of Federal Regulations: 42 CFR 484.80, Condition of participation: Home health aide services
  3. US Department of Labor, TrainingProviderResults.gov: About This Site
  4. US Department of Labor: WIOA Adult Program
  5. Code of Federal Regulations, title 20, part 680, sections 680.220, 680.230 and 680.310: career services before training, other grants such as Pell Grants first, and limits on Individual Training Accounts (GovInfo, 2024 edition)
  6. US Department of Labor: American Job Centers
  7. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Eligibility for Federal Student Aid
  8. US Department of Education, Federal Student Aid: Don't Miss Out on Federal Pell Grants
  9. US Department of Veterans Affairs: GI Bill benefits for non-college degree programs
  10. US Department of Labor, Training and Employment Guidance Letter 8-19, Attachment I: Requirements for Training Providers, Program Eligibility, and the State Eligible Training Provider (ETP) List